Preview Round 16 The Sydney Swans vs. The Gold Coast Suns

Full Forward.

Goodes to the midfield, Spangher to FF. One of Johnson/LRT out.

My changes could be:

OUT: Bevan, Everitt, Parker, Bird, White, Johnson (or LRT)
IN: Smith, Jack, Malceski, Spangher, Mumford, TDL

B: N.Smith, L.Roberts-Thomson, H.Grundy
HB: T.Kennelly, T.Richards, M.Mattner
C: A.Goodes, J.Bolton, D.Hannebery
HF: R.O'Keefe, S.Reid, B.McGlynn
F: J.McVeigh, M.Spangher, T. Dennis-Lane
Foll: S.Mumford, J.Kennedy, K.Jack
I/C: R. Shaw, N.Malceski, M.Seaby, L.Jetta (sub)

EMER: A.Johnson, L.Parker, J.White

I personally don't think White is going to make it as a key forward.

Six outs.

Payback for the preseason round robin bullshit game??

Queensland should be good for your percentage this year. They are ripe for a reaming with their injuries.

I was thinking that, but it seems like keeping him in the team for the sake of it.

Would we rather Johnson/LRT/Grundy up forward than Johnston? Or TDL? I don't think so.

I think the worse thing you can do when you've got a surplus of good players in one area is simply to play them out of position in another area so they can stay in the team. I don't think it helps anyone.

I agree with this, players need to be played in their best position, if they're being played out of position they become less valuable.

As for Johnson, I personally wouldn't have him up forward, with guys like kenelly & mattner & lrt getting on we need to be developing backs, and. Aj's coming along nicely. Besides, we've got a young fwd line in white/reid/tdl & Johnston? Who we're looking at developing, throwing a developing back in the mix would be illogical.

Awesome! Spang's omission from the ressies best list must surely have been an error then? If Longmire is calling him a "definite" for this week before the teams have been released, he must have impressed the coaches (as he should have, because he was ****ing brilliant).

Anyway, shame about Seaby being out. I guess that leaves White as the second ruck again.... Unless they leave White at FF and play Spang in the ruck....

So I guess the Jesse White farce will continue? With him playing barely over half a game and offering us nothing in the forward line or the ruck because of it?

Sigh.

I assume Spangher will play forward. I don't mind that, if he's any good. But like someone else mentioned, if he's going to play forward they need to actually give him a chance to play forward, for more than one week.

I hope TDL plays, too. A Reid-Spangher-TDL forward line would be interesting.

More twitter news from @toddbalym

TDL has foot injury. Hasn't trained fully all week. Match fitness major concern. He was subbed both senior games due to cramp in 3rd term!
seaby dropped. Longmire admits can't play 2 rucks. "seaby is a bit stiff" he said

TDL "in the mix" according to Facebook (and I suppose Longmire) if he makes it through training this arvo. Sounds to me like he will be in the side. Dunno why he would have said it if he wasn't.

Surely Spangher won't be put in the ruck if Jesse is there. I'd prefer to let Jesse play FF the whole game but if it comes down to Spangher and Jesse to play ruck, I'd pick White every time.

As long as one of them gets consistent game time at FF and a chance to make the position his own, I'll be happy. Get TDL in there, even better.

I reckon the changes might be:

Ins: Spangher, Mumford, Smith, Malceski

Outs: Bird, Everitt, Seaby, Parker

Doubt they'll risk jack or Bird if they're 50-50. Jetta might just hang on I reckon.

EDIT: posted just after Grim's update about TDL. Doesn't sound like he will be in given he hasn't trained all week...

I don't think they will risk TDL, especially if they choose to play Jack and/or Bird. A very rough guess at the final changes:

In: Mumford, Spangher, Malceski, Smith, Jack?
Out: Seaby, Everitt, Bevan, Parker, Bird/Jetta? (maybe Johnson unluckily but for team balance issues)

Don't we have three forwards with Reid, White and Spangher? Unless you're thinking that the Spang is taking Everitt's spot as the sub.

Re: LJ, Playfair said in the reserves report that on the game on the weekend he wasn't up to his usual standards so I don't think he's in contention.

I want three full time forwards. Not two and a resting ruck. Like you said, White only played something like 54% of game time on the weekend.

With the line up I assume they're going to use this weekend, I'd rather they play LRT as the second ruck. He can swing forward or back when not rucking depending on the Suns forward line set up. That will also mean we don't have four full time tall defenders, too.

I think we'll see Goodes and Reid continue as the main forward targets with Spanger as the 3rd tall. White as 2nd ruck occasionally relieving Goodes to play in the middle.

Not ideal but I'm excited to see how the debutant goes.

Haven't seen Spanger since WC days so I'll hold judgement but I think there is room for two ruckman in the side. Mumford is going to crash and burn before the season is out, plus Jesse is going to keep plodding along towards a trade/delisting.

Hope I'm wrong but everything seems to be a quick fix with our team.

Swans FB and Twitter says that all 5 Xavier boys will play so that means AJ is safe. I doubt they'd drop LRT and definitely not Richards and Grundy so looks like we're going in with 4 tall defenders

5 Xavier boys = Richards, Hannebery, Spangher, Johnson, Kennedy

I think Spangher to FB, LRT 2nd Ruck/Resting Foward, Reid and White Permanent Fowards and Goodes to play Midfield,
(The Ideal Set-up if we want to educate reid and white whilst getting the structures right)

AG: You're not wrong about the quick fix.

Personally, I'm disappointed to see Seaby out. If Spangher comes in, Jesse should go.

For the rest of the season, Spangher\White and Reid up forward, with a resting ruckman/Goodes rotating through when taking a break from their midfield duties doesn't look half bad to me.

I doubt Spangher would be put into defence. Firstly, even if LRT was to play in the ruck, we'd still have AJ, Teddy and Reg who have been there all year and would surely be played down back over Spangher. And secondly, he has been playing forward for the last month or so in the 2's. Not much point in shuffling the defensive deck chairs. That's not where our problem is. If Spangher has been playing well in the forward line then let him play there in the 1's so he can hopefully help out where we need it most.

As I and others have said, as long as the changes are given a chance to work and not just as a stop-gap solution/quick fix, I'm OK with them. Let them play out and see where it takes us...oh, and as long as Goodes gets the **** into the middle.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/118013/default.aspx

Former West Coast utility Matt Spangher will make his debut for the Swans when they take on Gold Coast at Metricon Stadium on Saturday night.

Spangher, who played 26 games for the Eagles before being delisted last year, is expected to help ease the load on Sam Reid in the forward line, while Longmire said he could also spend time in defence against the Suns.

You can't have too many tall defenders...

http://www.sydneyswans.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/7106/newsid/118015/default.aspx

Horse talking a bit about selections. Some interesting stuff.

Longmire said Spangher could also go into defence at some stage, which would free (Alex) Johnson to go forward, where he played much of his footy as a junior.

Longmire also wants to add forward Trent Dennis-Lane to the senior side this week, but there is a question mark over his fitness. “Trent is in the mix as well, but he has had a sore foot and only did a bit of training on Tuesday so we’ll have to see how he goes.’’

Preview Round 16 The Sydney Swans vs. The Gold Coast Suns