Smith chips again

• Thread starter Thread starter gokangas

I wish people would stop making threads about what he has wrote in his newspaper , he is a fat , sour and negative piece of terd that does not deserve the pleasure of having our eyes reading his rubbish ! BTW , how many people here buy that newspaper ?
I couldn't care less if he's fat, doesn't alter the fact he gets paid (surely his employer feels ripped off). I do however like the North BF people with the retort's. I certainly dont buy the newspaper, no need to with Big Footy :thumbsu:

Fantastic, we are a certainty til at least the end of 2009. This is great news given that Fatprick quite recently said we would not last til the end of this season.

Chalk that one up as another victory to JB.

Yep. as GK said, your right mate.

:thumbsu: Love it - you're right - he has given us an extra year.

I am reluctant to post his rambling crap but I think it is important to continue to expose his obvious hatred of our club.
I love the bit about our fight having "not a skerrick of logic". My belief is that one of the turning points of the whole Gold Coast issue was the WANM media release debunking the AFL's supposed $100mil offer as nothing more than smoke and mirrors. When WANM Chairman faced up to Smith on SEN Smith screamed almost hyterically at him over that claim. Barrett then picked up on the release and after a few personal briefings ran the story in the Hun as the first major attack on the AFL (and he paid the price with an Andy personal tirade).
Ironically now Smith quotes that we knocked back a $50mil offer from the AFL - I suppose that is his concession that we were correct, albeit illogical.

Every time fatpatrick belittles us, have no hesitation in posting it here GK. It gives us a chance to give him some of our thoughts.

Hang on guys, looks like Fatprick has begun to dabble in the oh so elusive art of Gonzo Journalism.

God speed oh chunky one.

And oh how funny it is to keep calling Kennett a coffee.

I know. It's about as funny as, say, linking Smith's name to the chip company.

Oh, hang on......

I'm no Kennett fan but it does reflect poorly on Smith's journalistic credentials to refer to Kennett as a failed Premier.

I agree. It would be far more accurate and credible to refer to Kennett as "a failed human being".

I know. It's about as funny as, say, linking Smith's name to the chip company.

Oh, hang on......

I agree. It would be far more accurate and credible to refer to Kennett as "a failed human being".

Yeah look, I'd buy that for a dollar.

I wish people would stop making threads about what he has wrote in his newspaper , he is a fat , sour and negative piece of terd that does not deserve the pleasure of having our eyes reading his rubbish ! BTW , how many people here buy that newspaper ?

Agree 100%.

There is a definite masochistic streak exhibited by some folks in these type of threads.

Smith and Wilson should be on permanent ban. I certainly don't buy their shitty newspapers.

Agree 100%.

There is a definite masochistic streak exhibited by some folks in these type of threads.

Smith and Wilson should be on permanent ban. I certainly don't buy their shitty newspapers.
I disagree. These articles need to be reported and if I am not mistaken our great departed friend Lidge, posted many of these articles in the early hours of the morning, as soon as he had had the chance to peruse them. If nothing else we owe it to Lidge to maintain the tradition.

We need to remember that the articles that these people write are read by supporters of the other 15 clubs.

These people rightly or wrongly have a part in shaping public opinion, goodness knows why but they do. We need to be aware of how that public opinion influences future directions of the AFL, of potential sponsors and potential members of our club.

Negative publicity has the capacity to produce negative outcomes and if the publicity is wrong or designed to produce poor outcomes for our club, our organisations such as Roosistence and WANM, as do we as individuals, need to be ready if required to refute negativity and misleading and untruthful commentary.

Make no mistake the "forces of evil" remain ready to tear us apart if they get the opportunity. Just for the moment, Patrick Smith is doing their work for them. He needs to be watched and brought to account.

On a positive note he also continues to remind us of the fragility that was our club just 6 months ago. We must not forget and if nothing else bringing these articles to the fore helps us to remain aware of where we have been, where we are now and where are heading in the future.

And after our wonderful day last Sunday that gives even more meaning to my daily reflection, thank God we still have the NORTH MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB.

I disagree. These articles need to be reported and if I am not mistaken our great departed friend Lidge, posted many of these articles in the early hours of the morning, as soon as he had had the chance to peruse them. If nothing else we owe it to Lidge to maintain the tradition.

We need to remember that the articles that these people write are read by supporters of the other 15 clubs.

These people rightly or wrongly have a part in shaping public opinion, goodness knows why but they do. We need to be aware of how that public opinion influences future directions of the AFL, of potential sponsors and potential members of our club.

Negative publicity has the capacity to produce negative outcomes and if the publicity is wrong or designed to produce poor outcomes for our club, our organisations such as Roosistence and WANM, as do we as individuals, need to be ready if required to refute negativity and misleading and untruthful commentary.

Make no mistake the "forces of evil" remain ready to tear us apart if they get the opportunity. Just for the moment, Patrick Smith is doing their work for them. He needs to be watched and brought to account.

On a positive note he also continues to remind us of the fragility that was our club just 6 months ago. We must not forget and if nothing else bringing these articles to the fore helps us to remain aware of where we have been, where we are now and where are heading in the future.

And after our wonderful day last Sunday that gives even more meaning to my daily reflection, thank God we still have the NORTH MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB.

Ditto!

The ultimate objection is don't buy the Australian and Age. I don't but I do read them online but that doesn't help their audited general readership numbers.

I'd doubt Lidge would get wound up about such empty rhetoric.

