Opinion Round 18 Changes vs. GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I would love the opportunity to rest McPharlin, but the other part of me would like to try A Pearce forward.

Maybe Dawson in, and A Pearce to go forward and McPharlin could be subbed out half way through the 3rd with A Pearce going back.

I get the feeling our forward line would function better with A Pearce, Taberner, Pavlich with Taberner rucking for 10-15% of the game.

We can't flirt with form especially with the dribble we dished up last week in terms of ball movement and disposal efficiency. I say rest anyone they needs a tune up from a carrying injury (fyfe and clancee) and try and find our mojo again. We can rest players closer to the finals!

With our current form we need to flirt with it. If we play like the first five round I would agree with you not flirt with form.

I would love the opportunity to rest McPharlin, but the other part of me would like to try A Pearce forward.

Maybe Dawson in, and A Pearce to go forward and McPharlin could be subbed out half way through the 3rd with A Pearce going back.

I get the feeling our forward line would function better with A Pearce, Taberner, Pavlich with Taberner rucking for 10-15% of the game.

Tabbs can't ruck to save his life, he has to get better at what he does at present, had some good games but against better opposition has struggled, this could be a good week to see him cut loose a bit.

Re changes can't see many, Fyfe we no and can't see Clancee being fit. So my gut feeling is Weller for Clancee and Blakley for Fyfe . Reckon Dawson might get a spot as well maybe forward so Deboer might miss out.

Id rest players against GWS. They dont travel well to WA, get thrashed every visit and have key players missing atm. We also get them at the tail end of the season when they drop off.

i don't expect them to trouble is in round 18.

Looks like Davis may make a surprise return this week. So Davis and Patfull both back will be handy.

Plus possible Patton, Mcarthy and Cameron all in the same forward line

Where's this Davis news coming from?

Devon smith, Phil Davis and Rhys Palmer (all good players) are listed as 'Test' in the latest GWS injury update. All could come back in. Only Mumford, Shiel and Mohr are the only noticeable (to me) key players that are out.

Rhys palmer, can send our blakely to go head to head.

RTB should of waited until the weekend to rule Fyfe out.

Can't take GWS lightly, they're up and about and Freo are coming out of the mid season lull.

RTB mind game. Put some hope into gws, and warn freo player to improve without faye.

Danger game,these guys beat Hawthorn remember. They are a highly skilled outfit capable of beating anyone on their day. Don't disrespect them.

I think GWS are finding it tough to put on a consistent solid performance throughout a whole season, due to them being a young team and all. I watched the GWS v Geelong game on the weekend and their skills were completely horrendous at times, and they have a terrible record in Perth, so we should take a win here.

I think GWS is a good team , but if we play senior player that are sore and lost is worse than playing fresh player and lost.Just imagine you got two important player injure in this match.we did mention macca to play less match this season.

So Fyfe is the obvious out, there must be a few sore bodies but I'd be reluctant to rest anyone else. Clancee could miss with that shoulder, or de Boer could be dropped after a fairly uninspiring showing as the sub. Pesonally, I think we'll throw him into the middle as a bigger body in the absence of Fyfe.

I wouldn't mind seeing Dawson back in the side; we need to get some conditioning into our KPDS before finals. if McPharlin goes down, or Johnson suffers a setback and neither Silvagni or Dawson have much match fitness, we are putting ourselves in a very vulnerable position. Plus, GWS does play tall with Cameron, Tomlinson, McCarthy and Patton all fit and available.

Out: Fyfe, Clancee
In: Weller, Dawson

Would love to see Grey and Blakely get the call up but I honestly can't see RTB running with more than one debutant.

I think we can manage the rest of the senior brigade in-game.

With no Mumford, Griffin should be able to do the majority of the ruck work and Sandi can stretch their undermanned defence and rest up forward. Taberner needs to play a full game. Make him play true CHF, dragging a defender away from the forward fifty with him, allowing Pav to stay anchored in the forward half. Playing Dawson makes McPharlin's life easier and means we can potentially sub Luke out and still hold a fairly decent structure. More time in the guts for Barlow and Suban to make life a bit easier for Mundy.

Not taking this game lightly, but we need to be smart about how we prime ourselves for the pointy end of the season.

I am well aware of why Suban is in the team, and it is exactly what you say. My issue is that he is not that good at his role, not enough to mask the serious flaws he has as a footballer in general.

Before the Carlton game, Fox Footy highlighted how Hawthorn beat Freo in the clearances. It used two examples.

Both times Freo go in with the two best midfielders (Fyfe and Mundy) and Suban as the defensive mid. Hawthorn go one on one, and the ball spills to Suban vs his opponent. Both times Suban is beaten, first in a hard ball get situation by Shiels, the second beaten to the ball by Puopulo. Neither of those blokes are Hawthorn's best, smartest, or strongest mids. We're not talking about Suban vs Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis and losing, which would be fair as they are better players. Suban should at least be able to hold his own against Shiels or Puopulo.

Hawthorn really played it cleverly in both these occasions, with Mitchell making sure Mundy didn't get the ball, and essentially leaving the clearance open to have it come down to a battle between Freo's worst mid (Suban) and one of theirs. It didn't matter who it was - they beat Suban, and the presence of Fyfe and Mundy were nullified.

Both times Sandi used the one handed tap to his feet and that gets me riled up because when he goes with both hands he directs the ball to one of our mids in space and away from the base of the stoppage . He has rarely done that this year and it works better for him and the mids who then were able to move the ball quicker into the forward line .
Lachie ,Mundy and Fyfe have to battle their way through bodies to get some space and time to deliver the ball which slows up ball movement and as a result the opposition backs have heaps of time to get their defensive structures in place and stifle our forwards .
Our current stoppage set up need re gigging .If it isn't fixed there is no chance of getting the 2 extra goals that RTB wants .

The second stoppage illustrates exactly my point . Sandi tries to direct the ball to Mundy and because the tap is almost at his feet Suban is forced to commit to the contest . Mitchell and Mundy are shoulder to shoulder competing for the ball , Suban is trying to get to the contest but Mitchell blocks him .McEvoy then runs hard to put on the block on Mundy and Hawthorn are away .
Our set up didn't have anyone putting in the block for Mundy . Sandi only had Mundy to receive the tap and he is already covered by Mitchell .

So ive just been over to the GWS board, and with Fyfe out they seem to be liking their chances. Personally I think they're still too inexperienced to trouble you lot at home, but whats the general feeling about this game? Anyone worried?

Like all things, it depends who you ask. I feel that the vast majority of us are not going to take GWS lightly, as they have proven earlier this year, however i think we all expect to win. We'd like to belt them and 'find our illusive form' again, however it'll probably be something like 55-85

If we can't beat GWS at home because Fyfe isn't out there, we don't deserve to have top spot.

Not in the slightest, the closest they've pushed us here is 76 points.

Definitely a bit worried, don't think you can never not be. GWS will bounce back after they were expected to trouble Geelong but didn't really get within 20 points throughout the game. Sore and tough game for us last week.

Should flog them really and a chance for our much vaunted younger group to stand up and show they really belong in the side watching how Cameron goes against our defense he was shocking last time he played at Subiaco v Eagles so expect more from him.