Autopsy Roast & Toast v Essendon & Changes for GWS

Top 5 v Essendon

Good effort from the team, hung in there for three quarters, but we were always going to struggle to win that game without Lynch, Balta and Nank and coming off yet another 5 day break.
Very inexperienced forward line fielded tonight and the number of times the Essendon backline players were able to block the space for our forwards to compete in the air was telling all game.

The positives:
The backline held up very well for most of the game and in general play (was very well organised for the first three quarters);
The midfielders and flankers, held their width very well outside of pack and congested play situations, maintaining good field positioning and not being drawn in to close to the play;
Nathan Broad led the side very well in his first match as Captain;
Sam Banks has put together a good solid block of three consecutive games and is a beautiful field kick, Campbell Gray competed very well in the air, Kane McAuliffe had a very good first half and read the play very well, didn’t mind the move of playing Trainor forward in developing his all round game craft as this kid has very high footy IQ

The nagatives:
Steely Green needs a spell in the VFL, some of his decision making and discipline left a lot to be desired;
MJR should never have been selected in the team, as his form at VFL level has not been anywhere near at a high enough level to be playing seniors (he will be walking a tight rope to still be on the AFL list at seasons end);
HRS defensive positioning within 20-30 metres of goal, for a player of his experience to allow his opponent (a debutant) to kick three goals, needs a lot more work.
Fumbling by established senior players when they have time and space is costing the team opportunities to set up attacking link play sequences by hand or foot and inviting the opposition to close down time and space.

Overall I would much rather be in our position going forward as a club as opposed to the Druggies who are going nowhere - at least we have some very good talent developing in the VFL (as proven by their win over the unbeaten Box Hill Hawks earlier in the season).

Keep the faith - Go Tigers - Eat ‘Em Alive :trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy::trophy:

Happy with McAuliffe & Gray tonight, thought those 2 boys showed a bit. Bit frustrated with the backward & sideway kicking in the backline, as it reminds me of about 10-15 years ago, when we played this style of game, which had us going nowhere. Not to worried about Taranto & Hopper at the moment, as at the moment they are playing mid to protect the young kids, until they have a few preseasons of work, before they are pushing to takeover their roles.

As I said last week Faull & Trainor need a rest in the VFL, too work on their games & get some confidence back. I also heard them mention that Lalor was deep forward too give him a spell, which is understandable since it is his first season & also his first pre-season on top of that. Its a shame about the injury, but will give him a chance to rest up for a few weeks, before he finishes off his first season. It didnt look too serious, so hopefully nothing to keep him out for too long.

Ryan needs to be de-listed & if Rioli Jnr doesn't get a lot fitter could go the same way. Also would love to see us target a ruckman in the off season, or draft Duff Tytler with one of our 2 picks.

How far into the season before we can play 4 ****ing quarters! And dropping heads at the end ffs
wake up, so many kids under 50 games usually means

lack of repeat effort when tired
lack of consistency from week to week
lack of run in last quarters
lack of pre-season/s under the belt

most on here crying about our losses are the same ones who predicted we would cop double figure, 100+ floggings.

4 goal loss with 3 of your spine (balta, nank, lynch) with 500+ games between them 500+ games

par loss and effort i reckon. not happy...not dissappointed.

most on here crying about our losses are the same ones who predicted we would cop double figure, 100+ floggings.

4 goal loss with 3 of your spine (balta, nank, lynch) with 500+ games between 500+ games

quote that for my signature lol.

Exactly right and i feel the need to post my post from the game day thread again just incase some of the supposed loyal supporters didnt see it.

I am more disappointed of this board than the Richmond team
Pathetic stuff by a pathetic bunch of bandwagoners that were here celebrating like loyal supporters during the good times but bagging a team with 14 kids under 15 games

rather than telling the players to piss off maybe you fu*wits should take your own advice and log off until we are good again
PATHETIC

Give it a rest, it’s not inexperience that’s the problem, we let a debutant kick three goals in the first half!

