Ryan Murphy Rumour

• Thread starter Thread starter pistol17

Watched a bit of the VFL game last night on ABC2.

Doogs & Ray were both playing.

Hardly sighted Doogs , Farran Ray got a lot of it but coughed it up a lot.

I reckon Cookie & macca hit more targets than Farran at the moment.

Farren is a mate of mine, played footy and cricket together down in Mandurah. His skills are pretty ordinary at times, he is a bit too casual id say the word would be. Knows how to get it, just cant get rid of it.

A player I would like to see us get, has only played 2 maybe 3 games so far for Carlton is Paul Bower. His last 3 weeks in the VFL have seen him rack up 30, 35 and 40 possessions. Last week he smashed a Geelong listed player gathered his 40 possessions and not one clanger. He is 193cm and 90kg, quick, can find the ball and hit targets, has a fair set of hands on him. If he gets a gig for the blues in round 13 just have a look at him.

Gilmore for Ray... How would that sound? Maybe chuck in 4th rounder as a sweetener.

Gilly may have been a Freo supporter as a kid, but his grandad played in the Dogs one and only premiership in 1954, so at least if we are cutting loose a Freo supporting youngster, we know he's going to a club where he's keeping it in the family. ;)

Not a bad call IP.

Gilmore for Ray... How would that sound? Maybe chuck in 4th rounder as a sweetener.

Gilly may have been a Freo supporter as a kid, but his grandad played in the Dogs one and only premiership in 1954, so at least if we are cutting loose a Freo supporting youngster, we know he's going to a club where he's keeping it in the family. ;)

No chance. Wouldn't happen if we offered Gilmore and a 2nd round pick. Ray
has been struggling but you don't trade a guy who was a top ten pick only a couple of years ago for a crap player who wouldn't be close to their best 22. If Ray leaves it'll be for a top 20 pick or a KPP.

No chance. Wouldn't happen if we offered Gilmore and a 2nd round pick. Ray
has been struggling but you don't trade a guy who was a top ten pick only a couple of years ago for a crap player who wouldn't be close to their best 22. If Ray leaves it'll be for a top 20 pick or a KPP.

Yeah - I should've chucked in a :eek: really to show what I was really meaning.... ;)

I was just thinking a guy running around in the magoos, getting lots of it, but with dodgey disposal, a reallyfast runner, but can't cement a spot.

Sounds rather like the grandson of a Footscray premiership player that we have on our list... ;)

I have no issues with the Tarrant/Soloman trade.

We will be a clearing house this year I would've thought with Parker, Cook, McManus, Walker, Gilmore, J Lo and maybe Robbie Haddrill, either retiring, retiring injured or being shown the door.
Juries out on Dunn/Browne. Maybe too injury prone to carry any further.
So that gives us seven players on the list who may or may not be at the club next year.
If we use the draft wisely this year it will set us up again as Soloman and Tarrant are only 25-ish??
If Murphy cracks the shits then get as high a draft pick as possible for him and draft another mid and put the work into Campbell.
I would also think that Farmer and Headland will be due a pay cut so we will have some good coin to throw at Pavlich.

I'm betting McManus stays.

You can't cut loose all those others and expect to be able to trade in or draft ready made replacements. I think Parker will retire. Maybe Cook. Gilmour, Walker, Dunn may be traded but you won't get much for them. You'd have to be pretty confident in picking up some smokie in like the 4th round. If it goes like this:

Parker, Cook retire. = 1st round draft pick because Parks is on veteran list.
Walker delisted = 2nd round pick.
Hadrill is delisted = 3rd round pick.
Browne delisted = Foster upgrade
Dunn traded = New player or draft pick
Murphy traded = new player or draft pick

Thats a lot of youth. I think Macca gets another season.

Watched a bit of the VFL game last night on ABC2.

Doogs & Ray were both playing.

Hardly sighted Doogs , Farran Ray got a lot of it but coughed it up a lot.

I reckon Cookie & macca hit more targets than Farran at the moment.
Doogs had 4 goals by 1/4 time. How could you miss him? Still looked softer than custard and dumber than a Red Setter.

Ray didn't look all the impressive. He certainly had the measure of the game but didn't stand out. Based on that I don't think he is what we need. I'd trade him for Walker. Maybe Mum's cooking might fire him up.

It was a funny game though. In the half I saw Weribee were so dominant that their half backs were streaming forward under such little pressure that poor Farren playing on a wing was watching the ball go over his head.

Doogs had 4 goals by 1/4 time. How could you miss him? Still looked softer than custard and dumber than a Red Setter.

Ray didn't look all the impressive. He certainly had the measure of the game but didn't stand out. Based on that I don't think he is what we need. I'd trade him for Walker. Maybe Mum's cooking might fire him up.

It was a funny game though. In the half I saw Weribee were so dominant that their half backs were streaming forward under such little pressure that poor Farren playing on a wing was watching the ball go over his head.

Lol , I didn't start watching until the 2nd QTR.