Autopsy Round 14, 2020: Melbourne v St.Kilda

Coffield is going to be an absolute jet. He reads the play so well, is a good mark, has pace and is a good kick. I reckon his season as a whole has been a fair bit better than Clark’s.

His reaction time has certainly improved, he's a quick as anyone now to fire out a bullet handball. I have hope that in time he will become our big bodied midfield gun.

Coffield is going to be an absolute jet. He reads the play so well, is a good mark, has pace and is a good kick. I reckon his season as a whole has been a fair bit better than Clark’s.

Yeah, after last year I thought Clark was going to go up into the top few players at the club. By the end of the year Clark will be behind Paton and Coffield. I didn't see that coming. Battle and Marshall probably didn't quite step up as much as I'd hoped either over all. Steele well and truely lifted to be one of the top 20 mids in the comp. Butler was outstanding, King despite everything looks like he'll be a gun and showed enough to be pretty confident in his future. Membrey was probably not just the biggest slider in the side but perhaps in the competition. Billings had a real mixed bag year, his first half of the year he looked on track to be AA, this week he looks like Jack Newnes less talented brother.

Well my guess is like me you don’t get our results right each week or 9 winners each week so let’s hope you are wrong. It’s going to be touch and go. Our percentage could still come in handy.

The hard bit will be keeping our percentage against sides like WCE.

Still rather be in this position than 14th like last year I suppose.

I’ve started to calm down a little and listen to considered posters like NarklesHelmet, lewdogs and even, dare I say it, plugger66

We have to know where we are and where we’ve come from. I know I probably overestimated where we were at in the excitement of the early season. Got so much further still to go, but we’ve improved heaps from last season both from organic growth of some of our young players and the additions to the team and that’s realistically all we can hope for right now. With the operative word being “realistic.”
I’m very considered. Never to high and never to low. The ones who get far to high are now the ones thinking the world has finished as we know it. To me this is about our standard this year and that standard is better than I thought so I reckon we have done very well. Last year we won 9 games and something like 5 by less than a goal or two. This year we have lost 4 by a goal. Turn both those around and it’s 4 wins and 18 losses last year and it’s 12 wins and 2 losses this year and critically a percentage of 113% this year compared 83% last year with a fixture where you play 3 of the bottom 6 twice from that previous year.

Would be nice to move Coff another line fwd so he's banging them deep into the 50. Last week and late this week would have been a time to chuck him on the ball in an attempt to win the games.

Ahhh the old Sunday of disappointment again.
Lucky my hangover is so all consuming that l can't raise the energy to get angry, but it's ok.
I had a sinking feeling about this game for the whole week.

We've been worked out, and we have no plan B atm.
I think the team is all a bit burnt out now too.
We've had very little rotation with the best 22 aside from Kent/Lonie/Hind and the hard grind of the season is showing.

I'm not going to bag any players, because l think this is just where we're at and there's no point blaming individuals.

To me we're basically missing 3 key players.
Gears unfortunately is cooked, so that's 1.

Obviously we need another high quality mid, so thats 2.

And we're always carrying at least 1 small forward on a rotation of shitness week to week.

Hind, Kent and Lonie just not good enough.
There's maybe room for one of them when in form, but let's be honest here, I'd prefer none of them.

F50 entries. FMD. Feels like last year again.
I guess it's the byproduct of being worked out, but watching it makes me wanna cry.

So now we've shot ourselves in the foot.
Gears on 199 games and needing 2 out of the next 3 to scrape in.
I feel we painted ourselves into a corner on this one.
I'd be dropping him for the Hawks and GWS.
200th against WC and a happy retirement mate. Close the book.

So moving on.

People should get off Hunter and King's case. They're allowed to have ups and downs at their age.
Last year it was Coffield ffs.

Sincs and Philips stocks are improving by the game.

Jack Steele must be our next capitan. It's not even up for discussion.

That will do. It's time for a nap anyway.
Lose next week and it's all over for another season....

Everybody's played football before at whatever level. The better ones get to AFL. They aren't that rare - there's 800 of them or so. The AFL landscape is made up of a great variety of men/boys. There are the Lenny Hayes/Jack Steele types and then there are the AAron Fiora/Jack Billings types. Billings will never be much of a footballer because he gets found out mentally. He's not scared but he is soft.

My only call on Billings is if he wants it bad enough because to often when it counts we cannot rely on him. He has the skill set to impose himself and hurt opposition teams and he is not doing it which tells me he is coasting. I'm not saying he's lazy or not trying. He has another level then what we saw last night and i don't think he tried at all to really turn it on.

Watch Billings efforts compared to Steels and it tells you a lot who wants it more.

My only call on Billings is if he wants it bad enough because to often when it counts we cannot rely on him. He has the skill set to impose himself and hurt opposition teams and he is not doing it which tells me he is coasting. I'm not saying he's lazy or not trying. He has another level then what we saw last night and i don't think he tried at all to really turn it on.

Watch Billings efforts compared to Steels and it tells you a lot who wants it more.
He has a history of being the one to step up and win us the game.

he just has an off night.

Still rather be in this position than 14th like last year I suppose.

I’ve started to calm down a little and listen to considered posters like NarklesHelmet, lewdogs and even, dare I say it, plugger66

We have to know where we are and where we’ve come from. I know I probably overestimated where we were at in the excitement of the early season. Got so much further still to go, but we’ve improved heaps from last season both from organic growth of some of our young players and the additions to the team and that’s realistically all we can hope for right now. With the operative word being “realistic.”
Honestly, I don’t begrudge a melt after a loss like that: if people on here love the club like I do, it hurts so much to see us lose, especially with finals on the line like last night.

