Veteran Pantskyle NFL Mock Draft Participant Armchair Endzone Participant
Port Adelaide
Round 17

Saturday 17 July 2010

Central v Norwood @ Hamra Homes (Elizabeth) - ABC-TV
In a top of table clash, Jack Gunston has survived a potential cull and has been named once again at Centre Half Forward for Brucetiki's beloved Bulldogs. Maybe the smaller ground and boggy conditions were not to his liking last week, hopefully the bigger ground and solid surface will aid his game this week.

Will Young has once again been named forward, on a flank to be exact. There could be a greater chance he stays forward this week with Centrals naming a small, quick forward line. Will does have the quickness to play on a smaller opponent if required. Could he end up playing on Gunner? This is the ABC game but I expect a live report from -CG- and full wrap by Brucetiki, Drummond and Punchy Bassett post game. :D

Sturt v North @ House Brothers Oval
Aidan Riley solidified his position in the 21 with a solid performance for the Double Blues. Would probably go down as one of Adelaide's big improvers for 2010 and looks a legitimate inside midfielder of the future. Brodie Martin seems to have claimed the spot on the wing he commanded last season. After a good return to league action last week, Brodie will be looking to string some quality games together in an effort to put his name up for an AFL promotion, should injury arise. Gold Coast-bound U18's phenom Sam Day is named in the Sturt Reserves team for any interested observers.

Matt Wright resumes in his usual position of 2010, the Forward Pocket. It was good to see some highlights of last weeks game as he has really flown under the radar for most part this season. Tony Armstrong returns to SANFL action and will continue on where he left off, stationed on the Half Back Flank. He will no doubt be a welcome addition for the ***** and if it weren't for McLeod and Mackay returning, he would surely be lining up tonight against the Cats. Maybe Riggy will be out at this game and no doubt many of you will be looking forward to his review. ;)

Port v Glenelg @ Alberton Oval
James Sellar comes straight into the Glenelg league line up. He is named on the interchange bench and will look to get a spell in the ruck at about the 15 minute mark at each quarter. Glenelg have a fairly tall line up, so it remains to be seen whether Jimmy gets some time either forward or back in a key position.

Eagles v South @ Woodville Oval

Knights - Thompson - Burton - an all AFC deep forward line

Chris Knights has recovered from blurry vision to maintain his spot in the Eagles lineup. He looked very rusty last week but I get a feeling this week will net different results. Luke Thompson will try to exorcise the demons of last week's performance by inflicting goal damage on the Panthers. He has the job at Full Forward. Brett Burton has made a miraculous recovery from what looked to be a serious injury just before halftime of last week's game. He will get another crack at trying to get some substantial playing time under his belt. A common sight circa 2003-2004, Nathan Bock returns from injury and has been handed his customary Centre Half Back post for the Eagles this Saturday. You would think one solid run and performance by Bocky will get him consideration for a Showdown recall. Jarrhan Jacky continues to toil away in the Reserves. Good chance he sticks around after his shower to watch his fellow AFC teammates in action and maybe even buy a ticket for the Eagles raffle.

Shaun McKernan after starting like a bull out of gate last week, has been named at Full Forward for a Panthers team that is really struggling at the moment. Ben Grieger is named on him at this stage. Maybe Bocky will pick SMACK up if he plays further down the ground than his usual goal square area. Myke Cook gets a game this week, much to Drummond's delight. He is penciled in at Centre and will look to spend a good portion of the game through the midfield and at stoppages. Just gotta tidy up that disposal Myke! Seven Crows are featured in this match, could have been eight, had Petrenko not been injured last week.

Bye
West (Schmidt, Porplyzia)

Sorry, no Punchy eyewitness this weekend, the discussion with the significant other who isn't a footy girl started like this:

"What do you mean you can't catch up Saturday arvo, the Crows are playing Friday night, which means you are free Saturday."

Sigh. :(

Sorry, no Punchy eyewitness this weekend, the discussion with the significant other who isn't a footy girl started like this:

"What do you mean you can't catch up Saturday arvo, the Crows are playing Friday night, which means you are free Saturday."

