scooby1279

kangaroos
just heard the roos team. Picioni, harding, prat, thompsons are in.
Emergencies are, baird, sansbury, and perkins.
Apparently eddie betts is in the carlton side.

Feel for both perkins and particuarly Sansbury. How they can be left out behind harding is anyones guess. Confidence for this game is a little low.

When thinking of the team this week, 22 names stood out. 2 are in the emergencies so who knows what team it will be.

Backs: 9 Sinclair 36 Watt 35 Makepeace

H/Backs: 16 Brown 2 Colbert 12 M. Stevens

Centres: 8 Wells 7 Simpson 6 Grant

H/Forwards: 25 Picioane 23 Thompson 3 Rawlings

Forwards: 21 Co Jones 26 Rocca 39 L. Harding

Rucks: 31 Hale 4 Harris 29 B. Harvey

Interchange:

20 Petrie 30 Pratt 11 Archer 24 Firrito

Emerg:

27 Baird 32 Sansbury 43 Perkins

Backs
Andrew Carrazzo 44 Luke Livingston 4 Digby Morrell 3
Half backs
David Teague 15 Anthony Koutoufides 43 Ryan Houlihan 33
Centreline
Ian Prendergast 28 Heath Scotland 29 Matthew Lappin 12
Half forwards
Justin Davies 7 Lance Whitnall 8 Scott Camporeale 16
Forwards
Adrian Deluca 26 Brendan Fevola 25 Andrew Walker 1
Followers
Barnaby French 11 Trent Sporn 36 Nick Stevens 24
Interchange:
Jordan Bannister 31 Eddie Betts 19 Cory McGrath 20

Jarrad Waite 30
Emerg:
Karl Norman 37 Kade Simpson 6 Simon Wiggins 34

i reckon naming petrie on the bench might indicate to us that he will be rucking with hale. And this is a good thing. Most of the good games he has played, has been when he was rucking. Can ban damaging around the ground, especially with barnaby french as an opponent.

Not suprised Harding got a run. I've seen his last 2 games for Port and his chasing and tackling output has been the highest I have ever seen from him. He didnt impress me with his general play in those games, but its probably a good move by JYD to reward Turtle for his efforts.

Would rather have had Perkins or Sansbury in for Picioane but JYD does have the balance right. We needed another physical inside midfielder and ATM its Picioane.

Very surprised not to see Sansbury in the side.

Meh. I haven't seen heaps of footy this year, so I have no idea who is in form etc etc.

Picione must be the best trainer in the history of the universe!!!

scooby1279 said:
i reckon naming petrie on the bench might indicate to us that he will be rucking with hale. And this is a good thing. Most of the good games he has played, has been when he was rucking. Can ban damaging around the ground, especially with barnaby french as an opponent.

I think he will spend plenty of time filling the hole down back. For some reason he holds onto his marks back there.

Only 1 of Picione or Firitto should be picked. We need another strong runner and I think that it could be a big factor not having someone like Eddie available. Just feel the side looks a touch slow and a touch out classed.

Moti said:
. Just feel the side looks a touch slow and a touch out classed.

I kind of got that feeling looking across the side. Seems a definate lack of class to me (on paper). We will probably win by 100 points for all I know and look a million bucks, but there is some spark missing.

We can't afford to go in too tall, because tall forward lines filled with blokes suspect on the deck have to lead with confidence to blokes who know what to do with it. I don't think we have that luxury, and while they may not have the talls back to hold us, every one of their players will be more mobile than his direct opponent.

Trouble.

Moti said:
Only 1 of Picione or Firitto should be picked. We need another strong runner and I think that it could be a big factor not having someone like Eddie available. Just feel the side looks a touch slow and a touch out classed.

If Firrito was able to play 60-70% of the time in the midfield I think there would be no need for Picioane. But JYD hasnt got that sort of confidence in Firrito yet. Another year of seniors under the belt and Firrito might then challenge for a midfield spot.

WOW!

No Mckernan,Sansbury and Perry

I would have thought that Mckernan would have got a birth as he has rucked in the pre season and Petrie hasnt. I like the move of Petrie in the ruck as it will get him into the game quickly and get some confidence in him.

I am a big wrap for Sansbury and Perkins, so i feel dirty for them as they have showed something. Harding can still be anything and giving him first crack at round 1 shows faith in the boy.

Picioane is lucky and now he has been given the chance he needs to take this with both hands and i think he will be pumped upfor this game and show us what he can do. If he doesnt then we have a few players who can take his spot.

Rawlings on the forward line worries me but i guess he will be there to stop Houlihans run or be moved to the wing and play on Lappin.

Looking forward to this game and i feel we will win by 5 goals.

Usually my feelings are pretty good.

If this is the team....
My line up would be.

B: Makepeace Watt Pratt
HB: Sinclair Brown Colbert
C: Rawlings Simpson Stevens
HF: Grant Thompson Jones
F: Petrie Rocca Archer
R: Hale Wells Harvey

Int: Picioane Harris Firrito Harding

Yes or No ??????

Agree with Sansbury for Lance, but apart from that i think JYD has got it about right.

Is Arch the 30-40 goal forward Laids has said we need to find? He is sure as hell a better option up there than Lance, who i cant really see creating much up there, more just trying to lock it in.

poltom said:
If this is the team....
My line up would be.

B: Makepeace Watt Pratt
HB: Sinclair Brown Colbert
C: Rawlings Simpson Stevens
HF: Grant Thompson Jones
F: Petrie Rocca Archer
R: Hale Wells Harvey

Int: Picioane Harris Firrito Harding

Yes or No ??????

NO

Harris in the pocket and Archer on the bench for the first half of the first quarter
Harding in the forward pocket and Petrie on the bench to interchange with Hale

Baird on the bench surprises. I would have thought that Le Cras, Schwarze, Perry or Hamish would have got a game as a back-up tall before him. The rest is OK I guess, Sansbury is unlucky but we can't play everyone.

Moti said:

Agree with Moti here.

The only way I can rationalise JYD's selection is that he knows that Pagan loves his sides to create contests, hence the use of big bodied blokes like Picioane, Firitto, and Pratt.

Eddie should be in the side.. can't believe he isn't.. - gives good pace, rebound- could even have been tried in the forward line.. :mad:

********ed that he isn't in the side.. very disappointing.

What's the boy got to do?

Go Roos

I too am disappointed SANsbury is not in the side. I thought he looked fantastic in a couple of the games I saw. My only concern is that he sometimes doesn't show enough intensity. We can't have this in round one.

Picioane still baffles me.