Miaroo

Draftee
Hey guys, So I've noticed that Collingwood & Carlton, Essendon & Hawthorn etc have a gigantic rivalry between one another.

I was just wondering what everyone considers NMFC's biggest rival? I don't really know because I am the only person in my social group that supports a team that ISN'T Essendon.

I get the feeling that Essendon is supposed to be ours due to the history we have with them, however I don't feel that we're even on the Dons radars!

I personally have a bit of a soft spot for Essendon, due to my brother (BipolaR) and friends being huge fans. But when we play them, It's probably the most exciting game of the year for me.

So which team do you guys view as NMFC's biggest rivals? And what are the teams that you personally love seeing us play (and hopefully smash)?

Rivalries come from premiership competition imo and our major rivals in the 70s was Hawthorn. We have a very even record in terms of H&A, finals and grand final win/losses so that is a good rivalry. Hawks feel Essendon is their bigger rival largely because most aren't old enough to remember the 70s so the 80s is fresher in their memory.

We didn't develop a local rival in the 90s, Essendon bombed out of the finals during the PF stage and we rarely met in important clashes. We probably had more a thing going against the Eagles for some time but a rivalry vs an interstate team is pretty meh.

Sadly, for every good era we have had we have had a subsequent long drought of form so it has been difficult to maintain the good rivalries we have had.

Collingwood.

I suspect this will go up a notch next year. Media will play it off as class warfare, and you know what, if we do it in a final, it will taste like gold.

I take no greater pleasure in curbstomping these flogs.

Daylight

? Hawthorn maybe but I'm only 18 so never got caught up in the 70s rivalry

Im not sure we really have a rivalry that goes both ways.

I love it when we beat the Scum, but thats mainly because their supporters are complete F***wits.

If a rival is someone we hate and love to beat, and they in turn hate and would love smashing us into oblivion then it would be hard to go passed this mob.......

AFL!!!

We no longer have any other real rival as obviously they wanted us for themselves.North V AFL is the type of block buster we've been looking for.

Im not sure we really have a rivalry that goes both ways.

I love it when we beat the Scum, but thats mainly because their supporters are complete F***wits.

Collingwood.

I suspect this will go up a notch next year. Media will play it off as class warfare, and you know what, if we do it in a final, it will taste like gold.

I reckon this will be one that will develop both ways. Collingwood love a rivalry and there fans will buy into anything. Class warfare...bring it!
Hawthorn could be one that could revive itself a bit with us playing home games in tassie.
Also Melbourne for some reason, If we can keep improving and they can get there ****together then that could be a real good on-field rivalry.

Hawks rivalry I think is nearly irrelevant, we've played two finals against them in 10 years; aside from Jess Sinclair hitting Vandenburg or something years ago, I can't remember any bitter fights or stouches with them.

The Dees.... Jesus... I think their on-field shit will take years to clean up. 186-gate would have caused major psychological damage that will take years to reverse.

Haha! I haven't heard this one before, 10 points sir! :D

I have always noticed the rivalry, mainly because of the heat that my old mate King's Army brings.

I reckon Essendon is your biggest rivalry, I hope that soon the rivalry is restored, we missed out on meeting each other from 1996-2001 despite probably having the two best lists on paper and such good coaches.

I think we have similar levels of young talent, you guys have an insanely good midfield and we have the KPP talent that should take us a long way.
Here's to challenging for the premiership from 2013 onwards *raises glass*

Do a thread search. there was a poll on this not 6 weeks ago. hawks and bombers were almost neck and neck iirc

I reckon Essendon is your biggest rivalry, I hope that soon the rivalry is restored, we missed out on meeting each other from 1996-2001 despite probably having the two best lists on paper and such good coaches.

I think we have similar levels of young talent, you guys have an insanely good midfield and we have the KPP talent that should take us a long way.

The Essendon rivalry at least externally is on its last legs and is being killed by an AFL fixture that has seen one single game a year against each other for basically a decade. One of the biggest rivalries of the 90’s allowed to die, very disappointing. Essentially Essendon would have played Collingwood / Carlton / Richmond twice as many times in that decade as North. That is simply wrong. Same thing this year with North playing Hawthorn once all year - in Tasmania. Surely between two Melbourne teams they could have found one game in Melbourne to squeeze in…

Probably Hawks & Essendon are the biggest traditional rivalries for this team, however the focus on a ridiculous “draw” and a tight Melbourne market has meant that teams like the Dogs & Melbourne are becoming more pronounced as our rivals.

We established some good rivalries in the 90s.

Geelong, with superstars Ablett up one end and Carey the other and players moving between both clubs.

West Coast being dominant until we started to get their measure. Carey v Jackovich and who could lay claim to being the team of the nineties...

Everytime Richmond started to get a bit ahead of themselves, we'd put them back in their box.

Sadly, for various reasons these rivalries have faded...

And without a doubt, Essendon is the team i most love to beat.

I reckon Hawkers, they take all the players we dont want and make them into absolute superstars!!!

:cool:

Best mate supports Carlton so beating them is sweet

Brother In Law is an Essendon tragic so rolling them this year meant me not having to buy beer when going to his place

Recently developed an anti Melbourne streak

Collingwood.

16 year olds 'curbstomping', goodness the country's future is in good hands.

No need to fret Jozeph, I'm sure that an 18 year old can surely make hyperbolic comments about his footy team beating a mob of flogs without subsequent generational hysteria. Countries in great hands. :thumbsu:

Haha! I haven't heard this one before, 10 points sir! :D

I have always noticed the rivalry, mainly because of the heat that my old mate King's Army brings.

In on your siblings thread? :D