Recommitted Rowan Marshall [OOC 2027] - Requested Trade to Geelong, didn't get done

The funny thing to me is, if the Big Footy experts had their way, we wouldn't have even had this first rounder to offer, because it would have now been the property of the Bulldogs.
If BigFooty experts had their way we would be stripped of all draft picks over a bottle of wine and a hotel room

Because Geelong have a history of holding firm on trading the future 1sts unless they get something significant back the other way. See Collingwood and 2022 trade period and the same last year. It wouldn't be that hard for St kilda to read the room-so it comes back to my question-if you know you will only deal for that and you know Geelong wont offer it why waste anyone's time with the pretence of a negotiation that isnt going to go anywhere?
How is it us wasting peoples time ? we have made it clear from the start we don’t really want to trade him ,and if we did consider it we are absolutely not interested in this years draft picks . how much clearer can we be Mackie knew this but still decided to offer a pick in this years draft anyway Is that not wasting time.

Rowan Marshall requested a trade to Geelong. Mackie did no chasing
Oh this is comedy gold .

So Rohan Marshall ,without any dialogue or interactions with Geelong* who walked into his exit meeting and said “you know what I want to be traded and reckon I’d like to be traded to Geelong, now if you guys could just let them know that’d be great , thanks”

*The same Geelongs who’s ruck stocks are so bad (highlighted most notably in the GF by the Brisbane superstar duo of Omac and former cat Darcy fort absolutely pantsing them) they resigned a 34 yr old Stanley….

Yeah nah I’m sure Geelong were as surprised as anyone one of the leagues better ruckman just so happened to decide he wanted to play for them right when they’re screaming out for some decent talent in in that area

The funny thing to me is, if the Big Footy experts had their way, we wouldn't have even had this first rounder to offer, because it would have now been the property of the Bulldogs.
The fact that the bulldogs were happy to take unders without much drama . should actually be a big red flag for Geelong supporters it’s seems they were happy just to get him out of there club, Bailey smith is a good player . but I’m not sure he is capable of keeping his mouth shut or staying out of trouble off field , Geelong as a club don’t like controversy I can see this turning bad as some point

Is he refusing to pay overs though?
They’re refusing to hand over 26’ first - which is what the saints want instead of the 25’ first which Mackie is offering up.
- in what’s clearly the most disappointing draft crop as percieved by all clubs for 10 odd years

It’s hardly massive overs and goes back to what I was saying ,Mackie screams pisses and moans when a club wants a Geelong contracted player , demanding they pay the cats price (and has even been acknowledged by Chris Scott ) yet when the shoes on the other foot he STILL thinks clubs have to agree to the cats terms

You're heavily invested in this considering it has nothing to do with your club, but rather than making up fictional stories you could try sticking to the fact of the matter, Rowan Marshall requested a trade to Geelong. Mackie did no chasing
I’m pretty sure players don’t ask to be traded to a specific club if that club has not pursued/chased them to begin with commonsense is it not

Oh no no

Remember Geelong are the bestest in the league at everything so much so their powers now extend to telepathy!

If the amazing mr Mackie sees a problem in Geelongs list he can now simply manifest the solution by getting whatever player he wants to all of sudden request a trade to the cats!

No.

Sam Edmund said yesterday morning that they wouldn’t trade him. He almost immediately backtracked and said ‘as it stands’ and that ‘things could change.’

Yesterday afternoon Mackie confirmed the clubs are still discussing a trade and we still plan to bring Marshall in.

Damian Barrett said he expects the deal to happen, and Tom Morris reported St K has already sounded out Ivan Soldo as a mature age back up ruck in the event they trade Marshall
Making up stories again with no factual basis. Where's the proof.

What are you on about?

Here’s Mackie on Trade Radio from 4pm yesterday confirming the Marshall deal is still being discussed:

Here’s Morris re Soldo:

All of this was discussed at length on radio yesterday.

Maybe try to keep up instead of making baseless allegations?

Oh no no

Remember Geelong are the bestest in the league at everything so much so their powers now extend to telepathy!