I just think getting over-the-top upset after losing what in reality was a 50/50 against a team like that isn’t worth the energy and it’s not all that logical.

One of my best mates is a Dees fan and knows his footy inside out and pretty fair-minded. After the game, he messaged something of the lines of “Melbourne took away the Saints 1 wood ball movement, flooding back, turned it into a defensive arm-wrestle that the Dees wanted, Petracca the difference in the end”... sometimes a loss is pretty simple and I agree with him.

We need to get games back on our terms. I hope we can, but we may not be ready. I’d love Roughy back on the bench for the next 2 weeks.

My $64 million question is.....what’s happened to Membrey this year?
One of my favourites and he’s barely fired a shot this season. Change of game plan with having King and the smalls, maybe?

Our good is great, our bad is bad... I'm backing us to bring the good 2 out of 3 games.

We are starting to look tired, worked out and losing Gresham and Hanners and having an already lightweight midfield has hurt badly. It could happen but it's going to take a bit of luck.

After sleeping over our loss, I'm more frustrated than angry now. What's bad is that we haven't adjusted our game plan as other teams have worked us out. Block the corridor, keep control of the ball until you find a target. We just want to keep going rather than being patient and finding a target eventually turning the footy over. Why didn't we make adjustments after Q1 when bombing wasn't working. We needed to find a way to keep May accountable but no we just let him towel up King and keep intercepting. Geelong game on Friday is a perfect example, they knew the dogs game but couldn't execute their plans in the first qtr. Duncan was asked at the start of q2 and he acknowledged the mistakes they made and knew exactly what needs to change. Result dogs struggled to get going at all in the remaining 3qtrs.

We are a long way off, this list needs some more working mainly around midfield and improving their skills. I havent given up hope for 2020 yet but don t really care anymore what we dish up from here.

My $64 million question is.....what’s happened to Membrey this year?
One of my favourites and he’s barely fired a shot this season. Change of game plan with having King and the smalls, maybe?
He looks lost out on the field. And he hasn't taken one of his standard two footed jump marks for a very long time.

Honestly, I don’t begrudge a melt after a loss like that: if people on here love the club like I do, it hurts so much to see us lose, especially with finals on the line like last night.

I just think getting over-the-top upset after losing what in reality was a 50/50 against a team like that isn’t worth the energy and it’s not all that logical.

One of my best mates is a Dees fan and knows his footy inside out and pretty fair-minded. After the game, he messaged something of the lines of “Melbourne took away the Saints 1 wood ball movement, flooding back, turned it into a defensive arm-wrestle that the Dees wanted, Petracca the difference in the end”... sometimes a loss is pretty simple and I agree with him.

We need to get games back on our terms. I hope we can, but we may not be ready. I’d love Roughy back on the bench for the next 2 weeks.

To me it's the frustration of nearly touching finals and somehow tripping over and knocking ourselves out at the finish line. It's been a long haul under the last coaching and recruiting team. We all kind of knew we weren't really 100% ready but it still feels like shit to get so close and stumble. 10% more effort and a bit of composure and we were there. It almost looks like a psychological freeze. A few times we've done it this year. I think we were playing for top spot when we fell over against one of the sides, perhaps the Freo game, somehow we snatched a loss against the odds. Not just in an outplayed kind of way, in a completely stopping way.

Yeah, after last year I thought Clark was going to go up into the top few players at the club. By the end of the year Clark will be behind Paton and Coffield. I didn't see that coming. Battle and Marshall probably didn't quite step up as much as I'd hoped either over all. Steele well and truely lifted to be one of the top 20 mids in the comp. Butler was outstanding, King despite everything looks like he'll be a gun and showed enough to be pretty confident in his future. Membrey was probably not just the biggest slider in the side but perhaps in the competition. Billings had a real mixed bag year, his first half of the year he looked on track to be AA, this week he looks like Jack Newnes less talented brother.
I think Clark will be a gun. He had a bad night and hasn't excelled as we would have hoped this year, but he's got the game to be a top level mid I think. I think he's not actually a natural half back. He isn't a dasher. He's a player who does his best work when he's moving through traffic. I don't know where Coffield ends up, but his game is so well suited to being an intercepting defender.

I think Marshall has done an exellelent job this season, considering the role he's played. The second ruck role he has is an unusual one and I think he's been pretty consistent in it. He hasn't had the games where he's stood out for us that he had last year, but I think that's largely a result of his role, rather than his form. He's formed a really important partnership with Ryder too, which has been a big factor in lots of our wins.

Agree on Battle. I feel like we are doing him a bit of a disservice with the role we're asking him to do. He'll have the odd game where it comes off, eg the Bombers game, but we're asking him to play the Richo/Roo role that they played late in their careers. It's a bloody tough role to play. Throwing him around constantly between different roles is really difficult for a young KPP. We need to find a more stable role for him. I still think he ends up being a terrific player, just not sure yet where it will be.

Clark was rank. Some wouldn't know he was playing!

I thought Kent's pressure early was OKish. But after that, he and Hind were MIA as well. I dislike the term, but they do seem like downhill skiiers. It's all good against rubbish teams, they might blow out the margin and snag us a few more percent. But they are unsighted when the going gets tough. They could be utilised in other ways, such as being quick leading forwards, however we don't seem to be willing to try anything different.

Butler is a specialist forward. If we can't get another like him, we're much better off with more midfielders who can rest or go forward when required, like Petracca and Danger (although he can't kick straight). Steele is capable of that, but he is far and above our number one mid who can't be taken from there.

At least Bytel and Byrnes are specialist mids who can free up others. And they might offer more than Hind and Kent if they go forward.

We have three games left to get something different working! Clock is ticking. Or we can keep doing the same.

Autopsy Round 14, 2020: Melbourne v St.Kilda