SANFL mini-draft

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy Bassett
Has South picked up Cockshell?

That is the word around the grapevine. I dont have it from a confirmed source though.

Confirmed by Ben Kavanagh from SAFC last Friday 19th Dec that Cockshell trained and signed with South

If one of the two SA clubs drafts a player from the SANFL, shouldn't that player count as that SANFL clubs selection in the mini-draft?

Ie why should West Adelaide get to keep Hartlett and pick up another player in the mini draft whereas another club who has a player drafted by an interstate club only gets the mini draft selection?

If one of the two SA clubs drafts a player from the SANFL, shouldn't that player count as that SANFL clubs selection in the mini-draft?

Ie why should West Adelaide get to keep Hartlett and pick up another player in the mini draft whereas another club who has a player drafted by an interstate club only gets the mini draft selection?

No way. The clubs develop the talent, they shouldn't get potentially punished for it.

I don't know if there's an official reason... But I can't see why a club should lose their mini-draft selection just because their junior development is good enough to produce players who get drafted into the AFL. By your logic, should clubs get an extra mini-draft pick if one of their players gets drafted to an interstate AFL side?

It's not like AFL listed players make a massive difference anyway. Centrals haven't really had many, if any, over the course of their dynasty. Half the time they juts do a Lonie/Reilly/Massie and bail on the finals anyway.

No way. The clubs develop the talent, they shouldn't get potentially punished for it.
It's a reward for producing an AFL talent.
It's a reward for producing AFL talent (which the SANFL club has control over) and a reward for having that player drafted by a South Australian club rather than an interstate club (which the SANFL club has no control over).

An SANFL club that has one of its players drafted to an interstate club doesn't get the same advantage.

I don't know if there's an official reason... But I can't see why a club should lose their mini-draft selection just because their junior development is good enough to produce players who get drafted into the AFL. By your logic, should clubs get an extra mini-draft pick if one of their players gets drafted to an interstate AFL side?
That's not a bad thought. A compensation pick for a player lost. That would really start rewarding the clubs that are producing the best talent :thumbsu:

At the moment the nuffy club who doesn't get any player drafted still gets a pick in the mini draft. So they are effectively one player ahead of where they were the season before. The club that develops a player good enough to be drafted loses one and gains one. They have effectively gone nowhere despite their good efforts in development.

Actually thought the same thing myself as I was typing it. I was trying to make a point, but it is actually quite sensible. Perhaps clubs should be a given a mini draft pick for each player they lose interstate, and then however many picks are left over can get distributed from there.

It definitely would make sense to do that
It rewards teams for producing draftable talent, instead of somewhat punishing them as most teams that produce draftable talent are up around the top of the ladder so therefore get given a lower pick in the mini draft, while the passenger teams come in and take the best available.
The mini draft could be in the order of quality of the player you have lost
So the team that loses a first round AFL draft pick (if Davis went interstate for example) would get the first pick then so on after that
If you don't even produce a rookie taken from an interstate team then you shouldn't really need (or necessarily deserve) a mini-draft pick as you'd have a relatively full list already

So for example, this year, the SANFL players to be drafted interstate (in order) were:

1. Lewis Johnston - North Adelaide
2. Ryan Schoenmakers - Norwood
3. Jack Redden - Glenelg
4. Rhys Stanley - West Adelaide
5. Rhys O'Keeffe - North Adelaide
6. Tyson Slattery - West Adelaide
7. Paul Cahill - Sturt
8. Chris Hall - Woodville-West Torrens
9. Adam Varcoe - Central Districts
10. Christian Bock - Woodville-West Torrens
11. Ben Speight - Norwood

So could the mini-draft order stay the same as the clubs of those players?:

1. North Adelaide
2. Norwood
3. Glenelg
4. West Adelaide
5. North Adelaide
6. West Adelaide
7. Sturt
8. Woodville-West Torrens
9. Central Districts
10. Woodville-West Torrens
11. Norwood

It's not like it would be a massive advantage to get a good pick, as I said in an earlier post it's rare for these players to have a significant impact on their SANFL club, but it would be some little on-field reward and compensation for producing draftable talent that is lost interstate.

Look at it another way sunshine in that on average Westies loose 4 players per season to interstate clubs. Not too many others do that.

I would have thought its more to do with the players themselves being happer back at their own club. Why make a player play for a different SANFL club than the one they played their whole junior career with.