Sigh. :(

Just a blatant lack of understanding, really isn't it.

Actually to be honest she is pretty understanding about it all really, lots of Norwood games have been Sunday/Friday nights this year.

Anyway back to the footy, COME ON YOU LEGS! I believe if we win this we are top of the ladder, I can't remember the last time we were top, then again I can't remember the last time we have been anywhere the top three this deep into a season!

Round 17

Matt Wright resumes in his usual position of 2010, the Forward Pocket. Maybe Riggy will be out at this game and no doubt many of you will be looking forward to his review. ;)

Jarrhan Jacky continues to toil away in the Reserves. Good chance he sticks around after his shower to watch his fellow AFC teammates in action and maybe even buy a ticket for the Eagles raffle.

My favourite bits! :D Jacky has a better chance at winning the raffle than being on the list next year. ;)

Hopefully the Legs get up and Youngy played a beauty, Thompson responds and my man Cooky has a ripping game. :)

Anyway back to the footy, COME ON YOU LEGS! I believe if we win this we are top of the ladder, I can't remember the last time we were top, then again I can't remember the last time we have been anywhere the top three this deep into a season!
Unlikely to go top, unless they give Centrals a mother of a hiding.

Centrals have a percentage of 56.34%, compared to Norwood's 53.59%. Centrals also have a game in hand, having played 13 games to Norwood's 14.

Still, it's a far cry from where the Redlegs were at the start of the season - hot tip for the wooden spoon after copping the salary cap penalties.:thumbsu:

Gunston kicked 2 for the Dogs. Didn't get to watch all that much of the game but he was relatively quiet otherwise.

Oh and up yours Norwood - got a free ride from the umps and still got beaten (and had a massive sook at the end).

Gunston finished with 6 kicks, 3 marks, 2 goals, 1 free against and 2 tackles. He had next to no impact on the game besides his two goals. One was from a snap in the fourth and the other from a set shot in the second. He started the third term on the bench and didn't manage to get a stat in defence when he came on.

For Norwood Will Young gathered 13 kicks, 4 handballs, 6 marks and 2 tackles. He spent a bit of time on Havelberg who was looking dangerous and probably had the better of Will. He got a couple of cheapish possessions chipping the around in defence but I thought his disposal was good when he directed the ball up the ground. He got caught behind in the mark a couple of times in the second half but otherwise he had a reasonable game.

Gunston kicked 2 for the Dogs. Didn't get to watch all that much of the game but he was relatively quiet otherwise.

Oh and up yours Norwood - got a free ride from the umps and still got beaten (and had a massive sook at the end).

Summed up Gunstan's game well there. He kicked two goals but was otherwise quiet, but still improved from his shocker last week which is good to see.

And 100% agree with you on the second paragraph - I didn't think I'd see a worse umpiring display after last night's game but Tony Dey managed to top that. Tony Dey was Norwood's best player.

Gunston finished with 6 kicks, 3 marks, 2 goals, 1 free against and 2 tackles. He had next to no impact on the game besides his two goals. One was from a snap in the fourth and the other from a set shot in the second. He started the third term on the bench and didn't manage to get a stat in defence when he came on.

For Norwood Will Young gathered 13 kicks, 4 handballs, 6 marks and 2 tackles. He spent a bit of time on Havelberg who was looking dangerous and probably had the better of Will. He got a couple of cheapish possessions chipping the around in defence but I thought his disposal was good when he directed the ball up the ground. He got caught behind in the mark a couple of times in the second half but otherwise he had a reasonable game.
Gunston kicked 2 but did nothing.

Young struggled early, but had a terrific third quarter. He was starting to provide a ton of rebound in the third term and I was surprised by how good his skills were, his skills by foot were excellent. :thumbsu: Struggled against Havelberg though, got caught on the lead a bit but I thought his second half was pretty good. Would've liked to see him push further up the ground because his run was important, and for large parts of the match he was stuck in the goalsquare.

