Sheedy attacks Walls' credibility

• Thread starter Thread starter JeffDunne

Here's the point about the article and the response.

Sheedy would be considered a mentor to the various inexperienced coaches in the game. You have to wonder how many of the current coaches have direct coach with Sheedy privately. I'd say most if not all.

So when the people who you are mentoring get attacked - it's only fair to expect that the mentor goes out and defends the honour of those he/she is mentoring.

Thats magnificent spin: Sheeds has got cranky and spat on a serial pest, but you're framing it as a mother bear defending her cubs. Thats gold!:thumbsu:

... Robert Walls is twat....

Hey thats an insult to twats everywhere! I'm offended!:o

and your last line indicates you've misunderstood the argument. no one is saying he hasn't been a very very good coach. but I and others would have liked to see him take a difficult gig on, before pointing at his "winning %".

He may have done that at one point when sydney threw $$$ his way back in 86 and richmond in 97. Both times essendon had lost some players and were on the decline. The easy decision in my mind would have been to leave and start fresh somewhere else. he would have went to a club that wanted him badly and paid him well and given him plenty of years grace in terms of average performances. He was on a knifes edge in 97 but he stuck around and proceded to turn the club around on the back of draft picks. I give him credit for sticking around and fighting on a short rope.

Who knows had he gone to richmond and won him a flag it most likely would have added to the legend, but IMO not going has in no way detracted from it.

And as for working in a league that that is big on parity, this has only really occurred in the last 3 or 4 years - a period in which he hasn't done very much. as a big, powerful suburban club he's been great. as a member of an equalised national league, that has finally shaken the remnants of zoning and entry concessions out, he's been decidely average. so lets not play that card huh?

The last 3 or 4 years have seen essendon rebuild through the draft, success was not going to be easy despite the spin out of napier st. The key for sheeds is to be around to watch those picks bear fruit for the essendon football club. Another year like last year and he won't be around to cash in on any future success, another flag will put him on another level to most. I don't think you can look on the last couple of years and see that as any indication of his coaching ability. Depth the last couple of years have come from 17 and 18 years olds, those kids now have some games under their belt and our depth is a lot better. This year will be a better guide....well i ****en hope so.:(

yes it's been pointed out many times, and refuted just as many. did you forget that bit?
Refuted by who - you? Forgive me if I don't take the opinion of a crows supporter over the realities that I know about my own club. If Essendon was such a comfort zone then why did we even look at Sheedy, an untried coach when obvioulsy every other coach at that time would have wanted to come to Essendon wouldn't they? (it being such a comfort zone & all)
I also love how you conveniently over look the fact that Sheedy has been there 27 years & re-built the enitre team over & over again. The easy thing would be to get short term success at clubs ripe for the picking but its way harder to build the squad & develop it from scratch. This is something Sheedy has done & something few other coaches can claim.

and yet your board has always been a hair trigger away from jettisoning him - I guess they haven't always been convinced either.
Gee, its so unlike a crows supporter to have absolutely no idea about a football matter & make stupid statements to try to hide their ignorance:rolleyes:
Sheedy has been at Essendon for 27 years yet you somehow think our board has always been a hair trigger away from jettisoning him Hmmm I'm sure they were really close to getting rid of him in the early 80's when we made the finals every year - the hoepless coach only got us back to back flags (why didn't the board act then?). Then we had that looooong lean patch without finals (87-88) before again making a PF then a GF & finals again the following year (this is mainly top 5 remember not 8) Of course then there was the great drought of 1992 (of course we still won more games than we lost but you knew that didn't you) before Sheedy's comfort zone again came into play when we should have sacked him in 93 because gods knows he was terrible that year at getting a group of 18-20 year olds up to standard. Finals in 95, PF in 96, finals again in 98, PF in 99, Flag in 2000, GF in 2001 then semi's in 02,03 & 04. Please by all means tell me again how our board have always been a hair trigger away from jettisoning him. You complete tool! I assume you have been calling for Craig's head because you obvioulsy have a higher expectation of coaches than any board at any club.

What credibility does Walls have? Over-rated footballer (average player in great team), over-rated coach (each club he went to were worse off when they got rid of him) and worst of all the most over-rated special commentator ever. His gives the TV coverage absolutely nothing and his columns are just a reaction to an editor looking for a headline. Don't waste your breath Sheeds

We weren't over the cap in 1993...yes it happened after that - but, not at that point.

How do you know? For all we know there could have been money under the table ever since the salary cap came into existance. There is just no evidence to prove it.

If it wasn't for Silvagni informing the AFL, nobody would have ever known they had done it at all. Who really knows for sure how far it goes? With Elliot claiming all the clubs were doing it, can anyone say that all the breaches have been picked up?

He may have done that at one point when sydney threw $$$ his way back in 86 and richmond in 97. Both times essendon had lost some players and were on the decline. The easy decision in my mind would have been to leave and start fresh somewhere else. he would have went to a club that wanted him badly and paid him well and given him plenty of years grace in terms of average performances. He was on a knifes edge in 97 but he stuck around and proceded to turn the club around on the back of draft picks. I give him credit for sticking around and fighting on a short rope.

sorry, I can't agree that it is 'easy' to take on such a challenge, some black & rose coloured glasses there.

he didn't anything round on the back of draft picks in 1997.