Look at it another way sunshine in that on average Westies loose 4 players per season to interstate clubs. Not too many others do that.
I was just using Hamish Hartlett as an example mate! If Westies are getting heaps of players drafted then they are the ones who should get some players back in return.

I would have thought its more to do with the players themselves being happer back at their own club. Why make a player play for a different SANFL club than the one they played their whole junior career with.
No doubt. I'm not advocating sending a player drafted from an SANFL club to a different SANFL club. I'm saying that if you have the good fortune to have a draftee picked up by either the Crows or the Power then you shouldn't also get one of the interstate draftees aligned to you.

http://www.safc.com.au/html/news.html#2009_signings

Shaun McKernan (Adelaide Crows/Calder Cannons) - Ruck/Key position. Taken at pick 2 in the SANFL mini-draft the 195cm versatile key position prospect is a real positive for South for 2009. Shaun has the ability to step straight into SANFL and have an immediate impact.

I'm no sure how to take that, the wording seems unsure about his position. Hopefully they just stick him at CHF round 1 and just let him nut it out down there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy Bassett
Has South picked up Cockshell?

Confirmed by Ben Kavanagh from SAFC last Friday 19th Dec that Cockshell trained and signed with South

Nice:thumbsu: It would be nice if South ever updated its website, would make it worthwile logging on. Have you heard of Souths picking up anyone else JP?

http://www.safc.com.au/html/news.html#2009_signings

I'm no sure how to take that, the wording seems unsure about his position. Hopefully they just stick him at CHF round 1 and just let him nut it out down there.

Adam Cockshell (Port Power/Norwood) - Centre Half-forward. South Adelaide has recruited Adam with the expressed desire of holding down centre-half forward. An Athletic 195cm, the 22-year old can play back and pinch hit in the ruck, however it is as a forward target the Panthers feel he can make the most impact.

There goes that idea

I was just using Hamish Hartlett as an example mate! If Westies are getting heaps of players drafted then they are the ones who should get some players back in return.

No doubt. I'm not advocating sending a player drafted from an SANFL club to a different SANFL club. I'm saying that if you have the good fortune to have a draftee picked up by either the Crows or the Power then you shouldn't also get one of the interstate draftees aligned to you.

Mate I think in the end its much of a muchness, its just one of those things that evens out in the end, one year you might lose two players, the next though you might keep 3 players. Yes Westies were lucky this year with Hartlett, next year they might not be and its the same for every club, so in that respect its even and really just the luck of the draw. I'm sure they've probably thought of something like this, but in the end just decided that it wasn't worth the effort.

Nice:thumbsu: It would be nice if South ever updated its website, would make it worthwile logging on. Have you heard of Souths picking up anyone else JP?

only what the club stated but you probably got these already:

Lyons seems a good pick-up:

South Adelaide are pleased to announce the following player signings for the 2009 season:

"Mark Bradley (Formerly South Adelaide) - Ruck/Forward. The Chief returns to South after several years in Victoria where he played for Casey Scorpions and Noble Park. Versatile he should be able to play ruck or hold down a key position at either end of the ground.

Adam Cockshell (Port Power/Norwood) - Centre Half-forward. South Adelaide has recruited Adam with the expressed desire of holding down centre-half forward. An Athletic 195cm, the 22-year old can play back and pinch hit in the ruck, however it is as a forward target the Panthers feel he can make the most impact.

Andrew Moritz (Bute/North Adelaide) - Midfield. The former North Adelaide player has spent the past couple of seasons at Bute. Very keen to give it another go at SANFL level the strong bodied 25 year old is sure to be an important player in 2009

Jak Kennedy-Hunt (Werribee VFL/Geelong Falcons) - Half Forward/Half Back. A high-marking forward or defender Jak’s last two seasons have been impacted by injury and illness. Still only 20, South have Jak earmarked for a lead-up forward role who is sure to enjoy the wide open spaces of Hickinbotham oval.

Nathan Lyons (Williamstown VFL/Western Jets) - Midfield. A pacy midfielder Nathan did the 2008 pre-season with Melbourne but missed out on a rookie spot. At 20 years old he made his debut in the strong Williamstown line-up during the year, where his ball winning ability and defensive pressure were a highlight."

If any SANFL fans want to get decent news on their team there is a very good site on the internet which specialises in footy from SA. :p

Probably get more info from there than the official club sites.

Didn't realise Mozza has signed for South, I was a bit of a fan of his but not sure if he can cut it at League level. Hopefully he goes ok at beautiful Noarlunga.

Bradley and Cockshell are both good signings as well.