Sandringham V Box Hill

Sandy 164 def Box Hill 76

Sadly I would be much happier if we were Box Hill. This is why:

Box Hill HawksGoal Kickers:J. Morton 3, B. McGlynn 2, D. Morrell, A. Neville, S. Gibson, B. Dowler, B. Renouf, C. Stokes
Best Players: B. McGlynn, B. Renouf, J. Kennedy, L. McQueen-Miscamble, S. Kenna, J. Morton
SandringhamGoal Kickers: N. Sautner 9, E. Poyas 5, B. Holland 2, P. Summers 2, M. Newton 2, S. Tregear 2, C. Liddell, A. Yze, R. Crowe
Best Players: C. Garland, N. Sautner, E. Poyas, C. Lamb, A. Yze, M. Warnock

Great, our two's had a huge win, but where do they learn to give 100% and better themselves so they are AFL ready. Look at the best players in the Box Hill team - they're getting flogged but I bet there learning and 4 of the 6 are AFL listed. Sandy is full of washed up AFL players who are VFL stars (Poyas, Lamb), Box Hill have other young guys like Batsanis and Papaluca who Hawthorn can get a head start at drafting.

They played in a team that kicked 25 goals but besides two blokes playing in their last year only Newton was able to kick goals and he only got 2. Who coaches this team anyway, don't we have strong ties, maybe when we are 10 goals up Sautner can be replaced at full forward with the bloke who will undoubtedly be our next full forward (not saying he's any good but he is the only option).

What about the best players, once again a guy in his last year (Yze), a dud who clearly doesn't have the skills for AFL and IMO never will (Warnock) and Garland. We all hate him right now but credit to the kid he seems to be giving it a real shake at Sandy, if he really has been better than a guy who's kicked 9 (whats that line again supermerc - something about having a set of dodgy pictures) then bring him in to the side, but make sure he is ready to go this time.

Please can someone who has been at this game tell me its better than it reads on paper. Tell me Buckley, Maric and Bate played well.

Forgive the intrusion from another board, but I was at Box Hill today and thought Garland was pretty impressive. I'm stunned Bate wasn't listed as one of Sandringham's best - I thought everything he did was good. Yze used the ball well but I can see why he wont play for the 1s much this year.

Sauntner and Poyas were obviously great, but I thought Holland and Newton (in particular) did a lot of really good stuff across half forward and were prepared to sacrifice their games for Sauntner, who was hauling in everything (I think he had 6 or 7 by half time). Newton I thought was really clean with his hands, both marking (one absolutely beautiful one hander in the 3rd term) and dishing off handballs.

The disappointment for me was Meesen. As an Adelaide supporter I was keen to see how he went, and he got his hand on it in the middle a fair bit but he seemed to drift around without a real purpose other than that.

I can't trust "best" lists after some of the tripe I've seen the papers serve up this year. Even worse in the VFL where they don't have the benefits of replays or full stats - just some drunken 2nd rate journos giving votes to whoever they recognise.

Good to see Maric backing up his form last week by doing FA.

Bate definately back next week - don't care even if he was shit, he's a must if fit. Yze may as well just hang up the boots, it's sad to see him reduced to running around in the slops.

Awesome, thanks for that Marvin. Bate and Newton must be ins because our forward line was dreadful, good to hear Newton worked well at CHF and sacrificed his game a bit, its what we need from him.

As for Yze, it depends on his attitude, if he's working hard and teaching younger players then I'm happy for him to play on, also if he decided to hang them up I'd support that. The way we're going they may as well give him a farewell game. But I wouldn't be forcing his mind yet, he deserves to go out on his terms after his career at the dees.

Awesome, thanks for that Marvin. Bate and Newton must be ins because our forward line was dreadful, good to hear Newton worked well at CHF and sacrificed his game a bit, its what we need from him.