If the amazing mr Mackie sees a problem in Geelongs list he can now simply manifest the solution by getting whatever player he wants to all of sudden request a trade to the cats!
If you had any sense you'd know that the way this often works is Player X says to his agent "I'm not totally happy here, what can I do about that?" and the agent puts the feelers out to the various clubs about Player X. It's worked this way for 30+ years

Not sure why you're so in your feelings about Geelong all over the DTFA forum mate, Freo is one of the few clubs that has absolutely bent us over at the trade table in recent years

Mackie said no one has approached him from Saints/Blues about getting any Cats players through trade and he isn’t trading anyone who hasn’t asked so no idea why Saints fans keep bringing him up?
Is it just some fan fantasy?

He hasn’t said he wants to go. Saints haven’t asked for him.
Mackie actually said all Cats players are contracted and none of them had approached him about being traded. I’m sure the Saints/ Blues would want some contracted Cats but unless they ask for a trade they won’t be.

How is it us wasting peoples time ? we have made it clear from the start we don’t really want to trade him ,and if we did consider it we are absolutely not interested in this years draft picks . how much clearer can we be Mackie knew this but still decided to offer a pick in this years draft anyway Is that not wasting time.

Because youre saying you wont trade him except for a price you know there is no chance the other club will pay. Ergo any discussion is a waste of time. Just be honest about it its not that hard. St kildas communication (and not just on this trade) is really disjointed.

Mackie actually said all Cats players are contracted and none of them had approached him about being traded. I’m sure the Saints/ Blues would want some contracted Cats but unless they ask for a trade they won’t be.

And that was my original point? No team has asked for any Cats players, it’s coming from the list manager himself.

Speculation does not mean that it happened, that’s purely coming from the media.
Neither Carlton nor Saints have asked for players. The SDK thing was started by Saints TV…it’s not credible.

IMG_0708.jpeg

What are you on about?

Here’s Mackie on Trade Radio from 4pm yesterday confirming the Marshall deal is still being discussed:

Here’s Morris re Soldo:

All of this was discussed at length on radio yesterday.

Maybe try to keep up instead of making baseless allegations?

Love that we have actual facts and evidence to back it up.
People keep making up nonsense like Sam Edmund making up a complete lie that everyone ran with which Mackie himself refuted.

And that was my original point? No team has asked for any Cats players, it’s coming from the list manager himself.

Speculation does not mean that it happened, that’s purely coming from the media.
Neither Carlton nor Saints have asked for players. The SDK thing was started by Saints TV…it’s not credible.

View attachment 2453455
Apologies - good pick up, I’d missed that second (important) point.

Perhaps? Is Marshall better than a healthy Toby Conway? I don't know - but making this trade probably closes the window of Conway (or Mitch Edwards) as our future ruckman. And then having to throw in our first draft pick as well?

I'm 100% fine with walking away.
Exactly this. The difference between good decisions and bad ones is the outcome.
With that in mind a lot rests on Conway or Edwards if we walk away. Another year barely able to get fit enough to even touch grass and not giving up a R1 pick is an error.

But I wouldn't be offering more.

Lol at the Saints fans pretending the Marshall situation is anything like the Leek Aleer one.

Nobody promised Marshall anything. We all know it depends on whether a deal could be done. We've made a good faith offer and hopefully for his sake a deal gets done but there were never any guarantees.

Stkilda promised Leek Aleer the world, left him in the shit and then lied about it being cause a trade couldn't be done. Absolute dog shit behaviour of the highest order.

We’re just adopting the Macdoro approach of “refusing to pay overs”.

I honestly don’t get why the Saints are so invested in SDK

They aren’t…you have fan run pages posting that the team they support is interested in SDK as a hypothetical which conflicts directly with what the rival list manager who has SDK on his list is saying.

No idea how it got any traction when it’s not even getting traction by the list managers themselves.

They aren’t…you have fan run pages posting that the team they support is interested in SDK as a hypothetical which conflicts directly with what the rival list manager who has SDK on his list is saying.

No idea how it got any traction when it’s not even getting traction by the list managers themselves.

Yeah I’m sure he’s a solid player but in all the Cats games I’ve watched he hasn’t really jumped out at me.