Opinion Round 20 changes vs. GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Crowley or Mundy as a late out. Croizer will go alright. But how good is that line up! Ross obviously wants to keep the gameplan and back 6 as close as possible to finals.
It's impressive. Trying to fit Pearcec, Ibbo and McPharlin gets pretty tricky. You pretty much have to take out Sheridan, Sutcliffe and Neale which leaves some handy talent on the sidelines. If Morabito ever gets up and Michie/Simpson start pushing its going to get mighty tight in there. Good times!

Very difficult indeed. Neale deserves to stay in TBH but you would think Sutcliffe and Sheridan are automatic outs with Neale a unlucky omission given its experience for finals? Only other player/s that can be dropped or make way is Mzungu and de Boer but Ross highly values them so its unlikely. Definitely won't want to be on the match commitee thats for sure.. squeezing everyone in will be difficult!

Hey folks, I just wanted to pop in and ask about Sandi. I am thinking of trading him in as a supercoach finals wildcard. What's the gut feel with how he's travelling. Has he been training ok? Is he moving freely in games? Will he likely ruck large portions of the next 4 weeks etc. Havn't had much chance to watch Freo recently. I just figure with your run home he's every chance to score big if he's close to OK. Any feedback will be really helpful. Thanks, and all the best.

He' building into it. With Pav back he will free up better when he goes forward. He's a decent option because of the high scores from hitouts. But Ross may still want to give him a rest prior to finals.

Zac Clarke does a fair amount of rucking though. Sandi is a decent option but a little risky. Probably worth it.

There is a fantasy thread stickied for these questions btw..

Anyway, I was also going to be bringing him in but decided against it. He will spend too much time forward for there to be any value in putting him in my team imo.

mate i can see sandi pulling off some big scores but there is a risk involved as he will be playing forward a bit more. COULD KICK 5/6 against melbourne and GWS but with sides worrying about Pav and having no man for him. Personally i went with Mayne as a finals wildcard as with Sandi down forward and Pav there he might get off the leash a little, also a bit more consistent than your true Key-forwards.

He' building into it. With Pav back he will free up better when he goes forward. He's a decent option because of the high scores from hitouts. But Ross may still want to give him a rest prior to finals.

Zac Clarke does a fair amount of rucking though. Sandi is a decent option but a little risky. Probably worth it.

As been said, wrong thread, don't want to go too off topic, but there's no way Ross is going to rest Sandi in the last few games. He'll play every game from here (barring injury of course, touch wood).

Yeps. Suspect playing Mundy and Crowley are still in. Just the one change (so far).
Team-Selection-Round-20B.jpg

Crikey! I would have thought we play more than 4 defenders! :confused:

Surely we won't line up like that.

Reckon late changes are a certainty. I'll go with Mzungu out for Crichton. Good luck Jesse. Having said that i Watched his WAFL game last week and amazed that earnt him a promotion into the squad. Apart from an excellent goal from long range, he barely touched it even though basically in the midfield all day.

Don't really see a spot for Crozier with Neale, Shero, Pearce, hill already in this weeks team. He has a great running style and great skills though and should have a long career. It's just right now he isn't half as prepared to go in hard as Crichton is. At this stage of his career he's a very outside player.

Maybe silvagni might come in if someone over 190cm misses late.

Freo by 86 points . And one of the senior players as the sub.

Brought him straight in.
Match winner

Love all the brand new arguments for the most logical reason michie wasn't selected.

RTB is a great coach, but has flaws, and not selecting michie is one of them.
And what's your arguement as to why he (and the match committee) hasn't? Because flaw. Seriously you think its obvious to us but somehow they're missing it? He is not playing either because he is not fit enough, not doing the defensive work properly, won't sign a new contract, there is no role he can fill in the side open or some combination of the four, nothing else. Saying it's a 'flaw' is idiotic trite reasoning to get around the logical fallacy that somehow a random keyboard bashing footy fan knows better than the coach and match committee.

I noticed that GWS had dropped Brogan for the game, meaning debutant Tom Downie will be left on his lonesome to ruck against big Sandi and Zac.

We might set a new record on hit outs this week.

Giles?

And what's your arguement as to why he (and the match committee) hasn't? Because flaw. Seriously you think its obvious to us but somehow they're missing it? He is not playing either because he is not fit enough, not doing the defensive work properly, won't sign a new contract, there is no role he can fill in the side open or some combination of the four, nothing else. Saying it's a 'flaw' is idiotic trite reasoning to get around the logical fallacy that somehow a random keyboard bashing footy fan knows better than the coach and match committee.
While I agree with the principle of your post, there was a period there when Harvey used to do the most inexplicable shit, playing Clark and Pav on the ball while Palmer was in the back pocket or something. We would be wailing and knashing our teeth here and I reckon we did know better. He has his reasons but I am still unable to fathom them to this day.
It is unlikely but not completely beyond the realm of possibility that Lyon has taken against Michie and simply won't select him even if he gets 50 posessions in the WAFL. There may be a good reason for it but it remains inexplicable to the common man.
I suppose I'm just defending the notion that, as unlikely as it seems, sometimes we seems to see things for a distance that make more apparent sense than what is currently happening. Almost never since Ross took over and he's always been right (Walters, Pearce, Suban). In Ross we trust.

I noticed that GWS had dropped Brogan for the game, meaning debutant Tom Downie will be left on his lonesome to ruck against big Sandi and Zac.

We might set a new record on hit outs this week.
Probably just didn't want to fly the old fella all the way over here in what should be a pasting.

Maybe Michie isn't that good.

Well, he's proven pretty consistently that he's one of Peel's best players. Unless you have a crystal ball (Ross' is broken) I'd suggest it's impossible to know how good Viv is.

For the record, I have no issue with the selection committee not picking him, they are clearly better informed than I.