As for Yze, it depends on his attitude, if he's working hard and teaching younger players then I'm happy for him to play on, also if he decided to hang them up I'd support that. The way we're going they may as well give him a farewell game. But I wouldn't be forcing his mind yet, he deserves to go out on his terms after his career at the dees.

Its not the same without the chants of OOOOOOOZZZZZZZZ around the ground - he has been an absolute champion of our club!

The problem is that i've added a B to that chant. I used to love chanting though...

I can't trust "best" lists after some of the tripe I've seen the papers serve up this year. Even worse in the VFL where they don't have the benefits of replays or full stats - just some drunken 2nd rate journos giving votes to whoever they recognise.

Good to see Maric backing up his form last week by doing FA.

Bate definately back next week - don't care even if he was shit, he's a must if fit. Yze may as well just hang up the boots, it's sad to see him reduced to running around in the slops.
Pretty sure the best lists are done by the coaching staff at VFL level.

Sandy 164 def Box Hill 76

Sadly I would be much happier if we were Box Hill. This is why:

Great, our two's had a huge win, but where do they learn to give 100% and better themselves so they are AFL ready. Look at the best players in the Box Hill team - they're getting flogged but I bet there learning and 4 of the 6 are AFL listed. Sandy is full of washed up AFL players who are VFL stars (Poyas, Lamb), Box Hill have other young guys like Batsanis and Papaluca who Hawthorn can get a head start at drafting.[/B]

They played in a team that kicked 25 goals but besides two blokes playing in their last year only Newton was able to kick goals and he only got 2. Who coaches this team anyway, don't we have strong ties, maybe when we are 10 goals up Sautner can be replaced at full forward with the bloke who will undoubtedly be our next full forward (not saying he's any good but he is the only option).

When can people like you get it in your thick skulls that Sandringhan FC is not the Melbourne reserves unlike the former Box hill Mustangs FC that are now only Box Hill in name and are literally the Hawthorn reserves.

The Sandringham FC will never sell its great heritage to any AFL/VFL team so get used to what you have or get the money and staff TO RUN YOUR OWN RESERVES team.
Then you shouldnt have anything to whinge and bitch about apart from your own clubs pathetic performance both on and off the field.

As my old garndma used to say "Beggars cannot be choosers" and thats what the MFC is right now Beggars!

PS: I think you are all pissing into the wind if you think Newton will be a star at AFL level on what Ive seen of him.

When can people like you get it in your thick skulls that Sandringhan FC is not the Melbourne reserves unlike the former Box hill Mustangs FC that are now only Box Hill in name and are literally the Hawthorn reserves.

The Sandringham FC will never sell its great heritage to any AFL/VFL team so get used to what you have or get the money and staff TO RUN YOUR OWN RESERVES team.
Then you shouldnt have anything to whinge and bitch about apart from your own clubs pathetic performance both on and off the field.

As my old garndma used to say "Beggars cannot be choosers" and thats what the MFC is right now Beggars!

PS: I think you are all pissing into the wind if you think Newton will be a star at AFL level on what Ive seen of him.
Firstly as you can see I never said Newton will be a star but he is the best future we have up forward at the moment.

Also I have no doubt that when we do get enough money we will run our own reserves team and I'm allowed to whinge about it in the mean time and say that I would love a Box Hill situation rather than a Sandringham one. Just like I'd love a Buddy Franklin.

Sandringham might not be sell outs but they are playing in the most sold out competition going round. Just look at the makeups of the clubs. So you can enjoy the premierships just like the Melbourne players at the time did, but for me winning the VFL is like winning the kissing your sister cup, you just brought a group of quality VFL players and got a stupidly run club that had too many ageing players on its lists that allowed a strong group in the VFL. Once you beat the reserve sides without the experience and the standalone clubs without the talent and money your most of the way there.

Heard Juice got reported for striking? Can anyone confirm this? Plus I wanna know where they are playing Martin, KPP Defender or is he playing in the ruck.

I'd be happy to see him come in this week and get the Job on Bradshaw. I'm not opposed to Carroll, but too many times in recent years has Brown or Bradshaw tore us a new arseh*le, and Chopper isn't the answer.

