Opinion Round 20 changes vs. GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

Michie would have every right to walk out on the club. Screw having to be loyal cause we stuck with him through his injuries. It's quite possible Freo were the cause of his injuries due to poor training methods. If I were him, I would pack my bags and head back to Victoria.

Bloke is a borderline selection for a dead set top 4 team that will go deep into September. If he's thinking of heading back to Vico instead of walking around with a permanent purple woodie at the prospect of being part of history then good luck to him. Personally I'd be redoubling my efforts and busting two foofer valves every time I go out because if someone goes down I'm a show for September. And nothing else matters.

mate with all due respect
who wouldn't want 2 Mick Barlows?

Bookmark it, he will be just as good as Barlow in a number of years time.

He has also been playing much better than Sherro in most but not all games and his fitness is up with Sherro from the games I've seen of Peels.

I think Ross may not want to play players that aren't in his finals plans for this year. IMO Michie may get a gig next year. I'm sure he has 1 more year on his ocntract. Can someone confirm that for me.

At the end of the day I do trust RTB for players playing and hope Freo have a great win this week.

Bloke is a borderline selection for a dead set top 4 team that will go deep into September. If he's thinking of heading back to Vico instead of walking around with a permanent purple woodie at the prospect of being part of history then good luck to him.

Borderline? How is he borderline if he can't even crack into a best 25 side (at least for this week, behind Cr*&^%$#@ton/Cretin/Crichton :p ? Let alone a best 22 ? At least an emergency selection is merited??? *makes avatar face* #sorrySeppo

Viv is a talent. He isn't a Ploddis who racks up borderline-meaningless possession numbers game after game - from what I've seen on TV his disposal is sound and constructive, if maybe a little un-penetrating (not what she said). He has decent speed, and can impact packs with dat build plus motor his way out of them. Hard-working too: you have to be putting in regular BOG performances in a wooden-spoon WAFL team, with the 10th highest disposal average of any player (26.4), 3rd if you count only players with 10 or more WAFL appearances. And oh, not to mention rehab from a potentially career-ending injury.
Not guarantees of a long and successful career, but he certainly deserves a chance at a couple (let alone a good spell) of top-flight appearances to prove himself.

I'm crossing my fingers that this all has to do with the lingering bone density issues, fitness and/or the concerns about his versatility (although he did play as a half-forward/half-back @ U18s from memory, but not AFL level obviously).
Or even his game being purposefully and painfully perfected to pinpoint perfection by FFC, being built brick-by-brick as a core of FFC's midfield brigade as a hard-tackling, goal-busting, pack-bursting, tag-impervious Brownlow and Coleman winning rover (and a dead-cert regular too, after he makes his non-sub debut).:rainbow:

But I'm not liking his chances of being a regular at Freo anytime soon when none of our key mids look like retiring in the immediate future. Still think older ones such as Mundy (28yo), Barlow (26), D Pearce (27), Mzungu (27) have at the very least 2 years of high-standard footy left. And with Suban, DeBoer having regular-ish centre stints, I will reiterate there is not much space sadly for Viv, understandably.

Obviously, what's not helping is that the club is also fast-tracking the development of Sutcliffe, Sherro, Crozier and Neale (and Mora still to to return) - also the next-gen brigade with much promise, but his foremost competition for further berth in the senior side. :thumbsu: Which is great, but surely Viv has (already said) shown much more consistently at WAFL level, and an after an impressionable (maybe not breathtaking, but certainly satisfactory) AFL debut too, being thrown into the deep of action against a premiership-contending side in a humbling team performance. What more does he have to do to be selected on merit?

Obviously club success and loyalty over individual success is rated highly, at least among us fans. But is he being delayed from his fair chance of either if he is constantly being stalled from a well deserved spell of games?

He's still 21 (like Fyfe), so there is time. And I have trust in RTB and the MC for their reasons for his omission. But as we approach the season's eve, and enter finals with a side set in Lyonic cement, surely he justly deserves more opportunities for himself, for the club, for us.
A game against the future perennial cellar dwellers in Melbourne should provide just that.

/endvent

(Sorry if I've excessively repeated or exaggerated others' points - have been watching waaaay too much epic anime for my own good. Not having a go at anyone too :D ) :footy:

exactly the point, 2 mcik Barlows would be amazing but somebody does have to make way. Think he should have been the sub a little more. More than capable of replacing a mid, if a kpf got hurt you could send barlow/fyfe forward and shove michie in the guts or if a small defender got injured suban can go back. Think is main problem is flexibility as almost every1 in our playing squad can play more than 1 position and he might suffer if not playing the inside mid role

wasn't Viv drafted as a half forward?

