Richmond's Best Ever Player

there is only one bloke , and the then VFL changed the dropping the ball, holding the man rule to curb him......KB

our best ever

i know this will upset some people but having seen him over amoajority of his games aswell as saint royce, saint francis et all KB still stands out

what weneed to remeber is that he was regulary getting thirty and more kicks per game

It's widely regarded that Centre Half forward is the hardest spot on the ground to play.

Royce Hart was named CHF in the team of the century.

That was ahead of guys like Wayne Carey,Alex Jesalinko and Demitt Brereton to name a few.

That says it all to me.

He was one of the main reason I,and many other people began barracking for the Tiges.Anyone ever noticed how many 28-40 year old richmond supporters there are.:D

Come to think of it he should get a knighthood.:cool:

In the 30-ish years I've been watching the Tiges.

1. Royce Hart
2. Francis Bourke
3. Kevin Bartlett
4. Maurice Rioli
5. Jim Jess
6. Dale Weightman
7. Geoff Raines
8. David Cloke
9. Matthew Knights
10. Wayne Campbell

That took me two minutes ... bet I've missed someone pretty obvious since about '75.

sorry jim.....but you forgot disco and the general in that lot.....but i agree that chf is ahard possie to play but i stress that regardless of our current feelings about KB the umps did change the rules to try and curb his dominance

remember he laste for along time and whilst a lot of people only remember 1980 KB was a superstar well before that

Originally posted by NQTIGER
sorry jim.....but you forgot disco and the general in that lot.....but i agree that chf is ahard possie to play but i stress that regardless of our current feelings about KB the umps did change the rules to try and curb his dominance

remember he laste for along time and whilst a lot of people only remember 1980 KB was a superstar well before that

Take the bloody computer off me, NQ ... how did I forget Roachy ??

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
In the 30-ish years I've been watching the Tiges.

1. Royce Hart
2. Francis Bourke
3. Kevin Bartlett
4. Maurice Rioli
5. Jim Jess
6. Dale Weightman
7. Geoff Raines
8. David Cloke
9. Matthew Knights
10. Wayne Campbell

That took me two minutes ... bet I've missed someone pretty obvious since about '75.

Good work for something off the top of your head. I would have to agree with your top 3 and Raines and Roachy were my 2 all time favorites growing up so they would also have to be there. I was a little sceptical about Campbell being there but he has won 3 B&F's (I think it's 3) and has been AA. That's a better record than some of the others. He unfortunately played almost most of his footy in an unsuccessful team so he loses votes on that point.

Yeah these threads are definately like a breath of fresh air.

A time when you felt good about the players that ran around for Richmond.

Anyone who played in that period that I first remember with clarity - which is from 1979 and ended around 1983 - is a good memory.

Wayne Shand, Darryl Freame, Darryl Vernon, Phillip Bottoms, Dennis Collins,Ian Satori all give me good memories as they take me back to that time. Even Noel Mugavin is a pleasing name to hear.

Didnt get to see Hart. Just missed him. But CHF is the main man and all Richmond people of that time talk about him with a reverence that you just need to take thier word on.

Special mention
Our mesquito fleet of Rowlings,Wiley,Weightman and Raines

Hate to p1ss in your pocket 1980GFVideo but great post. Those names certainly are a blast from the past. Wayne Shand, Vernon etc... fantastic stuff. We should get another thread happening where we select our most obscure Richmond team of all time.

And that mosquito fleet was fantastic. I was also a great fan of Rowlings but my all time fav player of that era was Bruce Monteath. Had the 11 on the back (after the 4 was put into mothballs). The 4 actually came back on for Raines but had to mothball it again.

agrees with 1980.well done there GFV.one of names there i forgot about.phillip bottoms now there,s a name that would be great for trivia nights or KB,s quiz:D
Daryl freame reminds me of a martin pike.right place at the right time
:)

cheers!

I used to sit on the members side of the MCG so I was right in front of the interchange. Thats probably why I remember these obscure players from that time.

I remember Phillip Bottoms and I think, Ian Schrimshaw running up and down the boundary as a warm up for most of the game as back then the interchange players were pretty much there until someone was injured.

As for Raines leaving, Ill never forget being on a school camp and hearing the Collingwoodscum supporters all celebrating because news had come through that they had snared Cloke and Raines.

Dont know if i hated them more for that or after the first time I visited thier rat infested home ground. Ive never experienced a smell like that before.

This bloke probably dosen`t fall under the best player catagory but i reckon that Mark Lee was the best ruckman of his time .

If only Brad Ottens had half the presence that Mark Lee had out on the footy field ????????? Blokes used to walk a foot taller when they played next to him , the best enforcer i have seen . Was quite remarkable that he didn`t get reported that much but he was very clever . He genuinely put fear into the opposition .

Gives me an idea , they should get "the General" down to punt rd. and spend a bit of time with Ottens and a few of the kids .

Believe he is in the police force now , graduated when he was 38 or something . I think he was a very under - rated player

Originally posted by 1980GFVideo

As for Raines leaving, Ill never forget being on a school camp and hearing the Collingwoodscum supporters all celebrating because news had come through that they had snared Cloke and Raines.

Dont know if i hated them more for that or after the first time I visited thier rat infested home ground. Ive never experienced a smell like that before.
at the time GFV and it really shows where we are at now as a football club i remember[or words to the affect] thinking she.ll be right as in terms of us being back then a power in the vfl so it sorta didnt worry me as such.
now if that happened today id be absolutely shattered because we are nowhere near what we were back then and losing players of that calibre would nearly be the death knell to the club.

cheers!

