Rusling!!!!

Hi guys
Can someone tell me how rusling is going and is he any chance of playing this year
You will get a lot of smart arse responses here, so I'll give it to you straight.

Rusling has no chance of playing senior football this year, his time has simply run out.

He is a chance to return to the VFL this week, but he would have to put 3-4 games together (something he hasn't done for 3 years if ever) just to be considered for senior squad selection.

Add that Anthony, Dawes and Leigh Brown are way ahead of him in terms of "runs on the board" and it doesn't look good fur Rus.

He has had too many injuries IMO to return as an AFL standard player, simply missed too much football.

Wish him well though, as unlikely as a return is for him.:)

You will get a lot of smart arse responses here, so I'll give it to you straight.
Way to steal my thunder.

Rusling was last seen reclining in a wheelchair, holding a copy of a comic called The Sentinel.

I wouldn't rule him out entirely for senior contention this season based on the precedence that was 2007 where Rus managed to play the last 2 or 3 games of the H&A season and then all the finals too, despite missing all of that year up until then.

However, time is definitely against him and would need to kick some consecutive bags of goals too to get in to the side because he won't get selected as a defender as we all know, despite the "trial" in the back arc.

Best to not expect Rusling to ever play again.

If he does ever get back onto the field then great however if we continue to see him as the great white hope then we will only be disappointed.

Rusling has no chance of playing senior football this year, his time has simply run out.

He is a chance to return to the VFL this week, but he would have to put 3-4 games together (something he hasn't done for 3 years if ever) just to be considered for senior squad selection.

Add that Anthony, Dawes and Leigh Brown are way ahead of him in terms of "runs on the board" and it doesn't look good fur Rus.

He has had too many injuries IMO to return as an AFL standard player, simply missed too much football.

Matty, that was abit of a smartarse response. Its your opinion though, so I respect that. Your next line contradicts it though.

Considering Rowdy said this week that Rusling will definitely be back after the break in the VFL, he'll hopefully play him in the forward line, and after a solid 5-6 weeks straight at VFL level he'll develop some sort of match-day conditioning, and we'll hopefully, based on form, see him in the seniors towards the end of the year heading into finals.

Heres hoping he is that X-factor in the forward line.

Matty, that was abit of a smartarse response. Its your opinion though, so I respect that. Your next line contradicts it though.

Considering Rowdy said this week that Rusling will definitely be back after the break in the VFL, he'll hopefully play him in the forward line, and after a solid 5-6 weeks straight at VFL level he'll develop some sort of match-day conditioning, and we'll hopefully, based on form, see him in the seniors towards the end of the year heading into finals.

I read it the same way PL.....

he's probably 6 weeks away if this years senior selection policy is anything to go by

opinion: don't expect him to even make it as an emergency. he's body just can't handle it, every time he plays more than a week, he get's injured.

I'm not having a crack at the bloke either, I think he's shown an amazing amount of dedication to not giving up. The trouble is, the club needs to decide whether he's a list clogger now

My comment may appear "smart arsed" but it probably the most accurate.

No-one knows or can say whether Rusling will play this season.

But that's the thing PL. When Rusling has been playing this year he has been in the backline to get matchness fitness and he is still getting injured. It's a shame but them the facts.

That is a furphy you can get Match fitness playing forward in his preferred/best position... he was played back because Malthouse was trying to turn him into a defender.

If he gets back to VFL he should be sat at FF and allowed to play in his best position.

Guys, I think the club would be more educated than us on the subject. If he was no chance of making it back, he'd retire, and stop wasting his time, and the club's.

What would Rusling still be doing trying to get back into it, if the body won't hold up?

I am hardly I Rusling fan. The fact that even as a defender his body hasn't stood up doesn't hold well. The fact that he has missed so much footy over a long period of time means it will be difficult for him to get touch back this year even if he does get fit.

BUT with all that said if he could do that there is deffinately a place for him in our senior side. Neither Dawes nor Anthony are good enough to keep Rusling out on current form.

