Prediction Round 12 Changes vs Brisbane

I wont write Brisbane off as the team to beat until I see them literally on a flight to Bali in September. Us being "due" a loss, Brisbane off two terrible performances is very annoying because as far as Im concerned, short of us somehow falling apart (and we are what, 23 of 27 or something stupid), this is one of three home and away games that have any meaning the rest of the year.

Id love to win 2 of the 3 against Brisbane, Geelong and Sydney and really stamp out any doubt that we are half a step off a genuine contender THIS year (I expect with a good finals series, one more preseason and the 22 extra games under the belt we'll be an absolute monster for 3 years from next year).
Those 3 sides are the only sides we havent beaten last year and this year.

Its not end of the world stuff if we do lose.

Its the longest road trip in Footy.

Lions beat us up last year at Optus late in the year.

But i reckon the moment got to us more as our set shot kicking kicked us out of it in that first half.

I'm not fussed about the Brisbane game. It is at the Gabba. The Geelong and Sydney games however are at home and after going 10-1 so far we just need to get shit done at home..
They all count for 4 points, equally important. If you think there's some mental edge in beating them now, just look at brisbane vs Geelong last year.

Nope, before the saints it was 55%, 49% and 48%. It was, however, 80% against the blues for some reason
The reason for higher game time against Blues was Voss was a late out with gastro - replaced with Jez Sharp - so Cox played a decent bit up forward.

As for working out who is better - Darcy wins that hands down comfortably. I do agree that we can afford to have Darcy get some weeks of conditioning and form in WAFL. Not dissimilar to JOM. Once they are up and running showing top form in WAFL then they can come in.

Once that has been done - Darcy is absolutely better than Cox.

Cox’s field kicking drives me insane. Pointing à la Michael Johnson except where he is going to kick the ball and then proceeding to kick straight to oppo unopposed. Just handball to a runner. Also the number of times JL and others have said he had an almost game with some marks he would have liked to have clunked. Let’s face it he isn’t taking many of those marks.

Darcy started to show a few good signs before injury.

Pearce for Omac, that’s simple.
Young for Scerri, reckon against the lions we will be after as many big bodies as possible to match them.

One thing I remember reading from a player presser in the pre-season but can’t recall who said it. They mentioned that the new S&C guy Adam Beard came in and they put a massive focus on strength because the last time they played Brissie they all felt they got pushed around.

I reckon the boys have got this game marked down big time to see how far they’ve come physically and even better we’re going to get them coming at us hot after the diabolical third quarter they had today.

Best part is that I think the game is a free swing. All the pressure on them to perform and for us it’s just pure opportunity with little risk.

Can you guys give the “dockery”and “docker it” chat a f$@kin rest. It’s cringe and so not who this team is. Sledging from rivals doesn’t really bother me but when this crap comes from our supporters, it sends me wild. Get on board or head down the road and completely “eagle it.”
What's cringe is demanding everyone fall in line with your opinion because a harmless joke offends your sensibilities.

Can you guys give the “dockery”and “docker it” chat a f$@kin rest. It’s cringe and so not who this team is. Sledging from rivals doesn’t really bother me but when this crap comes from our supporters, it sends me wild. Get on board or head down the road and completely “eagle it.”
1779632425327.webp

Pearce for Omac, that’s simple.
Young for Scerri, reckon against the lions we will be after as many big bodies as possible to match them.

One thing I remember reading from a player presser in the pre-season but can’t recall who said it. They mentioned that the new S&C guy Adam Beard came in and they put a massive focus on strength because the last time they played Brissie they all felt they got pushed around.

I reckon the boys have got this game marked down big time to see how far they’ve come physically and even better we’re going to get them coming at us hot after the diabolical third quarter they had today.

Best part is that I think the game is a free swing. All the pressure on them to perform and for us it’s just pure opportunity with little risk.
I disagree. They're the competition's benchmark over the last few seasons. Being able to beat them on their home deck when we haven't done so in a decade will be a significant psychological boost if we meet them in the finals, especially if we do it without Serong who had 46 disposals last time we beat them. Huge game for us.

Brisbane will come out breathing fire. They always turn it up vs the teams around the top 4. No exception.

Just have to be fast and clean.

Zorko coming back really is an issue. Never really been able to stop him from half back

I disagree. They're the competition's benchmark over the last few seasons. Being able to beat them on their home deck when we haven't done so in a decade will be a significant psychological boost if we meet them in the finals, especially if we do it without Serong who had 46 disposals last time we beat them. Huge game for us.
100% agree but if we don’t get the job done I don’t think it hurts our credentials in any way shape or form. At least personally, I won’t be disappointed (unless we get belted) if the lions come out and remind everyone how good they can be as it’s par for the course.

I'll be disappointed if we don't run them very close. Given it's in Brisbane there is a bit more leeway, particularly given after yesterday I fully suspect Brissie will be hurting and will be back to their best next week. If the game was in Perth I'd be expecting a win tbh.

Anyone wanting Darcy over Cox, check yourselves - we've absolutely looked a better team without Sean in it - Sean needs 4-5 weeks build in the WAFL before we even consider him as an option, and even then, structurally I don't think he fits.

LJ is our absolutely undisputed number 1 ruck - it's about how we best support him/give him a chop out. Cox does this well.

Why would we fly Darcy to Brisbane honestly with his injury history.

Leave him at home for an extra week.

I would give him a run in Bunbury if he is fit but even then happy for him to get 2 WAFL games in then play him against the Cats after the Bye.

Anyone wanting Darcy over Cox, check yourselves - we've absolutely looked a better team without Sean in it - Sean needs 4-5 weeks build in the WAFL before we even consider him as an option, and even then, structurally I don't think he fits.

LJ is our absolutely undisputed number 1 ruck - it's about how we best support him/give him a chop out. Cox does this well.
A fit Darcy over Cox any day of the week......

That's the issue though, the last 3 years can't get big Sean on the Park for a good run at it. Always takes him a month of Footy to get going too, so need him back by around Round 18 to get him firing ready for finals.

People forget how good and important he is. Having him as second fiddle to Dogga will 100% make us a better team.

Not discounting that Cox is a handy fill in.

Darcy has probably lost a bit of confidence over the past few years. Wouldn't hurt to get him beating up on some opponents at WAFL to get his belief back.

I agree Sean needs to build, but if he can get back to what it looked like to me he was still capable of, then I still disagree that he wouldn't improve the team.
I am very comfortable with bringing Cox in though, he's done exactly what we need and if Darcy doesn't get there this year we've got the cover we need.

I agree Sean needs to build, but if he can get back to what it looked like to me he was still capable of, then I still disagree that he wouldn't improve the team.
I am very comfortable with bringing Cox in though, he's done exactly what we need and if Darcy doesn't get there this year we've got the cover we need.
My question is with Darcy in does that lower the amount of time Jackson spends in the ruck? If the answer is yes, then I don't think it improves the team, as LJ rucking about 70% like he is with Cox in the team is ideal. A Jackson, Cox 70/30 split for me is better for the team than a Jackson, Darcy 50/50 split.

Jackson is the best ruckman in the comp, we want him in there attending CBA's as often as is possible, whilst still having a reliable option for a chop out. Can Darcy play forward as well as Cox does to justify picking him? or will he be super low TOG, in which case I think it's a closer debate.

The question shouldn't be is Darcy a better ruck than Cox, that answer is clearly yes, the question is who complements Jackson the best and allows LJ to be the matchwinner we know he is? My answer to that, off the evidence i've seen so far this year, is Mason Cox.