SANFL Round 12

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Adelaide should get him moved to a club desperate for ruckmen that will commit to play him at A grade level for the rest of the year unless required by the Crows.

Why should any SANFL club have to select someone in their League side when the player is obviously out of form?

I know he is coming back from injury but Meese needs to pull his finger out, show some form in the Reserves and prove he is up to playing in Norwood's senior side.

If he is half as good as some BigFooty posters think he is, that is not a hard ask.

Disgraceful that Meesen isn't playing Leagues. Ridiculous.

So you want Norwood to drop someone who has helped them win the last four games in a row for someone that right now hasn't done enough in the reserves to earn his spot? What a stupid comment.

Why should any SANFL club have to select someone in their League side when the player is obviously out of form?

I know he is coming back from injury but Meese needs to pull his finger out, show some form in the Reserves and prove he is up to playing in Norwood's senior side.

If he is half as good as some BigFooty posters think he is, that is not a hard ask.

Jesus Christ.

No-one is having a dig at Norwood.

Norwood have won four in a row, they shouldnt be obliged to change that line-up just to allow a crows player into the team.

What people are simply saying, is that John Meesen NEEDS TO BE playing SANFL footy if he is to develop further.

Why is that so hard to understand?

Jesus Christ.

No-one is having a dig at Norwood.

Norwood have won four in a row, they shouldnt be obliged to change that line-up just to allow a crows player into the team.

What people are simply saying, is that John Meesen NEEDS TO BE playing SANFL footy if he is to develop further.

Why is that so hard to understand?

I think it is a possibility Meesen will have to leave Norwood, however they need to find a club that will take him knowing there is a strng chance he will only play out the season and then leave. A spot will come up in the Norwood side and he will get back in soon enough. He fits in well there and likes the club so the Crows and him would be reluctant to move unless they had to.

Not true. Read through the thread again.

The suggestion that a SANFL team must select a AFL player in their League side and not their Reserves side regardless of their form is a ridiculous one.

This is exactly why the SANFL lovers and anti Crows reserves side people should just STFU about the Adelaide Crows not having a reserves side. They are dead right in saying Norwood has to do what is best for Norwood, that why the AFC should take the decision out of there hands and enter a reserves side.

If the AFC had a reserves side there would be no trouble at all. John Meesen would be playing in a SANFL senior and continue to push for senior AFL selection.

This is exactly why the SANFL lovers and anti Crows reserves side people should just STFU about the Adelaide Crows not having a reserves side. They are dead right in saying Norwood has to do what is best for Norwood, that why the AFC should take the decision out of there hands and enter a reserves side.

If the AFC had a reserves side there would be no trouble at all. John Meesen would be playing in a SANFL senior and continue to push for senior AFL selection.

I was waiting for someone to bring that point up.

As much as a few people would like Crows and Power Reserves sides in the SANFL, the reality is that it won't happen.

The easier solution is for Crows and Power players to earn their spot at their SANFL club. Hopefully John Meesen plays a ripper in the Norwood Reserves tonight and makes himself an automatic selection for the Norwood League team next week.

As much as a few people would like Crows and Power Reserves sides in the SANFL, the reality is that it won't happen.

The easier solution is for Crows and Power players to earn their spot at their SANFL club. Hopefully John Meesen plays a ripper in the Norwood Reserves tonight and makes himself an automatic selection for the Norwood League team next week.

I agree - if they aren't good enough to break into their respective SANFL side how the hell are they going to be good enough to play for us ?

The voices of reason! All the Norwood Football Club would be asking is for Meese to put in at reserves level and earn his spot back. Also all it would really take is an injury to Nicholas or DeJongh and Meesen would be right back in contention. Another note I don't see Port fans having a whinge that Hugh Minson has been playing reserves all year.

So you want Norwood to drop someone who has helped them win the last four games in a row for someone that right now hasn't done enough in the reserves to earn his spot? What a stupid comment.

Agreed. Norwood are entitled to pick their best side. I would think Meese nees one more week in the ressies at least.

This is exactly right, young Messe cant just walk up and demand a spot in the League side without earning 1, but he will get back soon IMO and will be fighting for the back up ruck spot. Now all this talk about Norwood being the form team.... give me a break !!!! We are 2 games clear in 2nd spot and are the only side to have beat the Doggies.... cant really have much better form than that Drum mate. I do remember what happened at Unley and that was very very painful, it wont happen again, we will get up by a couple of goals I believe. Both sides do play a very good style of footy with lots of run and 2 big targets up forward in Brant and Vlatko ( I cant believe I just said that). Last week showed we dont need a major contribution from Chambers to win a game so guys, youre gonna have to stop more than him !!!

Yeah I wouldnt mind having a look at my mate Polly who unfortunately plays for Norwood :p, but from all reports is having a reasonable season.

Well said homie. Add the fact that Norwood are cruising along at the moment and playing good football, it is even harder to get into their side.. at the beginning of the year I'd imagine Meese would have walked in with ease. It's up to the big fella to have a red hot go in the ressies, put in a good performance and force his way into the Legs team.

Just about to scoot over to Norwood to see Sturt win by 45 points.. wonder how the ressies went.. roosterlad I think me and ST are gonna hunt down Drummond and slap him, wish you were there.

The Doggies have had this problem with AFL recruits before with the Power.

Bowen Lockwood and Jacob Surjan... obviously never earned regular league spots with Centrals, the Power had a bitch-fest and the next thing you know they're at the Magpies.

Guys like Stuart Cochrane, Brad Symes, Justin Westhoff... all earned their stripes before progressing to the AFL ranks of the Power, didn't have it handed to them on a silver platter.

Roy Laird, Peter Jonas, Alistair Clarkson... none of them tolerated silver-spoon mentalities.

Hold on - that is a really naive point of view. We've seen a dozen times in the past (including Neil Craig doing in the early days, when he was an SANFL coach) when the SANFL local league coach, wanting short term success and job security, has chosen to play a reliable and solid veteran in the league team instead of the younger player that we know needs game time.

SANFL teams have NO reason to care about our future success, so ensuring the players get time on field playing the position that we want them to play is meaningless to them. They need short term rewards.

I'm heading over to the parade after I get home from work tomorrow with a few mates, should be a tight tussel but I'd say Sturt will prevail by about 45 points. Norwood will show their true wooden-spoon-like colours sooner or later. :thumbsu:

Sturt 15.15 (105)
Wooden spooners 5.15 (45)

Not far off with my tip

*waits for Drummond*