Even after Dawes 5 goals in the VFL:D

I think Rusling could play alongside Cloke and Dawes.

But I doubt Rusling will Ever,Ever Eeeeeeever Play AFL Again as his Body is Rooted

Sad fact is, the guy just cannot get his body up for the rigours of regular senior football and it appears his opportunity has now passed.

Whilst not impossible, it would be a near miracle for him to come back, play a month of high quality VFL football and then force his way into the senior team. Hardly bl00dy likely to happen playing him in the backline too!

Even after Dawes 5 goals in the VFL:D

I think Rusling could play alongside Cloke and Dawes.

But I doubt Rusling will Ever,Ever Eeeeeeever Play AFL Again as his Body is Rooted​

Yes even after 5 VFL goals from Dawes it doesn't change anything about his playing style. He will take time to get his game to the level it needs to be.​

It wasn't a "smart arse" response, it was an opinion based on the number of players well ahead of Rusling in terms of fitness, form and game time.

As I went on to say, even if Rus can get 5-6 games together at VFL level, he is unlikely to be selected ahead of Dawes, Anthony, L.Brown, Cloke, Fraser etc as a tall forward.

His only hope of playing senior football this year is injuries to other tall forwards, ironically.

It wasn't a "smart arse" response, it was an opinion based on the number of players well ahead of Rusling in terms of fitness, form and game time.

As I went on to say, even if Rus can get 5-6 games together at VFL level, he is unlikely to be selected ahead of Dawes, Anthony, L.Brown, Cloke, Fraser etc as a tall forward.

His only hope of playing senior football this year is injuries to other tall forwards, ironically.

This is your opinion and not true. If he was fit and had touch Rusling would walk into our side vs Sydney this week.

Obviously the list of guys you have put have a head start in terms of being able to make a spot in the fowardline their own but none have done this yet so it is optimistic to the emph degree to assume they will.

Fact is with his pace and sticky hands Rusling does something none of the others do yet and that is create a dangerous target, draw defenders. He is the type of guy that will get a lot of free kicks from defenders sweating and worrying about him. He also has the ability to work higher up the ground on longer leads if needed. I am a Rusling critic in general because he is a pretty one dimensional player but at the moment he would walk into our side.

That is a furphy you can get Match fitness playing forward in his preferred/best position... he was played back because Malthouse was trying to turn him into a defender.

If he gets back to VFL he should be sat at FF and allowed to play in his best position.

Hey I agree he should be playing forward too but IIRC Rowdy said in interview that Rusling was down back to get some time into his legs. My only thoughts on why they did this is that he is still gets to read the play but also reduces the risk of someone landing in his back all the time. I can't see MM making Rusling a defender. If Goldsack aint getting a game there's no way Rusling will get one down back.

This is your opinion and not true. If he was fit and had touch Rusling would walk into our side vs Sydney this week.

Obviously the list of guys you have put have a head start in terms of being able to make a spot in the fowardline their own but none have done this yet so it is optimistic to the emph degree to assume they will.

Fact is with his pace and sticky hands Rusling does something none of the others do yet and that is create a dangerous target, draw defenders. He is the type of guy that will get a lot of free kicks from defenders sweating and worrying about him. He also has the ability to work higher up the ground on longer leads if needed. I am a Rusling critic in general because he is a pretty one dimensional player but at the moment he would walk into our side.

Well Dawes does Draw Defenders in that Helps Cloke Out. Rusling doe have a Better Mark than Dawes. Reckon Dawes,Cloke and Rusling would make a Great Forward Line.

We will never know what a Fully Fit Rusling could do now:(

Well Dawes does Draw Defenders in that Helps Cloke Out.

Can we please dismiss this myth?

Seriously, it's just a load of crap.

When does a second key forward not draw defenders? I mean seriously. Cloke's form is about him turning it around and moulding aspects of his game where he seemed vulnerable over the last 1-2 seasons. Cloke's improvement or renewed form has nothing to do with Dawes "helping", especially when you could consider any one of Leory or Jack too "helping" Cloke by "attracting defenders".