Originally posted by IDGAF
This bloke probably dosen`t fall under the best player catagory but i reckon that Mark Lee was the best ruckman of his time .

If only Brad Ottens had half the presence that Mark Lee had out on the footy field ????????? Blokes used to walk a foot taller when they played next to him , the best enforcer i have seen . Was quite remarkable that he didn`t get reported that much but he was very clever . He genuinely put fear into the opposition .

Gives me an idea , they should get "the General" down to punt rd. and spend a bit of time with Ottens and a few of the kids .

Believe he is in the police force now , graduated when he was 38 or something . I think he was a very under - rated player
agreed IDGAF.the Mark lee,dale weightman,robert wiley combo would give any modern day combo a good run for their money.
i agree while mark may not have that much free time being in the force surely a little time here and there would be better than not having one at all.

cheers!

Originally posted by tiger of old
at the time GFV and it really shows where we are at now as a football club i remember[or words to the affect] thinking she.ll be right as in terms of us being back then a power in the vfl so it sorta didnt worry me as such.
now if that happened today id be absolutely shattered because we are nowhere near what we were back then and losing players of that calibre would nearly be the death knell to the club.
cheers!

No one thought it would kill us like it did but I think it jolted us into Dud recruiting mode.

Getting those Collingwood duds as some sort of revenge was a major problem as we havent stopped even up to today. Raines had a huge effect.

There seemed to be more number 4s in the crowd than number 8s back then. it was a close call but Raines going was a killer.

M Lee was a very good ruckman and did put the fear of god into opposition sides. Being a ruck of old myself, I believe a ruckman's role is to throw their body around a bit (within the rules of course). If the big blokes are not willing to be agressive then we really are in some trouble. Have a look at the Brisbane rucks over the past few years, the Hawthorn rucks through the days of Don Scott (note how Matthews played under him), Essendon with Merrett etc... There really is a common thread right through these teams and it is that they all have agressive big blokes (who could play a bit). The problem with Ottens is that although he has all the skills you would wish upon a big bloke, he just doesn't have an agressive bone in his body. We either have to learn to live with the fact that he is not going to be an enforcer and get some other blokes into the team who will be or trade him for someone that we can mould into a competitive ruck who will stand tall. I do like Ottens as a player and put him into a team with strong players around him and he will carve up a team.

Enough of that... On another matter, does anyone have David Palm's and Greg Strachan's playing records? These 2 blokes used to fascinate me back then.

Originally posted by nineteen eighty
Good work for something off the top of your head. I would have to agree with your top 3 and Raines and Roachy were my 2 all time favorites growing up so they would also have to be there. I was a little sceptical about Campbell being there but he has won 3 B&F's (I think it's 3) and has been AA. That's a better record than some of the others. He unfortunately played almost most of his footy in an unsuccessful team so he loses votes on that point.

Just for the record, Cambo has won 4 best and fairests, has come runner up in the best and fairest 3 times and has also placed 3rd in the best and fairest once. He has also been All-Australian twice, represented Victoria and Australia in the International Rules series.

His record is so superior to his contemporaries its not funny, and yet fans often hold the likes of Richardson, Knights and Broderick in higher regard. I can never work that out....

I can't comment on the best players ever, but of the past 16 or 17 years these are the best players I have seen:

1. Campbell
2. Weightman (probably better than Cambo but I only caught the end of his career)
3. Knights
4. Richardson
5. Lambert
6. Broderick
7. Free (would have been higher if it wasn't for injuries)

Originally posted by JohnF
Just for the record, Cambo has won 4 best and fairests, has come runner up in the best and fairest 3 times and has also placed 3rd in the best and fairest once. He has also been All-Australian twice, represented Victoria and Australia in the International Rules series.

His record is so superior to his contemporaries its not funny, and yet fans often hold the likes of Richardson, Knights and Broderick in higher regard. I can never work that out....

Get off your high horse pal.

Rioli's 2 B&F's are worth much more than Cambo's 4 purely for the fact that Rioli had to compete with other champions and Cambo has to compete with ordinary players.

Cambo is a good player. Champion NOT.

Mate, get off your high salami seat,

I never implied Campbell was a better player than Maurice Rioli. I just said he had a record that is far superior to all his contemporaries i.e. the players he has played with in his time.

Maurice Rioli may be a better player than Campbell, I wouldn't know, I haven't had the privelege of watching him play many games. I'll take your word for it.

Campbell isn't a true champion, and that's been the problem with the Tigers over the last 15 years. We haven't had any champions. He has been the best of what we've had though...

LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO@Salami sitting.

Originally posted by tigermania
http://oneeyed-richmond.com/history/1980gf.htm
For most tiger legends, check this site out.

Good link Tigermania!!! Brings back some good memories. Did you see this part in the article.

The big difference between Richmond this season and last year's Premiers Carlton is its more direct method of getting the ball to goals.
Hand passing is part of the Tigers' flow-on game, but they don't do it just to build up statistics.
One hand pass, if it's needed, and a long kick is their way of winning the premiership.

Can we be any more different to what was back then????

The Gale brothers something special.

Closely after them I'd put Knights.

But going from old tapes Roach is the best... Balme in the 1973 Grand Final also...