SANFL Round 14

Of course. ;) :p

Pfeiffer, Campbell and Jericho are all certain starters for Norwood. Meesen is named on a bench of 5. It's getting ridiculous now, he must play.

Surely after last he would have to play. Hope Jezza has a decent day, or at least puts in more effort than what he did at Westies.

As for Griff, I expect him to have a quiet 1 funnily enough, unless he plays up forward next to the 'berg (who plays in the pocket !!!). It will be interesting to see how much time he spends in the ruck. Hope Sellar has a big game.

I wouldn’t expect a big day from James Sellar today; the conditions will not suit him. Jonathon griffin should win the hit outs and have a good day if he can become a link man, but over head marking will be very difficult today (and tonight)

Richard Douglas should revel in the wet conditions today and have another big day.

Does anyone know if Meesen is playing in the Magoo at prospect today or the league game? If it’s the magoos, I guess he will be heading to Richmond Road Monday afternoon. This could easily be an omen of things to come

I wouldn’t expect a big day from James Sellar today; the conditions will not suit him. Jonathon griffin should win the hit outs and have a good day if he can become a link man, but over head marking will be very difficult today (and tonight)

Richard Douglas should revel in the wet conditions today and have another big day.

It's tomorrow dude.

It’s still going to be cold and wet tomorrow, nothing will change expect the day on the calendar dude.

Slightly better weather tomorrow. Anyway, I was merely pointing out that you had your days mixed up :)

McIntyre, Meesen, Pfeiffer and Gill were average. Gill was the pick of those 3 though.

Jericho and Campbell were the best of the Crows in today's game. I even saw Jericho get dirty hunting the hard ball :eek:
Stiffy, what position did Jericho play?

Jericho backed out of about 20 contests today, nothing new there. Did some nice stuff though through traffic, and had quite good foot skills considering the conditions. Was perhaps in our best half dozen.

Bryce Campbell was freaking brilliant, especially in the first half. BOG.

I dont see any reason as to why we won't keep Campbell on the list, he was effing brilliant today.

Meesen showed why he isn't ready to come into the crows line-up yet. Still, I'm in no doubt that if he plays league for the next 3 or 4 weeks he'll just keep getting better and better

We may have a couple of vacancies next week, so it is important the guys in the SANFL keep performing. Hopefully Douglas has another BOG effort for the Bays tomorrow. How will Griffin react to being dropped & Ivan's game tonight?

Bryce Campbell was easily the Legs best player today. He had 16 possessions in the first half, including 11 in the second quarter. He finished with 24 possessions, 5 marks, and kicked 1.3. His work around the stoppages was great and his tackling was again a highlight. A few more matches like these and he’ll be in the Crows team before too long.

Darren Pfeiffer started on the HFF but struggled to have an impact. Had only 6 possessions to half time and was then switched to the backline in the second half. Had 9 disposals in the second half where he looked a little more comfortable. I’m not sure why but he’s been below par this season and he’s not taking charge of matches like he should. He’s chipping in with 15-20 touches per game but he’s not having too much of an impact. Has the talent but he’s idling right now.

John Meesen came off the bench in all four quarters and played about 65% of the game. He only had 7 possessions and 2 marks and was virtually a non-factor around the ground. He did go back with courage into two huge packs in the first quarter which was a good sign. He found a lot of space but the ball movement from Norwood was rather poor and he was often ignored. I was impressed with his ruckwork and he gave first use of the ball to the midfielders on quite a few occasions. Would’ve had 10+ hit-outs in what was an acceptable first league game of the year in which he’ll look to build on in the next few weeks. Overall a quiet game.

It’s still hard to consider Luke Jericho as a Norwood player but he had 20 possessions and 5 marks and played across the HFF and through the midfield. On the whole he had good skills given the conditions and with a bit of luck could’ve finished with 2 or 3 goals. He was uncommitted in half a dozen contests though but I realise that will never change and you have to just look at what else he brings to a team. Pretty good game from Luke.

Darren Pfeiffer started on the HFF but struggled to have an impact. ....... Has the talent but he’s idling right now.

John Meesen . He only had 7 possessions and 2 marks and was virtually a non-factor around the ground. ...... I was impressed with his ruckwork and he gave first use of the ball to the midfielders on quite a few occasions. ..... Overall a quiet game.

It’s still hard to consider Luke Jericho as a Norwood player .......He was uncommitted in half a dozen contests though but I realise that will never change and you have to just look at what else he brings to a team. Pretty good game from Luke.

Pfeiffer is a disappointment IMO. He has oodles of talent but he's not dominating games as he should be. I just hope we haven't wasted another good pick on a talented lad that doesn't want it enough.