Who knows had he gone to richmond and won him a flag it most likely would have added to the legend, but IMO not going has in no way detracted from it.

well you would say that, I and others disagree. if he turned around richmond... :D

The last 3 or 4 years have seen essendon rebuild through the draft, success was not going to be easy despite the spin out of napier st. The key for sheeds is to be around to watch those picks bear fruit for the essendon football club. Another year like last year and he won't be around to cash in on any future success, another flag will put him on another level to most. I don't think you can look on the last couple of years and see that as any indication of his coaching ability. Depth the last couple of years have come from 17 and 18 years olds, those kids now have some games under their belt and our depth is a lot better. This year will be a better guide....well i ****en hope so.:(

you miss 2 things:
1. a rebuild is not guaranteed to be successful, you have presumed it is.
2. yours has been made worse by the fact he badly misread the environment with his 'senior' player top ups.

Refuted by who - you? Forgive me if I don't take the opinion of a crows supporter over the realities that I know about my own club. If Essendon was such a comfort zone then why did we even look at Sheedy, an untried coach when obvioulsy every other coach at that time would have wanted to come to Essendon wouldn't they? (it being such a comfort zone & all)
I also love how you conveniently over look the fact that Sheedy has been there 27 years & re-built the enitre team over & over again. The easy thing would be to get short term success at clubs ripe for the picking but its way harder to build the squad & develop it from scratch. This is something Sheedy has done & something few other coaches can claim.

I can aldo go to the pub and get the meaningless ravings of some moron supporter - what does the above prove? other than that you are unable or unwilling to read - you're just repeating the thread from the beginning. without taking into account the discussion that has already taken place. which is exactly the point I put you before.

bravo. :thumbsu:

Gee, its so unlike a crows supporter to have absolutely no idea about a football matter & make stupid statements to try to hide their ignorance:rolleyes:
Sheedy has been at Essendon for 27 years yet you somehow think our board has always been a hair trigger away from jettisoning him Hmmm I'm sure they were really close to getting rid of him in the early 80's when we made the finals every year - the hoepless coach only got us back to back flags (why didn't the board act then?). Then we had that looooong lean patch without finals (87-88) before again making a PF then a GF & finals again the following year (this is mainly top 5 remember not 8) Of course then there was the great drought of 1992 (of course we still won more games than we lost but you knew that didn't you) before Sheedy's comfort zone again came into play when we should have sacked him in 93 because gods knows he was terrible that year at getting a group of 18-20 year olds up to standard. Finals in 95, PF in 96, finals again in 98, PF in 99, Flag in 2000, GF in 2001 then semi's in 02,03 & 04. Please by all means tell me again how our board have always been a hair trigger away from jettisoning him. You complete tool! I assume you have been calling for Craig's head because you obvioulsy have a higher expectation of coaches than any board at any club.

funnily enough, another your supporters doesn't disagree.
it's only a couple of posts back.

but then again, I think we've already established that reading and comprehension are not your specialist mastermind subjects. :eek:

I am an Essendon supporter and I am aware that I could be accused of being bias. However, WALLS is a negative, sour old fart who should have been sacked from the media years ago. He s**t cans everyone he talks about. Somewhere inside his head, i reckon he thinks he could pull on the boots and show them up.

but then again, I think we've already established that reading and comprehension are not your specialist mastermind subjects. :eek:
Oh the irony. Here's a few choice gems I've plucked from just your last 2 posts (see below). Its pretty easy to see that you struggle to put together some coherent writing. Is English your second language, are you illiterate or is the education system in SA on par with the water treatment?
he didn't anything round on the back of draft picks in 1997.
I can aldo go to the pub

I'm sure the Government runs special programs for people just like you!

it's only a couple of posts back.
Well, I went back 6 pages & certainly couldn't find any Essendon supporter who disagreed with me so I guess we can add delusion to your list of achievements. Unless of course by saying "doesn't disagree" you actually mean they agree. (sorry, its pretty hard to respond to someone so inarticulate) So come on Einstein explain to us all exactly how the Essendon board have always been a hair trigger away from jettisoning him. You've made the claim so back it up if you can.

What credibility does Walls have? Over-rated footballer (average player in great team), over-rated coach (each club he went to were worse off when they got rid of him) and worst of all the most over-rated special commentator ever. His gives the TV coverage absolutely nothing and his columns are just a reaction to an editor looking for a headline. Don't waste your breath Sheeds

Are you joking?

Average player?

triple premiership player best on ground in the 1972 grand final..mmm

over-rated special commentator?-he is the only present day commentator that gives analysis to coaching tactics.

He is paid to give comments on coaching /tactics... i agree that he can play the man a bit too much, but i would prefer honest opinions to the namby pamby comments most "analysts" give just in case they offend a "mate".

Are you joking?

edit.....

over-rated special commentator?-he is the only present day commentator that gives analysis to coaching tactics.

