Side by Side we stick together ???

Brian McGinley

Dec 9, 2008
Mulgrave, VIC.
I could not believe my eyes at about the 20 min mark . The sight of Collingwood supporters leaving in their hundreds was bitterly disappointing .

Nathan Buckley stayed till the final siren not making a quick exit to the car .

Have a sook mate. We had to catch a train.

The next one is 30 minutes later.

Nathan Buckley - needs to concentrate on the kick outs plan at practice instead of prancing around in an intense attitude without much thought.

Could be any number of reasons
Trains
Traffic
Kids
They may not be leaving for the reasons you attach to it.
Anyway if I want to leave early, I'm pretty sure I don't need anyone's permission (if my wife is reading this, I exclude you dear, of course I need your permission).

I had to Leave at the 25th minute or so regardless last night.

Agree with figgy though, don't get the stigma on leaving early, if/when I do its because I'm fuming and it's better for my health and others I walk away (much the same for brother and father who attend with me)

Have a sook mate. We had to catch a train.

The next one is 30 minutes later.

Nathan Buckley - needs to concentrate on the kick outs plan at practice instead of prancing around in an intense attitude without much thought.

That's a crock of shit mate. If anything he over thinks things! It's the reason why Eade was brought into the club to give him a little tap on the shoulder when he's going OTT. Hence the relaxation on the amount of meetings the players have and the length of said meetings.

As for leaving early I always stay until the end but I also don't understand the stigma behind leaving before the final siren.

That's a crock of shit mate. If anything he over thinks things! It's the reason why Eade was brought into the club to give him a little tap on the shoulder when he's going OTT. Hence the relaxation on the amount of meetings the players have and the length of said meetings.

Maybe Buckley should have less meetings and concentrate on practicing a plan to kick the ball in properly and stop the opposition taking their kick ins the length of the field!:thumbsu:

I could not believe my eyes at about the 20 min mark . The sight of Collingwood supporters leaving in their hundreds was bitterly disappointing .

He's the coach.

Hur Dur.

Some people pay to go to games rather than watch on tv (which I would've turned off anyway). I'm not that old, but for a quarter of a century I've watched Collingwood win and lose. And I don't feel the need to hear the final siren as we lose and negotiate an additional 25 minutes of traffic, whilst hearing Hawthorn pricks blab on about the win. Oh, while I have a near ****ing heart attack because we lost and it's such an annoying, shitty feeling.

At least a few people stayed so the world didn't stop spinning though.

Maybe Buckley should have less meetings and concentrate on practicing a plan to kick the ball in properly and stop the opposition taking their kick ins the length of the field!:thumbsu:

What point are you trying to make? On one hand you say that he's not putting in enough thought in and then on the other say that he needs to back off on the meetings in which most of the thought process are discussed with the group.

I agree our kick outs were shabby and Bucks being the perfectionist he is will work on them!

Those coast to coast goals were due mostly to them having more run than us. You replace Rounds, Yagmoor, Sinclair and Seedsman with Beams, Didak, Wellingham and Johnson and you get 30 odd pre-seasons of running into the team as opposed to 10. It will make a monumental difference.

Nathan Buckley gets paid a little bit more than the average supporter to stay at that game...

I agree with Figjam, who gives a shit if people leave? Worry about yourself and let others do the same. Personally, I went to the bar at around the 25 minute mark, so it probably would've looked (/it's probably the equivalent) like I was leaving, but so what?

I usually stay until the end, but last night left around 26 minute mark after Hawthorn were 5 goals in front. Why hang around and get stuck in traffic?
I'd never leave half way through last quarter, but missing a couple of minutes - who cares. I let the Hawthorn flogs heckle me. Was not that worried about the loss. Let everyone have their fun and let us slip under the radar.
I'd rather lose early and have injuries at start of season than in finals.

Always leave a couple mins early if the games pretty much decided , run to the car and get out , if the games a nail biter it's easy to get out if you stay till the end.

Opposition supporters often bang on about how Collingwood supporters leave early more than anyone else. Methinks that's because we have more supporters than anyone else:D

I will normally stay til the end, but that's me. I don't hate people because they leave early.

On the trains issue, I remember last year when we played Carlscum on a Friday night and it started late because we raised our 2010 flag, and we got back to the platform and there was like a 40-min wait for the next train because the trains had all left already before the game had finished.

pardon for entering but was a touched shocked to see people leaving as i don't think i have seen that happen much in a hawks v pie game before to be honest , unlike some of the other teams supporters . unless the previous games were that close that no one dared to leave

Buckley is the head coach so he just can't go.

People who knock people leaving early are Pathetic. Sorry that's how I feel. People might want to miss the Crowds and some might have kids and don't want to lose them.

So Don't knock people leaving early

Buckley is the head coach so he just can't go.

People who knock people leaving early are Pathetic. Sorry that's how I feel. People might want to miss the Crowds and some might have kids and don't want to lose them.

So Don't knock people leaving early
Well said mate.

Each to there own. I quite often leave at the 25 minute mark of the last if the game is decided, either winning or losing...

P.S. My dad left the 2010 GF replay early (as a Pies fan)...

Had to go at about the 20 minute mark of the last as he had to work...

Sometimes it just happens.

pardon for entering but was a touched shocked to see people leaving as i don't think i have seen that happen much in a hawks v pie game before to be honest , unlike some of the other teams supporters . unless the previous games were that close that no one dared to leave

You clearly weren't at the two games that Collingwood has won by 50+ in the last couple of years. Was hardly a Hawthorn supporter left in the ground by the last quarter of those ones.

I only go to games about 2-3 times a year. And when i go no matter the result i never leave. It's just loyalty to your team, win or lose you don't turn your back on them.

I remember going to that game against adelaide last year, indigenous round. We were down at three qtr time and my mate said to me 'let's leave' i said hell no i'm not turning my back on the pies. And what happened? We kicked 11 goals in the last quarter :thumbsu:

Side by Side we stick together ???