Which brings us to Meesen. Drummond, his work at boundary throw-ins is terrible - nothing short of terrible. I wish I knew what goes on in his head, because of our 3 young ruckmen, he seems to have gone backwards while the other 2 have developed nicely.

Jericho - same old Jericho. Plenty of talent, does some nice things, but some appalling non-efforts on occasions which is his trademark and downfall.

It was interesting to watch the game, but somewhat disappointing at the same time for the above reasons.

I only watched the first 3 terms but from what I saw

Meesen - Although spent major time on the bench was pretty ordinary. As previously stated his boundary throw in work was nothing short of terrible. Centre bounces and ballups he wasn't bad. Not the best conditions for him however.

Pfieffer - Ordinary. Real ordinary. Is it just me or does he look a bit overweight? I've seen him play some good games, but he's not really doing a whole lot at the moment.

Jericho - Jericho is Jericho. Will always be Jericho. Some soft efforts mixed in with some nice skills. Yeh, above average.

Gill - From what I saw he was very good. He was everywhere. Took some nice grabs, his kicking left a lot to be desired, but the conditions should be taken into account. I thought he played a very good game.

Campbell - Brilliant, BOG. I haven't seen a lot of him, but I was very impressed today. He's Mr.110%. He runs hard, he tackles, chases and does all the hard things. Compliments this with some nice skills. I like him. Officially on the Bryce bandwagon :thumbsu:

Pfeiffer is a disappointment IMO. He has oodles of talent but he's not dominating games as he should be. I just hope we haven't wasted another good pick on a talented lad that doesn't want it enough.
I agree, but let's not forget Pfeiffer is still a teenager and he’s had a pretty tough time of it this year. Had a good pre-season basically wiped out literally by some random idiot at a friends party. Then when he was playing some good footy he came down with glandular fever.

But without doubt he’s been below what I’ve expected this year. Probably averaging about 16 odd possessions playing in a handful of positions but he’s not dominating which he needs to start doing. I don’t think it’s too wise to throw him from one position to another in every quarter. I wonder who has the final say on where Pfeiffer plays? Because the Crows should know that his best position is as a wingman and he should be left there to develop his game. At the moment he’s starting across the HFF and often finds himself down in defence in the second half. He just can’t get settled.

Which brings us to Meesen. Drummond, his work at boundary throw-ins is terrible - nothing short of terrible. I wish I knew what goes on in his head, because of our 3 young ruckmen, he seems to have gone backwards while the other 2 have developed nicely.
Fair call macca. He’s too easily out-bodied and pushed out of the way. I felt his ruckwork at centre bounces was quite good today and even at stoppages around the ground. Was impressed with his leap at times too. Conditions didn’t favour the big men and I’m sure he’ll find more of the ball in the next few weeks. But without doubt his strength at ruck contests is a worry.

What did you think of Bryce? BOG for mine.

Fair dinkum mate I was EXTREMELY impressed by him today. He's strong, quicker than you give him credit for :)p), he tackles damn hard, absolutely bull-at-a-gate in everything and has sublime skills. I have no doubt if given the chance he will be a quality player for the AFC and if what I saw today is the Bryce Campbell we can expect, the club would be completely stupid to delist him.

As for Pfeiffer he disappointed me again today. I'm not going to say too much about it because he's gotten a lot of praise from a lot of people; there has to be something there and these are the only two FULL games I've seen from him after all. However, watching him play (and it pains me to say this) I don't know whether he looks like he's hungry enough. Just seems to float around a bit at times. Then again...glandular fever, king-hit at a party....see if he steps it up from here.
Yep that most certainly IS the Bryce Campbell that comes to play every day. That’s why all us Norwood fans want him to succeed so badly as he is such a committed player who never gives in. His attack on each and every contest is tremendous and he also has neat foot skills and deft skills by hand. And as you saw today he kicked that goal from 45 metres and the ball sailed through comfortably; he has a very penetrating, long kick.

In regards to Pfeiffer, I agree and I’m not afraid to deny it. He does look a little slack out there at times and he needs to push himself harder and get to more contests. I don’t know what his fitness levels are like but he just needs to continue to run and present. When he gets the ball he generally uses it well and he’s a classy player, but he must work harder because he has the talent to dominate.

Drummond if anyone has had Glandular fever ......even a mild case is going to wreck your fitness base and importantly stamina.

I wouldn't be expecting too much from the lad ...be grateful he's even playing

Had a chat to Darren last night, said he's still struggling a little bit but he went on to say that was no excuse for yesterday...... "plain useless" to use his own words. Also I think hes a bit worried about his spot on the list, admitted he hasnt done enough even when fit.

SANFL Round 14