Prediction Round 2, 2023: Changes vs GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

Out: Chesser, Jamieson, Witherden, (Petruccelle)
In: SPS, Waterman, Hough, (Hewett)

Hurn Barrass Cole
Duggan McGovern Hunt
Gaff Kelly O'Neill
Jones Darling Cripps
Ryan Allen Waterman

Williams, Shuey, Ginbey

Sheed, SPS, Long, Hough

Sub: Hewett

No Culley in your INS mate?

Bizarre.

2 days ago you were arguing that the game wasn’t won or in the midfield.
Now after losing the only changes you are looking at are in the midfield.
Whatever!

We were clearly beaten by a better midfield and lost by how much? A kick. 5 points.

Less than a kick and could have easily won.

Think about that for a bit before replying.

We break even in the midfield we win that game. And other games. Holding your own and breaking even against good opposition midfields wins games when you have better forwards and defenders. THAT'S the point.

Our midfield mix was off. And that needs addressing long term so let's look at that shall we.

Will be interesting to see if clubs opt to debut players as the sub, especially high draft picks like Hewett. I think there has been a view around the comp that it robs them of the occasion. As much as I want to see him, I somewhat doubt they'd do it in round 2.

This was the case when it was the medi sub because they may not get onto the field but they lose that debut forever but now that it has pivoted back to a tactical sub, it will always be activated.

Didn't stop it happening plenty back when the original sub rule was introduced in 2011. Look at Gaff, he was famous for being our sub in his first year.

The real joke was last year, when a player is given his "debut" only to sit there as the medical sub.

Still gets match payments, still counts as games played on their career whether they're activated or not.

We’ve lost Kelly Whitfield and Perryman …. And probably Haynes …. Should be a spud off
Problem is, our spuds are what we are currently rolling out as our best…
Maybe we can channel our inner Tony Gallati and turn our spuds into a multi-million dollar franchise!

Chesser is an interesting one, looked miles off it not AFL standard yet, but dont want to kill his confidence by dropping him after 1 game.

Really shouldnt of been picked, but give him a couple more and hope he shows he belongs and the North game was an aberration.

Ins
Hough, Culley

Outs
Witherden, O'Neill

Jamieson and Bailey both don't deserve a game, but no one to replace them with sadly
I reckon I'd go the same Ins, but dump one of Wiliams or Jamo. Culley's not short (at the very least he's taller than Greenwood) - get him to pinch in the ruck.

"Simpson declared big man Nic Naitanui was unlikely to face Greater Western Sydney next Sunday as he works through Achilles soreness."

I seriously can't believe the club is going to do this tantric will he/won't he bullshit again for another few months. Is everyone going to just ignore the fact he was apparently doing a fitness test to try to get up this week and now is at least two weeks away with 'soreness'

I'll save them some time.

Nic's legs, knees ankles and feet are shot. They call it soreness or hotspots or stress fractures or a gypsy curse or whatever they want but it comes down to the same thing. His legs are shot because he is too ******* heavy to play the style of football he plays. He can't even get through a preseason much less a season. I'm sure he will play some games this year, maybe even some very good games, but then after a few weeks he'll get injured again because his legs knees ankles and feet are shot. Because he's too ******* heavy.

It is truly pointless to keep pretending that he's our first ruck choice and he's just having rough trot with injuries and soon it will all come good. At this point there is probably more chance of Coxxy making a comeback and playing a full season than nicnat suddenly kicking that ever so mysterious, ever so unlucky run of foot/ankle/leg/knee injuries.

Which sucks but is there really any reason for the club to go through the ridiculous charade that he might suddenly become available. Do they think anyone is remotely fooled? Or at this point are they fooling themselves because the alternative is just to accept the nicnat era is over and we desperately need to build a midfield that isn't reliant on him.

Choosing to give him a two year contract and not try to, eg, use the money to match port's offer for Rioli was such a bad call.
This is an interesting take.
Completely wrong and nonsensical, but interesting.

GWS will rip us a new one next week with their midfield alone, just keep playing the kids including Chesser he'll get there eventually just needs games, something he hasn't had even before last season.

Rioli played amazing yesterday, sure we will be the better side of that trade..

Just checked the fixture list again. Our run could be as bad as 16 losses in a row, we come up against Gold Coast (H) & Hawthorn (A) Around that time then Essendon (H) after.

We could pinch a win in those games but even then it's still a bleak outlook for season 23'. I just hope our % doesn't look as embarrassing as last seasons in the 50's...

[emoji38]

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Culley is in
Bazzo’s basically not had a preseason, Culley has a calf. Neither of them played in the WAFL scratchie.

Barnett played limited minutes, has had a very limited pre season altogether.

Simpson has pretty much ruled out Naitanui and Yeo for next week.

thewest.com.au/sport/west-coast-eagles/west-coast-expect-jai-culley-to-be-available-for-selection-next-week-as-wafl-eagles-upset-claremont-tigers-c-10081361

Tom Green is going to tear us a new one

Until Hewett builds his tank the tactical sub may be his way into the team.

The conundrum being it’s hard to build a tank only playing a quarter of footy each week.
Mate our whole team basically plays one quarter of footy every week.

We were clearly beaten by a better midfield and lost by how much? A kick. 5 points.

Less than a kick and could have easily won.

Think about that for a bit before replying.

We break even in the midfield we win that game. And other games. Holding your own and breaking even against good opposition midfields wins games when you have better forwards and defenders. THAT'S the point.

Our midfield mix was off. And that needs addressing long term so let's look at that shall we.
The game is won and lost in the midfield, which is why you are wanting to change the midfield.

Until Hewett builds his tank the tactical sub may be his way into the team.
Noah Long and Campbell Chesser played considerably less minutes than many other players, there’s no reason why Hewett couldn’t play similar minutes to these guys. You don’t think Hewett could play 67minutes of footy? FF92B9C9-3391-4710-869D-EAD5BCC2BA5A.png

Noah Long and Campbell Chesser played considerably less minutes than many other players, there’s no reason why Hewett couldn’t play similar minutes to these guys. You don’t think Hewett could play 67minutes of footy?View attachment 1634534
Far out, we really don't know how to manage rotations, do we? That's the equivalent of playing a man short.

Tom Green is going to tear us a new one
1679267752377.png
Vanderpump Rules GIF by Slice

If we don't win this week, i cant see us potentially getting a win until we play the gold coast at home in round 9

Out: Witho, Xon.
In: Hough, Petch (both for pace)
(Chesser? = Could let him build some game form+fitness in the WAFL, replace him with Clark. But I imagine he is quicker and cleaner than Clark, so arguably better to build form at the AFL coalface.)
Persist with the rucks, it's all we got, how else do they improve?
People want to play the youth but when they aren't up to speed, they don't want to play the youth? (confusing)

Noah Long and Campbell Chesser played considerably less minutes than many other players, there’s no reason why Hewett couldn’t play similar minutes to these guys. You don’t think Hewett could play 67minutes of footy?View attachment 1634534
Perhaps in place of one of them, but not as well as both of them. That's possibly the issue?

Nobody dropping Chesser?

I'm all for playing the kids but not when they are clearly not up to scratch with AFL footy and at the moment Chesser looks waaaay off.

5 touches, 1 contested, 1 tackle in an entire game of footy against a pretty young team in Norf. Compare how Ginbey and Long adapted to this fella.

Get Hewett in his place and let Chesser do something in the WAFL first to justify his selection.

Other than that

OUT - Jamieson, XON, Witherden.

We still play Petch though??