• Isaac Smith

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Paul Puopolo

• Other (Not Listed)

If our finals campaign is anything to go by, Jordan Lewis should be full of confidence and for me will push to be our number 1 midfielder and stamp his authority on games. Hoping he has a huge preseason. Bring on 2012....

Very interesting reading what Puopolo said about his first season. He highlighted that he found his first pre season very difficult and an eye opener as to how much fitter he needed to get.

This is great news because we all know how good his first year was (won the best first year player). He now has a decent base to significantly improve his fitness during this summer which is a terrific prospect.

Personally, I'd love to see the club develop him as both an inside/outside midfielder by the end of the 2013 pre season. Hopefully he has stints in the guts next year rotating with Cyril.

The club is working hard on having the lads play multiple roles (for many), and I have the suspicion that Pup will, at some stage, add midfield to his back and forward roles - from what I've seen he has good disposal, quick and good decision maker, tackler and pace.

I am absolutely behind Puopolo going into the midfield for genuine stints next year as well and in the longer term.

He could play a few games as a run with mid next year doing a lock down job and in other games encourage him to win high possession numbers and kick goals.

Given how good he is at winning the contested ball could become a very handy midfielder in the Sewell mould down the track who is good offensively but can do a lock down role as well.

IMO Puopolo is exactly the same type of player to Ben McGlynn. Both good at contested footy & both can kick goals and win plenty of the footy. Only difference is Puopolo is better defensively.

X-factor? The Buddy and Cyril of course. Of the new guys I expect Bruest to provide the x factor. As he is the X factor type of guy.

The guys whom had a breakout season last year are good players but not much in the way of x factor. He has the cleanest hands going, has great balance and excellent spacial awareness. If he doesn't kick over 40 next year I'll be very surprised.

I think Smithy might go backwards next year. I reckon the opposition will tighten up on him and from what I've seen he doesn't strike me as the type of player who could shake a tag. (Hope I'm wrong).

Eliis with his first full pre season behind him and our already big bodied midfield he will be that extra punch which we were lacking this year.

I tend to agree he along with Hodge who had minimal impact this year

By X-Factor I assume a player that nobody knows about . . . so I'm pulling out Sam Menegola. Goal scorer with a massive tank. Apparently he came second in his draft year for beep tests.

He is no longer on our list mate

I think Puopolo becomes a permanent defensive forward in 2011 . . . allowing Whitecross to go into the midfield. I know I keep saying it, but WhiteX in the middle is a necessity.

I like it! :thumbsu: Puopolo defensive small forward, Whitecross wing/tagger type midfielder player. What about a small defensive defender, how about Cheney for that role? IMO we need to give this guy more opportunity's next season, he will be a good defender in years to come. For someone who is 186cm he is good in the air. He & Murphy will be the one's fighting for a spot in our back 6.

I think Cheney should be keeping WhiteX out of any half-back roles. Puopolo defensive fwd and probably to get some more time in the midfield.

For Norwood Pops averaged 20+ disposals a game so he probably has the tank to play in the middle if needed. He's pretty good at 'Selwooding', which helps in the centre clearances.