SANFL Round 23

betterthanu

Ill just post the article from AFC.COM.AU
Only a handful of Crows will be involved in the last minor round of SANFL league action this weekend.

Bryce Campbell and Taylor Walker have been named to play for Norwood in Sunday’s clash at the Bay, while Ken McGregor and Jared Patrenko will be important players for the Eagles as they seek to hold their spot in the top five with a win over Port at Alberton.

Greg Gallman will be at full back for North, which ends its season with an away game against West Adelaide. Brent Reilly, named as an emergency for the Crows, will play for Sturt at Elizabeth on Saturday night if not required at AFL level.

Rookie James Moss (Central), James Sellar, Ed Curnow (Glenelg), Jarrhan Jacky (Eagles) and Brodie Martin (Sturt) will play in the reserves this weekend.

Tails said Walker was going to miss so he must be playing with some form of injury. Kite still injured but was supposed to be back. You would think he would come straight back in if Norwood make the finals.

Pretty intense round of football this one. Lets just hope the boys in the reserves have great games to push for senior finals selection.

Has the AFC ruled Trent Hentschel out for the season?

His hamstring injury is taking a long time to get over or has he done it again or some other leg injury?

Listed as TBC on the AFC's injury report this week. Presumably he's still not recovered from the latest hamstring injury.

A couple of weeks back Craig was saying that he wanted to see Hentschell play some SANFL games & finals.

However WWT may start to see Hentschell as too much of a risk to play in their finals teams?

That's a definite maybe.

Regardless of whether it's the same injury or not....Trent wouldn't on the AFC's radar this year. You don't bring players who have missed 2 years of football into finals campaigns.....or did you mean rule him out of further SANFL action?

As you said, he has missed 2 years of football so any football is good football.

Eagles Vs Port will be a beauty with the winner making the finals and the loser just missing out. Alternatively if they have a draw and Norwood lose, then they both make the finals and Norwood miss out!

Norwood really F***ed themselves up - I thought for sure they would make the finals a few weeks ago.

Oh well... should be used to it I guess :(

Somehow please win today Leggies..... please..... :p

Ah yes I just saw the SANFL ladder.

Legs can still finish 5th even if they lose - as long as Eagles v port isnt a draw.

Hmmm... whats the bet it'll be a draw.... :mad:

Norwood really F***ed themselves up - I thought for sure they would make the finals a few weeks ago.

Oh well... should be used to it I guess :(

Somehow please win today Leggies..... please..... :p

Isn’t this the final round of SANFL football?

So unless Port and Eagles draw (both being on 18 points and playing each other) – Norwood will make the finals being on 19 points, a draw between Port and Eagles will push Norwood out as they have insufficient percentage between the 3 sides.

Edit - as said by jackster83 yesterday.

Crows suporters, your time is now.

Same as last year all aboard the Glenelg Band Wagon!

The tram arrives @ Challenge Recruitment Oval at 2pm today.

Win today and we finish top.

All aboard!

Walker was pretty disappointing for the third consecutive week. He seems to be struggling a bit and I’d say he’s exhausted from a long and taxing season. His first quarter was good and he was playing further up the ground. He won a fair few possessions, probably about half a dozen and his work rate was impressive. His second quarter was also good as he again won a bit of the ball and kicked an impressive goal from about 25 out as a result of smart reading of the play.

However I’ve become a bit concerned with his real lack of physical presence. I don’t think he’s taken a contested mark all season. Now he’s more in the Fevola mould which means contested marking isn’t his strength but he almost avoids physical contact. When involved in one on one contests, even against players much smaller than he is, he tries to out maneuver his man as opposed to just trust his strength to outmark them. I’m a tad worried. Now I’m sure I’ll get bagged, nothing new there, but he needs to accept that he’ll get hit and take the hits. It’s hard to explain, but those who see him often would understand. He just needs to embrace the contest and be more determined that the ball will only be his.

He made some poor mistakes today, often as a result of trying to do too much and take on too many players. He got caught holding the ball a few times from trying to take on a few too many tacklers and a few of his handballs were really sloppy and resulted in turnovers, one a crucial goal in the last term. There’s no doubting his talent, he takes a beautiful mark and did so a few times today, and his smartness around goals is exactly what we need. His work rate has improved as the season wore on and he’s now starting to find more of the ball, at the expense of his goal tally though. When he gets both to a high level he’ll then be ready. In the meantime he needs to get stronger, learn to not shy away from physical contact and know not to do too much.

Bryce Campbell had a great first half and won a lot of the ball. His tackling was great, disposal pretty damaging especially to the leading forwards and as usual his attack on the ball was first rate. He was quiet in the third term and looked to go down awkwardly after he kicked a ball into forward fifty. He got up but looked a bit sore. Actually, he looked a bit sore all day but that’s nothing new. He spent the entire last quarter on the bench with what looked like an ankle injury. Not sure the severity of the injury but I will be shattered if he misses next week. Bryce has never played in a final for Norwood so I’m sure he’ll be doing everything he can to be fit. I wonder what the Crows stance on his injury will be; I’m pretty certain he will be delisted so I would hate to see them hold him back from playing if it’s a line ball decision…

Bit harsh on Walker Drumm. He's certainly not a pack marker, but I've seen him take some fairly decent one on one grabs.

Looking forward to two belters (quite literally in the case of the Gowans thugs) of finals next week:thumbsu:

Bit harsh on Walker Drumm. He's certainly not a pack marker, but I've seen him take some fairly decent one on one grabs.

Looking forward to two belters (quite literally in the case of the Gowans thugs) of finals next week:thumbsu:
The kid’s an exceptional talent, will be one heck of a player there’s no doubting that. He has the footy nous, the skills and the required arrogance to be a great player for a long time. But as I said, and it’s something that has been slightly bothering me for a little while now, he needs to be a bit tougher and attack each contest with a bit more determination. He’s 18, would be tiring after a long season, but hopefully over the summer he gets a bit stronger and comes back willing to crash a few more packs and really attack each contest with a bit more vigor. That’s all, no major problem but probably the only issue I have with him at this stage.

What a shit weekend. Crows lost. Eagles Lost. Shattered.

However, I did get a little excited when I saw a young Jarred Petrenko collect the ball on the back pocket, have two bounces, hand ball, gets it back, has another 2 bounces and does a brilliant kick into our 50. Was a sight to behold. Maccas replacement IMO.

Kenny was solid, perhaps the last time we ever see him in WWT colours

1. Glenelg 32 (16-4)
2. Sturt 30 (15-5)
3. Centrals 28 (14-6)
4. Port 20 (10-10)
5. Norwood 19 (9-10-1)

6. WWT 18 (9-11)
7. North 18 (9-11)
8. South 11 (5-14-1)
9. West 4 (2-18)

... However, I did get a little excited when I saw a young Jarred Petrenko collect the ball on the back pocket, have two bounces, hand ball, gets it back, has another 2 bounces and does a brilliant kick into our 50. Was a sight to behold. ...
Saw that. :thumbsu:

a brilliant kick into our 50. Was a sight to behold. Maccas replacement IMO.

Kenny was solid, perhaps the last time we ever see him in WWT colours

with potentially Biggles and Skipworth playing next year - I reckon kenny could hang around