Well I've conceded defeat with Viv getting a gig in the 1's this yr.
May I direct other fans of Viv's attention to the Sandover medal.
RTB cannot ignore a Sandover

Ross and the other members of the selection panel won't be ignoring anything,and as Lyon has said on numerous occasions he has weekly meetings with Viv to advise and assess exactly where he is at.
I'm disappointed we haven't seen more of him,we all know Viv will be frustrated,but I'm confident the club is dealing with his development very professionally.They know he's a talent,they have declared the need and the intention to build a deep middle.
I think that if Fyfe,Mundy,Barlow were out or doubtful rather than Ibbo and the Purple Ghurka we would be seeing the Master Blaster and I'm still hopeful that we'll see him before the end of the home and away.However you can't ignore just how good our blokes who play that role actually are so it's not surprising he's not first choice;yet!

Just finished reading the last few pages of this thread and have come to the conclusion that this is going to be a long four weeks :D

I know, I know, important games, possible top two, blah blah blah, just bring on the finals!!!!!!!!!

Far out the Michie whinging in this thread is sickening! The match committee look at who deserves a game and who fills the role. At the moment, Viv deserves a game, but so do about 28 other blokes! He can fill a role, but not as good as the player currently filling it!

Do you think Michie gets a little happier seeing his name as an emergency? You lot are seriously whinging over Crichton, who isn't even going to play, because you want to see Viv as an emergency? Makes no sense at all.

RTB is getting games into those who may be required come finals time - guys like Sutty, Crozier and Neale. Michie will not play finals, so just let him finish out the year at WAFL level.

Everyone knows the kid has talent, but he came from a long way back after no footy for two years. His chance will come next year.

Finally, how many times do other posters have to repeat it - Crichton is named as an emergency because he can play in the back half.

/end rant

It would not surprise me in the lest if Ibbo doesn't get up - this would be the logic of the inclusion of Cright-thingy.

If Ibbo wasn't going to be right to play then they wouldn't have named him, the fact that hes an IN means hes a lock IMO.

Far out the Michie whinging in this thread is sickening! The match committee look at who deserves a game and who fills the role. At the moment, Viv deserves a game, but so do about 28 other blokes! He can fill a role, but not as good as the player currently filling it!

/end rant
My issue is and the point of my whinging is that I am concerned that a player like Michie SEEMS to be getting ignored.
I am not in the know as to whether there are some unknown reasons or benchmarks he has to meet before he gets a look in but as a Freo supporter I am worried that a guy with his obvious talent is seemingly overlooked.
I understand the team balance thing and all that but surely against GWS or Melb there are options available to include him.
If there are no underlying reasons then you can only dangle the carrot for so long before the donkey looses interest and looks for a different paddock to find the carrot.

If Ibbo wasn't going to be right to play then they wouldn't have named him, the fact that hes an IN means hes a lock IMO.
Not necessarily.
They named Ibbo last week even though he was carrying the niggle all week and they gave him right up until match day to prove fitness. He didn't feel comfortable and they pulled him out.

If he has had a flare up or it hasn't improved all week they will pull him out and my buddy should drop into the back 6.

Not necessarily.
They named Ibbo last week even though he was carrying the niggle all week and they gave him right up until match day to prove fitness. He didn't feel comfortable and they pulled him out.

If he has had a flare up or it hasn't improved all week they will pull him out and my buddy should drop into the back 6.

My point is that he has been brought in from outside the squad, i wouldn't think they would bring him into the squad without being very confident hes good to go.

Michie will get his chance next week against Melbourne. Saves Mundy the travel and gives him a weekend at home to rest.

Yeah, give him some time to spend with his future father-son selection ... err.. bub.

BF Freo Board - Viv Michie not in?!?!

iw5.png

A different take on things.

Can anyone point to a lineup where RTB has made more than 2 changes on any occasion unrelated to injury? RTB does not believe in dropping games and so he seems take a risk management approach. He does not regard the WAFL so any player coming in = high risk in his book. To this end it seems like he believes he can manage the risk associated with two untested (they didn't play AFL last week so their currant form is untested) players coming in.

In this scenario Ibbo and Pav coming in are high enough risk so to list anyone else is just window dressing.

Consequently if you set an internal limit of two changes under all conditions almost all of our changes this year have been dictated by injury or suspension and there are no slots left to experiment. It also means that if someone cracks the team it is almost certain that they will stay for a period of time because there will almost certainly be an injury or suspension going out so your chance of being dropped is about 1 in 20 on any given week.

If JC doesn't make the side now through a late change on the day. Its time to officially draw the line through him.
:(

Cheer up Seppo
Putting 2 and 2 together from Harry's training report, good chance it will be a late change Crowley out, Crytown in with Jesse getting a run-with defensive role in the midfield on someone like Ward

Borderline? How is he borderline if he can't even crack into a best 25 side (at least for this week, behind Cr*&^%$#@ton/Cretin/Crichton :p ? Let alone a best 22 ? At least an emergency selection is merited???

I think what Mockcockpit was saying is that Michie is 'borderline' in terms of almost cracking into our best 25, in a top 4 team, so he should persevere and stick it out. You both seem to be arguing that he's quality (and he is).