Have to disagree, half the time Walls doesn't even know whats happening and has to be prompted by the game commentators. Then he starts rambling on about something totally irrelevant or how great the players physique is.
If you think he gives an analysis to coaching tactics, you can't have a great grasp of them either?.

I know people don't really like him, but Brereton gives a good analysis of the coaching tactics and Carey is well on the way there!

Have to disagree, half the time Walls doesn't even know whats happening and has to be prompted by the game commentators. Then he starts rambling on about something totally irrelevant or how great the players physique is.
If you think he gives an analysis to coaching tactics, you can't have a great grasp of them either?.

I know people don't really like him, but Brereton gives a good analysis of the coaching tactics and Carey is well on the way there!

I have to agree. Brereton regularly tries to analyse the broader themes of the game (eg when he panned the Hawks for playing Zac Dawson on Rocca for a half before Rocca went nuts and kicked 6 goals in 10 minutes).

Carey is still close enough to being a player that he knows what is going on. He may not be as articulate as Brereton but he tries to tell you stuff thats not obvious. I like the way he handles the obvious set-up questyions from co-commentators. Instead of just splurging verbage, if it warrants a simple "no", thats what he says.

Walls is the stater of the obvious, and he loves talking up the obvious hero. it happens time and again that he'll tell you "this game is turning" after a five goal burst to one side. The number of times he simply describes what is being shown on the replay (stuff we've already seen once and is as plain as day) is astounding. His special comments are simply ploay-by-play after the event.

Clearly he was hired by non-footy people. They must have liked his resume, his deep voice and his little beard. He's not there for the insight, thats for sure.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21359741%5E19742,00.html

THE simmering four-decade feud between Kevin Sheedy and Robert Walls has erupted again, with the Essendon coach yesterday lashing his former opponent and rival over his constant criticism of AFL coaches.

Sheedy said yesterday Walls lacked credibility after two of the clubs he coached went "out of existence" and claimed his two-year stretch at Richmond was a "waste" of time.

The Essendon coach's explosive outburst came after Walls spent a week casting a withering eye over the supposed failings of a raft of AFL coaches.

Walls questioned whether Essendon had a game plan under Sheedy, said Mark Thompson and Chris Connolly would likely be sacked if their sides did not finish in the top four, and accused Dean Laidley of lacking the tactical nous to coach the Kangaroos.

He also labelled Denis Pagan selfish for recruiting experienced players to win games and said Mick Malthouse should have achieved more given Collingwood's riches.

But it was his claim that Sheedy spent too much time playing an ambassadorial role and not enough coaching that saw the veteran coach hit him with both barrels.

"Clearly, in the end, two of his clubs (Fitzroy and Brisbane Bears) have gone broke and are out of existence," he writes in an open letter to Walls in today's Sunday Herald Sun.

"Possibly one of his weaknesses was that he only wanted to coach the team, not build the organisation. I don't think he sees that when he writes about other organisations.

"It's amazing that you can win a premiership and get into another Grand Final like he did at Carlton, and still be sacked two years after winning the flag. What does that say about him? What happened there?

"Robert's two years at Richmond were just a waste. I don't know whether he left Richmond with a future. So he has to be very careful when he starts telling coaches what and how and when they are going to coach.

"In the end, maybe Carlton and that one premiership saved him. Robert has become a big negative and I think people are getting sick of it."

Two of the game's dominant figures, Sheedy and Walls have been at loggerheads since they started playing for arch-rivals Richmond and Carlton, respectively, in 1967.

They also started as senior coaches in the same year, 1981, and their on-field battles turned into coaching box rivalry, with several heated incidents fanning the flames.

When Walls – just as rugged as Sheedy on the field – said in 2001 that Bulldog Tony Liberatore should retire amid allegations he punched Matthew Knights, Sheedy accused him of gross hypocrisy.

It started a public feud that continues today despite Walls once barracking for Essendon.

"Robert coached 39 games of football for Richmond, but someone like Kevin Morris or Tom Hafey would have been a better coach of the Tigers than him," Sheedy said.

"I have never done a drill like he did with Shane Strempel (at Brisbane) where the team belted the crap out of him with boxing gloves.

"I have never left a note on my president's car (Brisbane's Noel Gordon) telling him to get stuffed for parking in my car park."

Since his last club job Walls has been on several coaching sub-committees and was inducted into the AFL Hall of Fame last year.

Sheedy said Walls needed to be more constructive in his criticism.

"He won his first premiership after seven seasons, and then was sacked. Twenty years later he is still bitter about it," Sheedy said.

"At least Tim Watson sugar-coats his hand-grenades from the cubby house.

"Robert doesn't pull his punches. And when you do that, sooner or later people will start punching back. Kick-to-kick can be off the field too, Robert."

Bravo Kevin. :thumbsu:

About time someone with credibility called out this fool.
First time ive read that. Looks like Walls really has no friends at all in football :thumbsu:

Absolutely agree....(and this is coming from an Essendon supporter!)

Brereton always gives a great analysis.

Carey I haven't heard enough of to comment.

Walls should be sacked. He's nothing more than a bitter self-obsessed idiot.

Old joke time:

Q. What did Richmond and Princess Di have in common?

A. They both got f***** by walls.