An 8 point loss despite not playing very well, and missing Weatherald and having the influential Campbell injured early, not too bad.

Wright was good today, kicked our first and put his body in despite being targeted a numbe rof times.

Armstrong is an excellent kick when out in space but ****ing hell he is pathetically soft. REFUSES to put his body in, then when he does go in hard and wins a holding the ball free instead of kicking the ball forwards he tries to dance around the man on the mark and ****s it up.

Bock was excellent at CHB. I think I heard on the radio he racked up 26 touches. Didn't miss a beat and ready to replace Rutten in the Crows next week.

Knights was much improved on last week (not that that would've been hard). He did well, but still looked a little rusty and I think he went off half way through the last with some sort of leg injury. He didn't return.

Burton didn't play.

McKernan was reasonable.

Bock was excellent at CHB. I think I heard on the radio he racked up 26 touches. Didn't miss a beat and ready to replace Rutten in the Crows next week.

Knights was much improved on last week (not that that would've been hard). He did well, but still looked a little rusty and I think he went off half way through the last with some sort of leg injury. He didn't return.

Burton didn't play.

McKernan was reasonable.
1. Knights injured? Please no.

2. No word on Cook? Probably not a good thing, although... ;) :D

Unless Truck is injured, absolutely no way he'll be out of team next week.

Good to hear Bock had a great game, but given our form last night there's no need to bring him in, simply because there is no one to drop. It's not arrogance, it's reward for good performance against a fantastic side. Let Bock have another run with the Eagles.

Unless Truck is injured, absolutely no way he'll be out of team next week.

Good to hear Bock had a great game, but given our form last night there's no need to bring him in, simply because there is no one to drop. It's not arrogance, it's reward for good performance against a fantastic side. Let Bock have another run with the Eagles.

Its a tough one certainly, its a choice between him and Stevens and after Scott's last couple of weeks i would give Bock another run in the SANFL. Although i wouldn't be surprised if Stevens' errors by foot cost him, interesting selection week. As long as Davis, Sloane, Henderson, and Jaensch all hold there spots i'll be happy.

Knights injured again is not a good thing, maybe wrap him in cotton wool till the pre-season. Henderson has his spot atm, and Jaensch has Porps'.

No way will Rutten will get dropped.

Probably best leaving the jokes to Carl. I assume you were joking with your suggestion that Rutten might be dropped?

Jimmy Sellar played a solid game for the Bays today, was hard at the footy and had plenty of it. Really used his body well in contests, stringing some good performances together now. Unfortunately no room for him at Adelaide atm, happy to keep him at the Bay for now!

I highly doubt Stevens will be dropped after the game against Geelong. He played really well (had a few shocking kicks) but saved a few goals as well and provided a bit of run out of the backline when he was a free man which was damaging. He does not get dropped when he is in poor form so I cant see him getting dropped in good form.

Stevens did alot of good things and a couple of horrendous things. Having said that I would be comfortable replacing him with Bock.

The reason i say this is because i believe Bock will go to CHB and provide a level of run that Davis and Stevens can't. Davis could then go to 3rd tall and play a role as loose man in defence. I believe wih his reading of the game, marking ability, accurate disposal, and composure under pressure, Davis was born to play this position and would do it far better than Stevens.

No doubt this is a tough decision, but if we are aiming for finals we MUST have bock in the side now.

IMHO it is Davis and Stevens who are playing for the same spot in the side.

If Bocky looked quite fit and ran the game out hard... put him in for Stevens.

He will either excel against a slightly weaker opponent this week (relative to Satins/Pies/Dogs who we have later...) and he stays in for the benefit of the club (he is better than Stevens when up and about - no one questions that do they?) or he can't perform and Stevens is straight back in the week after.

Its a tough one. You can see Craigy's head turning it over in his mind and finding a youngster to drop.... and in some ways given he has to manage those players you can appreciate how its easier to drop Davis say, explaining that Stevens has earnt his spot in the side after years of service. But none of us want to see that.... do we?