Kings Army

Suspended
Who was the better player??

Both run and carry players that could break lines and kick the ball long and accurate.

Schwass played 282 games has 1 premiership medal, 1 AA and 3 B&F's.
Long played 190 games has 2 premiship medals, 1 AA and a norm smith.

Why bother?

Bigfooty refuses to aknowledge Long was a gun wingman who's career in the middle was ruined by his knees and then turned himself into a very clever forward.

All those little taps and stuff Cyril and co. do now that have people wetting themselves were done by Long but people called him soft for it.

Long is a great player and muppets on here pick one incident and claim thats the be all and end all of his career.

Have a look at the footage from a different angle to the one on youtube, Long turns at the last second and its only at the last second the Melbourne bloke fully puts his head over the ball.

Why bother?

Bigfooty refuses to aknowledge Long was a gun wingman who's career in the middle was ruined by his knees and then turned himself into a very clever forward.

All those little taps and stuff Cyril and co. do now that have people wetting themselves were done by Long but people called him soft for it.

Long is a great player and muppets on here pick one incident and claim thats the be all and end all of his career.

Have a look at the footage from a different angle to the one on youtube, Long turns at the last second and its only at the last second the Melbourne bloke fully puts his head over the ball.

Why bother with this poll?? Thought they were 2 very good wingmen in the 90's and not much between them.

If not for Long, Essendon would not have beat Adelaide in the 93 prelim, and what he did in the GF against Carlton just capped it off.

So Long for me.

Schwass. One of the best users of the ball i've ever seen

Schwass was a star, he won all his B&Fs in strong teams. One of the most underated players of the last 20 years. Longs career was wrecked by injury so never became the player he looked like he would in the 93 finals. North might've won another flag in 98 if Schwass didn't go to Sydney, he was a better player than Shannon Grant when North were in their premiership window.

Long had 3 Knee reconstructions, how good could have he been?
watching Lovett carve things up was like watching Long all over again, just reminded me of how damaging Long was.

Long was just a delight to watch.
Both wonderful players.

Probably a good poll. Schwass was a great wingman, wonderful user of the ball and was hard as well. Long the quicker probably more flashy player.

Personally, I'd take Schwass, but Long's 93 finals series was electric. Wonder how good he could have been without the knee injuries.

Excellent poll. I'll say Schwatt only because Long was cruelled by injuries - Schwatter has the runs on the board.

Long got loads of hype as he was the First Indigenous Player To Play The Game after Kevin Sheedy Invented Indigenous Footballers.

But he was a gun too.

Ciggie paper in it.

I would take Schwass's career -he was very good for a long time but Long at his peak.
I have seen 4 essendon flags and no player had anywhere the influence on us winning a flag that Long did in 93. It wasn't so much the Norm Smith but we would not have even played in the GF but for Long's amazing second half in the preliminary.

Long had 3 Knee reconstructions, how good could have he been?
watching Lovett carve things up was like watching Long all over again, just reminded me of how damaging Long was.

Long was just a delight to watch.
Both wonderful players.
Agree with all of that.
Pretty hard to take Long's record over Schwass', but both gun players & enjoyable to watch.
Schwass a bit more 'classical', Long far more inventive. Best swerve/sidestep I've seen, wrong-footed everyone.
Lost too many of his very best years.

{ps :o floggish North flogs not being flogs!!! Amaze}

It does shit me that Long gets so much kudos for being the indigenous ground breaker when the only reason he was selected was because Phil Krakoeur had carved Essendon up one night and Sheedy suddenly worked out blackfellas could play a bit.

But that’s isn’t Long’s fault and I’m not going to hold it against him, especially given the excellent work he’s done off the field over the years.

Pfffft, I'm disappointed Lefty.

You make out as if he shelved a career in cosmetic surgery to care for the sick and dying.

You put it well before.

My read is that by that stage we were still a very stodgy, traditional, (white), conservative power, whereas North (/Richmond) probably had fewer really ingrained powerbrokers, were a younger club & were more easily able to shift with the times.

What he did (more importantly, the increasing numbers in which he did it through the 90s) was groundbreaking for us, but it wasn't the "first" it has often been implied.

Nah, fair's fair mate. Long's a decent bloke and I'm not going put shit on him coz Sheedy is a self promoting history rewriting idiot.

excellent poll. These one's that really make you think are exactly what this board is for, and it actually engenders rational and intelligent debate.

2 excellent players, I went with Long but it's probably just cos I loved the guy so much. Had some issues around the tribunal which probably counts against him

excellent poll. These one's that really make you think are exactly what this board is for, and it actually engenders rational and intelligent debate.

2 excellent players, I went with Long but it's probably just cos I loved the guy so much. Had some issues around the tribunal which probably counts against him

I thought this would end up very close to 50/50. Schwass gets my vote just - his 2 B&F for the Roos came in 94 & 95 - we had a very good team in both years and made the last 4 in both years. Also with an extra 120 odd games Schwass was fortunate not to have the serious injuries Long had. He also was no saint on the field - missed the 97 Prelim for kicking which ended his Roo career.

Schwass was a star, he won all his B&Fs in strong teams. One of the most underated players of the last 20 years. Longs career was wrecked by injury so never became the player he looked like he would in the 93 finals. North might've won another flag in 98 if Schwass didn't go to Sydney, he was a better player than Shannon Grant when North were in their premiership window.

Wayne Schwass would have made us kick straight and you are forgetting that Grant won a Norm Smith in 1999 and came third in our Best and Fairest that year.

I thought this would end up very close to 50/50. Schwass gets my vote just - his 2 B&F for the Roos came in 94 & 95 - we had a very good team in both years and made the last 4 in both years. Also with an extra 120 odd games Schwass was fortunate not to have the serious injuries Long had. He also was no saint on the field - missed the 97 Prelim for kicking which ended his Roo career.

IIRC it was for stomping and from what I remember is that he was on the footy show and Sam Newman said that if you did what you were reported for you should have been suspended for longer but you didn't actually do what you were reported for.

Wayne Schwass would have made us kick straight and you are forgetting that Grant won a Norm Smith in 1999 and came third in our Best and Fairest that year.

Shannon Grant was pathetic in the 98 GF & Schwass would've been a much better player in the heat of a GF than Grant. That Norm Smith he won the next year could've gone to a few blokes that day, his performance wasn't overly memorable.