Rusling!!!!

This is your opinion and not true. If he was fit and had touch Rusling would walk into our side vs Sydney this week.
I think we're so far into hypotheticals now it just isn't funny.

Rusling is injured.
Rusling has been playing as a backman.
Rusling hasn't kicked a bag of goals in a game since dufflecoats were fashionable.

What difference does it make getting injuried as a defender or as a forward? And who here actually knows he is injuried? And what state his body is in? :confused:

It only matters when it comes to the hypothetical discussion of whether he'd immediately displace Dawes/Anthony/Brown. Clearly, if he's coming back as a defender, he isn't displacing those guys anyway.

While the guy is a star when fully fit and in our best 22, he's gone. He can't put 5 games together.

Such a pity. The guy was always a gun at school, kicking 10 nearly every week, and his early AFL career looked really promising. I hope he can make it back, as he is currently the only AFL player to come from my school, Westminster (although that may change this year).

080326_rusling_246x316.jpg

Unless they allow players to take the field in a plastic bubble, Sean Rusling will never play for us again. It comes down to this, Would Mick Malthouse, Given that he plays a high rotational game, play anybody that is odds on to not be able to play out an entire game? that would leave us one down on the bench and that would limit our rotations. Rusling = Mr Glass, and while we play a game where our rotations are crucial, He will never fit in to our senior side. Regardless of if he is ahead of Dawes, Anthony, or Brown in any stat. I can't understand why we didn't cut him from the list last year. This is footy, not a love in, and if a player has far more negative's than positives, how could anyone want him to play for us? Do you really wanna be a man down on the bench after the first few minutes?

Rusling hasn't kicked a bag of goals in a game since dufflecoats were fashionable.

What's being implied here - has there been some type of move away from duffle-coats?

When they finally start playing him at Full Forward again... all of these opinions will change.

He is a natural leading and marking player and has an awesome conversion rate.

IMO... he will play Seniors this year.

I'm crossing every toe and finger and would love to see the Rus back. If not, I'd still keep him on the list for another year.

Thin drafts coming up and plenty or worthy cabs to drive from the rank before Rusling.

I'm with you here. We'll have enough players get delisted or retire at the year's end. might as well keep him due to thin drafts. I actually think that a fit rusling would help our forward line out heaps with the way we are kicking it in there. If we leave the forward 50 open with just rusling, our players can just kick it in flat, low and quickly into space for him to run on to. The difference between him and our current big forwards is that he has pace.

There's one question about when he is ever going to get fit enough to play......and the second question as to whether the team should risk playing a player who gets injured at the drop of a hat..

If we keep rusling next year, we might as well keep him on the list until he turns 50

I've seen this kid live twice and both times he carved us up (not an unusual feat for a Collingwood player). He'd be something special if could shake the injury problems. Super fast on the lead, great pair of hands and a great kick for goal.

I can understand why pies fans would talk down his chances of making it though. There's only so many times you can get your hopes up.

one dimensional ??? history will show us lockett , dunstall, lloyd, taylor, coventry
more recent times include fevola, jpod, hall and so on, footy can be as simple as you like it to be, put him in the square, kick it to him, watch him burn off his man, mark it, shoot for goal, develop cooler celebrations than davis and dick, do this 6-7 times a game. now how hard is that ???....

one dimensional ??? history will show us lockett , dunstall, lloyd, taylor, coventry
more recent times include fevola, jpod, hall and so on, footy can be as simple as you like it to be, put him in the square, kick it to him, watch him burn off his man, mark it, shoot for goal, develop cooler celebrations than davis and dick, do this 6-7 times a game. now how hard is that ???....

Different game to the past with the zones and floods. It wouldn't be hard to zone off in front of him and make it difficult for him to compete. I think he needs space and good skills kicking to him to be really effective. I'm not sure he'll get that right now. Hell it's a moot point anyway as he can't get on the field.

Lockett as far as I can remember wasn't one dimensional. Good contested hands, body on body and one the lead. Dunstall and to a lesser extent Llyod where similar but the game has changed massively defensively to nullify the ability for a good leading foward to dominate on the lead. Llyod suffered because of this. Fev has had a good individual career but it hasn't benifitted his teams at all, a lot of the reason he has been so good is because he has had so much of the ball directed to him. Jpod and Hall are both good contested marks too.

