Review Round 10, 2013 v Collingwood

• Thread starter Thread starter POBT

After last week v Carlton when it occurred to me that not only was the current senior list not up to the task, really there was no light at the end of the tunnel. Last night confirmed it.

What we all witnessed last night was Michael Voss' epitaph. If he wasn't already gone, he is now. I understand at least some of the senior players are aware of the 8 game KPI, and even so they don't appear to have responded.Not good signs.

After the 3peat, I have turned up for 9 successive seasons hoping to see the next Voss, Akermanis, White, Leppitch or whoever to appear and give us all some hope we are on the right track. We have unearthed some good 'uns, but none in the same league as those named.

What is about Collingwood, Carlton, even North etc that they seem able to come up with recruits that breath new life. For God's sake it is totally dispiriting to watch poor old stagers like McGrath and Adcock creak around the field being outrun and outgunned by some young first yearer.

And this is something I entirely agree with Voss about- there are some absolute non-negotiables. Taking short steps is one of them. And there are quite a few among our lot who were guilty of this last night- Staker, I'm looking at you.

And why is it that undersized Zorko's run and chase is so noticeable? the answer is that the rest of them [Redden excepted] don't.

The one positive- Harwood. Let's hope he isn't dropped for a poor haircut or something.

The reporting of the crowd has been interesting. Earlier in the week I heard the game was 'almost sold out'. Then in The Australian this morning, they talked about the 'near capacity crowd'. The official figure is just over 26k, which is a long, long way from capacity.

What is sadder is that I reckon we were almost outnumbered by them. I reckon round 13 at twilight will only bring about 14,000 in.

Completely agree with this. I'd missed Patty K and am a huge fan, but defensively he was pretty soft last night and I found that way more disappointing than him missing a couple of shots. When the opposition had the ball he seemed half-hearted and would just give his opponent a bit of a push as he kicked rather than lay a tackle. In the last quarter I thought he seemed to lift the intensity a bit though and I did see a few tackles, so perhaps at 3/4 time someone gave him a word, or he just picked up on it himself.

Really want him to be a regular in the team as he provides so much and seems to mark anything that comes his way. I just wish he had some Zorko-hustle about him!

Spot on- if an extended demotion to the 2's hasn't worked, and from last night it seems the penny hasn't dropped, then I honestly wonder what will. I wish Harvey or someone would grab him by the lapels and tell him he is wasting his talent but there are certain things that a senior footballer has to do. No exceptions.

I have always felt that the ability to kick goals is at least as much mental as skill- soft kicking = soft mentally.

we are getting cained for stuffing up friday night footy right across the board , what would they expect a team desimated my suspension and injury , subject to amazingly stupid selections and had an attitude of watch and see for the first half.

we have looked so much better with the tough , tackle approach , yep it did cost us players but we were so more competitive that did improve after half time when the conditions got worse.

positives for me
longer got better as the game went on, flogged early but i think he battled back later
patty k yep made some blues but least he knew where the ball was
harwood , mate well done boy ! so good to see someone bust thru packs
pappa showed he will be a real asset maybe next year , got a bit to go
doc looked good as well

as for black and redden , class is class

Karnezis played like a kid who didn't know where he stood in the team- feel sorry for him smart footballer down on confidence thinking that he will be dropped again

IMO he looked best as a leading forward last night (Has great hands). Get him to add another 5kg over preseason and play him deep forward I say. Why make a skillful leading forward into a speculative midfielder... nothing wrong with a highly talented number two key forward.

Not surprised with the result, one of the weakest teams the Lions have fielded in recent memory. With the exception of Black and Adcock, all of our leadership was missing. For a young group it wasn't unexpected they were lost on the field. Add to that no rich, no rocky we're lucky we only lost by as much as we did.

Whether Voss should still be here end of the year is undecided for me, but I don't see value in factoring in the performance of the team this week into the decision, considering I can't imagine any other coaches, with what we had to play with last night, making a massive difference on the result.

harwood really showed he belonged i thought he wason his way out end of the year since he wasn't getting a crack and the list was due to be cut even further due to rookie upgrades etc

Was quite surprised when he moved onto the ball for a stint. Seemed to me that coincide with us playing our best footy.

Apart from black and redden our midfield was shocking, maybe we need a new midfield/clearance coach

I'm not sure sackings of coaches and wholesale dropping of players is a quick fix. I think it is much better to be doing things for clear strategic reasons.

We have been poor at clearances for a couple of years now, with Maloney and black thought we would be a lot better.

I am at a loss as to why people think Friday night has to be a blockbuster match. All clubs should be getting games on Friday night. It us ridiculous to think only the top teams should get the leg up of Friday night games in prime time. It is half the reason why bottomteams struggle to get back to the top

We have been poor at clearances for a couple of years now, with Maloney and black thought we would be a lot better.

We are fifth in the league for clearances. Interestingly, Geelong is last.

Edit: numbers may include last nights game. We are 11th for average clearances though which is still an improvement on the last couple of years.

Does anybody know how the Lions trainer that collapsed and required CPR prior to the game is? Is he ok?

Was quite surprised when he moved onto the ball for a stint. Seemed to me that coincide with us playing our best footy.

yeah mate he made a very good replacement for moloney, his foot skills arent terrible either hes pretty decent user, we have alot worse (adcock) and hes also showed a bit of speed would go alright playing in the middle

Does anybody know how the Lions trainer that collapsed and required CPR prior to the game is? Is he ok?

I read that he SMS'd the coaches at half time to thank them for looking after him and to say that he was OK. Can't remember where I read it now. Might have been in The Australian.

Unlucky last night. I thought Karnezis and Zorko should have got a few goals though last night. Next week's bye is much needed to recover from injuries. Hopefully the Lions will regroup, after the bye, with their best players (minus Brownie) and hit Fremantle hard. Our goal accuracy will need some attention and improvement. We also need some of the game play that was shown in the West Coast and Essendon game. Can't wait for Leuenberger to come back though. If we want to beat Fremantle, we need a full strength team playing at their top level. We will probably be more refreshed than Fremantle, however both teams have a high and costly injury list ,which hopefully our bye should help us recover.

Lisle should have got some goals though last night.
I thought that earlier in the week, then after the surprise of him being dropped I didn't expect anything from him last night :p :D

I am at a loss as to why people think Friday night has to be a blockbuster match.

And anyway, you'd have a hard time finding one this weekend. There's a lot of weak games in the league these days.

I thought that earlier in the week, then after the surprise of him being dropped I didn't expect anything from him last night :p :D
Funny, should have been - I thought Karnezis and Zorko should have got a few goals.

Stats

Kicks: Brisbane - 180 v Collingwood - 230
Handballs: Brisbane - 112 V Collingwood - 205
Possesions: Brisbane - 292 V Collingwood - 435
Marks: Brisbane - 75 V Colliningwood - 103
Bounces: Brisbane - 4 V Collingwood - 15
Tackles: Brisbane - 61 V Collingwood - 67
Clearances: Brisbane - 31 V Collingwood - 40
Clangers: Brisbane - 52 V Collingwood - 50
Frees for: Brisbane - 17 V Collingwood - 16
Inside 50's: Brisbane - 43 V Collingwood - 64
Marks inside 50: Brisbane - 9 V Collingwood - 10