If it wasn't for a bunch of Melbourne players and recently retired Demons, Sandy would be just another VFL struggler. You should be forever thanking us for the likes of Rigoni, Lamb and co.
Knobjockey.

Heard Juice got reported for striking? Can anyone confirm this? Plus I wanna know where they are playing Martin, KPP Defender or is he playing in the ruck.

I'd be happy to see him come in this week and get the Job on Bradshaw. I'm not opposed to Carroll, but too many times in recent years has Brown or Bradshaw tore us a new arseh*le, and Chopper isn't the answer.
awe crap! I forgot we were playing Brisbane at the 'Gabba this week. :(

Yeah what the hell, Martin on Bradshaw, the poor bugger has to start somewhere. At least if Bradshaw kicks 5 or more we can pretent we're surprised when we watch it instead of seeing Carrol do his "thing".

If it wasn't for a bunch of Melbourne players and recently retired Demons, Sandy would be just another VFL struggler. You should be forever thanking us for the likes of Rigoni, Lamb and co.
Knobjockey.

NO way mate! The 4 flags won by teams with AFL hasbeens and wanabes have no where near the value thw the 4 won by SFC before the MFC alliance.
Personally I would rather be an honest struggling club than some lackey being used by an AFL club.

So I wouldnt care if MFC F***** off tomorrow and I might start to enjoy watching a real football club again.

BTW the way the MFC is going it will either be merged or fold well before Sandy will.

Nor is a bloke who has only played footy for 2 years.

Worth a shot. The only way Carroll will get close to containing either one of Brown or Bradshaw will be with the assistance of one Jared Rivers, at which point the remaining power forward will proceed to kick 12. This season isn't about winning games anymore (Although that would be nice) but about making sure that we are developing our next gen of players. Carroll is just too undersized to take on these forwards week in week out. Time to try something.

Martin on Bradshaw?! Arse holes will still be torn either way. It might as well be ones that have already been broken in.

NO way mate! The 4 flags won by teams with AFL hasbeens and wanabes have no where near the value thw the 4 won by SFC before the MFC alliance.
Personally I would rather be an honest struggling club than some lackey being used by an AFL club.

So I wouldnt care if MFC F***** off tomorrow and I might start to enjoy watching a real football club again.

BTW the way the MFC is going it will either be merged or fold well before Sandy will.
Get your hand off it you dud...

Every team goes through where Melbourne currently at, in 3 years we will be where hawthorn is providing we play the right cards... Its funny how morons like you love to kick a club when its down... Get a life and something useful to say you ignoramus!

Forgive the intrusion from another board, but I was at Box Hill today and thought Garland was pretty impressive.

Good to hear Garland was impressive. Where were they playing him?? Hopefully in the guts or up forward not down back where his been playing ones

Sorry to interrupt guys but this year is both depressing and exciting. depressing because our old hands are letting us down but have a look at what's coming through. Cale Morton will be a weapon. I'd like to Yze given one last chance on half forward he is one of our best passers and i know Robbo would appreciate the better delivery. I don't know what you guys reckon but if we're going to experiment i'd really like to see Jeff White have shot at FF. Newton i feel is a little slow but has a place up there somewhere. I reckon White is quick tall with a great leap the closest thig we have to a power forward. As for Brown and Bradshaw. Rivers on Bradshaw. There is only one man on our list who can match it with Brown for strength and thats Holland. I don't know what else we can do down back. We just need to win the midfield.

Bringing Dutchy in to play on Brown would only be going backwards, and while he may match him for strength, Brown would run him into the ground. Its time to look forward, Martin has size and weight (MFC almanac lists 198cm and 99kg; Frawley 193cm & 86kg), and while he's still new to the game, he has obviously shown something to be picked ahead of the much fancied Valenti. Give him a shot, see what he can do. The Basketball conversion worked with Pendlebury, why not Martin?