On Rusling I think something that is being overlooked with his injury is good old fashioned bad luck. If he had done his shoulder again since coming back I'd be in the "He's body can't cope with AFL footy bandwagon" too but that's not the case. IIRC He has broken a collar bone (bad luck, no real impact on the chance of happening again. Had a reco on each shoulder (would be an issue if it where the same shoulder) had a fractured cheek (bad luck) and now done a calf. Lee Walker was simply a knee that just wasn't up too it and each time he did it, it was more likely to happen again. On the other hand someone like Hird spent ages on the sidelines getting his body right but was then able to make a pretty problem free comeback.

Exactly.

On the one trick pony issue, this one trick comprises three important elements - fast break, sticky mittens and good kicking. That's 'one' trick that we don't have combined in any of our forward options at the moment, so I'm surprised it's so disparaged.

I reckon he's okay in a pack contest also, maybe not so much body-on-body protecting the space, but that's perhaps because we haven't seen him attempt it, because he's usually using his advantage on the break.

Providing he finishes this year off strongly I'd mature age rookie him, he'll be better than what's left at our last rookie pick in the 2010 draft.

While his injuries continue not to be shoulder related, I maintain a modicum of faith in him returning.

I don't understand the eagerness some people have in writing him off and I've never really considered him a list clogger either because he is obviously AFL quality if he can just get on the park. Ryan Cook, Anthony Corrie, Jaxson Barham are list cloggers, they are blokes who are fit and fighting, continually playing VFL but will never make it at AFL level regardless of how much time they spend on the list.
Rusling is quite different in that he is/has been worth the punt because we know if he got injury free he'd be playing AFL. In hindsight we probably should have mature aged rookied him last year, but he'd ran out the season well and got through the pre-season so he was every chance of actually playing AFL early in the season.
I have no problem with us using our 44th spot on the list on a bloke like Rusling, it's hardly clogging our list, we would have only used about 28 seniors players this year anyway.

Anyway, I doubt it'll all come together for him, but while he remains on our list and is actually playing football (like he supposedly will this weekend), I don't see the point in writing him off conclusively. There are no prizes for being a dick and being the quickest to bask in this kid's misfortunes.

Mature aged rooking him would require him to actually make it to that. I can't see why another club wouldn't take the punt on him first. As you have mentioned we (as do every other club) have true cloggers who are just no longer good enough, or no longer a fit to the club they are with. With the compromised drafts coming up and the time it takes for fowards to develop I'd dare say another club would take the risk on his body coming good as unlikely as it is.

If we delisted Rusling this year with the intention of picking him up in the rookie draft, I'd put the odds of someone grabbing him before us at probably below 1%, it just wouldn't happen.

Seeing Collingwood delist him after 6 years of hand holding would pretty much resign clubs to thinking he was all but done for as an AFL prospect. If he was worth holding on to, Collingwood wouldn't delist him in the first place.

I think you are overrating Rusling's value a little bit to be honest, I think it'd be a worthwhile thing to look into for Collingwood after having invested 6 years, other clubs probably not so much.
I don't think his redrafting would play out too dissimilarly to Michael Newton or John Meesen who both got delisted by Melbourne and made it back to them in the rookie draft without too many hassles, and at least those two can actually get on the park. He is a second round draft pick that has played 17 games in over 6 years, if other clubs wanna jump in and grab him before us, power to them, it'd be extremely unlikely though I reckon.

Sean Rusling
After Round 12, 2010, has played 17 of a possible 131 games (including finals) (12.98% of club games) in 6 seasons with Collingwood (2005-2010)

By comparison:

Lee Walker
Played 16 of a possible 157 games (including finals) (10.19% of club games) in 7 seasons with West Coast and Collingwood (1993-1999)

IMO, six seasons is long enough to establish yourself as an AFL player, and as unfortunate as his injury history may have been (and as big a factor as it has been in his development), unless Rusling has a miraculous AFL level ressurection in the second half of 2010, I don't think he warrants a place on our list in 2010. It's not the '80 and '90s anymore, when clubs carried often-injured or borderline players on their list for a decade. I wanted him to make it as a Pie as much as anyone, but I think he's had his time and he should be delisted at the end of the season.