Why is our pressure rating at 168 , not khamakazi enough , yes we are young but that shouldn’t affect being a solid pressure , tackling side , the doing the 1% basics of footy at least pressure

4 goal loss with 3 of your spine (balta, nank, lynch) with 500+ games between them 500+ games

Logic doesn’t belong here, sorry mate.

It’s not so much that the tank empties out that’s the problem. The problem, which we also saw last week, is that we don’t get reward for effort and the reason we don’t get it is that during the periods that we’re up and about, we have no system. The coaches need to fix this.

Ryan

fuck outta here the kid mero GIF by Desus & Mero

Steely

Maurice

Kaleb Smith

and make me a coffee

Give it a rest, it’s not inexperience that’s the problem, we let a debutant kick three goals in the first half!
You are the main instigator and culprit and doesnt surprise me that you have quoted my post and it IS directed at pathetic posters like yourself that are a disgrace and should be ashamed at yourself and not deserving of supporting RFC or even have privileges to post on this board so you can F*** Off

So, my fears essentially came true. I've been concerned with the way our forward 50 operates for over 18 months. Even with Lynch in the team, nobody leads to the ball carrier and we rely on long kicks inside 50 to large numbers hoping to lock it in for repeat stoppages.
Issue with that is, when you only have one mode of attack and you've operated in that way for so long it's very hard to change.
Tonight it was glaring because no one was leading and our F50 at times had, what felt like acres of space. Commentary even called it out, our forwards just seemed incapable of making the most common sense leads at the ball carrier which limited the ball carriers options.

In that first half we were absolutely dominating field position and we just didn't know how to capitalise and score.
Yze and the coaching group need to start working on this yesterday. More leading at the footy, smalls creating leading lanes for the key position players. Just open it right up.

Most of the problem is. How many players have played under 20 games tonight?

Apart from Lalor, who we now know played injured (!), and Faull, who I (and a commentator who knows a thing or two, having kicked 1,269 goals!) bagged for running in the wrong direction, I don’t think any of the players I bagged were sub-20 gamers. Our experienced players, once again, were the ones who were really poor tonight.

the majority of the comp are now poor sides thanks to the cfl manipulating the game to stop our dynasty

they brought in the stand rule which has turned the game into an absolute shite show . add some cherry on top of the shite cake in dillon and laura

a bottom 4 team in 2015 would flog the most recent premier by 10 goals

and just wait til tassie joins and then a 20th team, skills are just going to get worse and worse as kids abandon grass roots footy in the near future and more and more local clubs continue to close up shop

are you happy with his game plan? do you think continually chipping out sideways and kicking it long down the wings every ****ing time we win it down back is working? how's thw forward line set up working? all questions that we as members of this great club have a right to examine objectively.
Don't ask questions in here you will get crucified.

Honestly don’t get the hate. We were pretty good but couldn’t finish our work which is understandable considering the forward line we had.

5 day break, we ran out of legs in the last, so what.
They won by 4 goals, against us without Lynch, Balta and Nank. That really says more about them than us.

You are the main instigator and culprit and doesnt surprise me that you have quoted my post and it IS directed at pathetic posters like yourself that are a disgrace and should be ashamed at yourself and not deserving of supporting RFC or even have privileges to post on this board so you can F*** Off

I don’t know why the mods cant do their job and ban useless campaigners like you, who have nothing to offer

Some of you seem to forget how bad early days Hardwick was, and he had way more talent at his disposal than Yze does - Hardwick never had a team that was supposed to go winless. Don't go early on him, it will bite you in the ass.
Me thinks it won't more than likely to bite the club and development int the ass

The reality is most people on here are passionate tiger supporters, and that passion can manifest in frustration as equally as it can in philosophical and constructive musings - no different to what you hear at a game. Both expressions of that passion are equally valid unless they involve needlessly gratuitous personal insults to make a point. You are better than that …

Yeah I see what you mean but there’s plenty to work with

Needs to work really hard on his positioning and defensive stuff.. still young

Shows how good McIntosh has been defensively for a winger
23yo. Last week McCercher did same to him. Why is he being outbodied by players much younger??

Autopsy Roast & Toast v Essendon & Changes for GWS