Please don't use his name to justify your opinions. Doing so is a form of subtle emotional blackmail, as you take the stance that anyone contradicting your opinions, welded together with your notion of Lidges work, is not thinking in the clubs best interest. It places any fellow North supporter with a contradictory stance in a very unfair and awkward situation.

There is very little substance at all in Smiths current articles. He is drawing together unbelievably vague threads in this piece.

I am more than aware of the challenges that face this club, but we have since made a 180 degree U turn and are heading in the right direction. The only issue hanging over our heads ATM, is the share issue and the club has instructed the rank and file to sit tight as it is working towards a resolution.

I think you empower this bloke waaaaaaaay too much by taking him so seriously.

None of us could ever claim to speak on behalf of Lidge but I understand where Horace is coming from. Lidge did always post this sort of stuff as general info. I don't think it was intended as emotional blackmail.

However,
it is relevant to us what the media is saying in general about our club and many folk who don't have access to the Age and Australian (or other examples) I am sure value the opportunity to read this stuff, even if it is dribble. This is an appropriate forum.

I understand what you mean Tef - but it just can't be ignored.

Gotta keep this in mind:

Fatprick writes on AFL matters in The Australian, you know and I know that the number of people who buy the Australian to read news on AFL would be insignificant.

Fatprick appears on a radio program for half an hour a day on a station that has the lowest ratings in Melbourne.

The point is – no-one is reading his articles or hearing his opinion! and this would be grating at Fatprick no end :D – wouldn’t get too wound up at all with what he has to say

Cheers

Gonzo

Gotta keep this in mind:

Fatprick writes on AFL matters in The Australian, you know and I know that the number of people who buy the Australian to read news on AFL would be insignificant.

Fatprick appears on a radio program for half an hour a day on a station that has the lowest ratings in Melbourne.

The point is – no-one is reading his articles or hearing his opinion! and this would be grating at Fatprick no end :D – wouldn’t get too wound up at all with what he has to say

Cheers

Gonzo

I agree with most of that, but I'll stick up for SEN. Latest ratings (here) have them 6th in the 25-39 age bracket (8th overall). If you were to break it down to footy fans, they would be right up there.

Fat is purely an attention seeker though. Aims for controversial opinions. Would be loving the attention we give him.

None of us could ever claim to speak on behalf of Lidge but I understand where Horace is coming from. Lidge did always post this sort of stuff as general info. I don't think it was intended as emotional blackmail.

I have no doubt that Horace did not intend it that way.

However, people should be aware of the broader points I raised as to how such comments can be percieved.

That kind of psychology paints any diverging opinions in to a corner, as to oppose it can be deduced as besmirching Lidges legacy.

However,
it is relevant to us what the media is saying in general about our club and many folk who don't have access to the Age and Australian (or other examples) I am sure value the opportunity to read this stuff, even if it is dribble. This is an appropriate forum.

I understand what you mean Tef - but it just can't be ignored.

Fair enough, it's just that we have had so much crap heaped on us, irregardless of the real circumstances, that I am becoming largely immune to it. It just bothers me slightly that it bothers other fellow club members.

The sort of crap Smith writes had far more power when the club was being poorly run, rather than it has under the current circumstances.

Fair enough, it's just that we have had so much crap heaped on us, irregardless of the real circumstances, that I am becoming largely immune to it. It just bothers me slightly that it bothers other fellow club members.

The sort of crap Smith writes had far more power when the club was being poorly run, rather than it has under the current circumstances.

No argument there! :thumbsu:

There is very little substance at all in Smiths current articles. He is drawing together unbelievably vague threads in this piece.

That's true TTD, but the strength of people being able to argue against him on this forum is that it provides EVERYONE with ammunition when people from other clubs use the views of Fat Prick/Caro to have a go at us.

The Teflon Dean said:

I reckon that about 12 months ago, whether we like it or not, Smith would have been seen as a respected journo. But I think with his increasing hysteria in his articles, his performances on SEN (he doesn't seem to be on as much as he used to), and a month where he was demanding this person and that person be sacked, I don't think many people take him seriously anymore.

Caroline Wilson, on the other hand, would still be considered to be a creditable football journalist. The Sam Newman stunt has provided her with a lot of general sympathy, but also, she's gone back to writing some decent football articles. And, to her credit (and admittedly, most of us would take this with a grain of salt), she's at least admitted that she wanted to see North re-locate, but with JB winning, she's said that his administration should be given a fair go. On face value, Caro has moved on whilst Smith still has an axe to grind.

I'd doubt Lidge would get wound up about such empty rhetoric.

Please don't use his name to justify your opinions. Doing so is a form of subtle emotional blackmail, as you take the stance that anyone contradicting your opinions, welded together with your notion of Lidges work, is not thinking in the clubs best interest. It places any fellow North supporter with a contradictory stance in a very unfair and awkward situation.

I am more than aware of the challenges that face this club, but we have since made a 180 degree U turn and are heading in the right direction. The only issue hanging over our heads ATM, is the share issue and the club has instructed the rank and file to sit tight as it is working towards a resolution.

Thanks TFD, I am bitterly disappointed that you would say "Please don't use his name to justify your opinions. Doing so is a form of subtle emotional blackmail,". That is appalling behaviour on your part and frankly I find it offensive. I would never ever use someone elses name or actions, who is no longer with us, as a means of justifying my opinion.

For the record I have very fond memories of reading the "hot off the press" material early in the morning, that Lidge used to post. He alerted us to so much before anyone else.

And also for the record I am very capable of fighting my own fights, have done so for a very long time now and will continue to do so for a long time into the future.

All I can say in absolute disgust at what you have written, is little wonder you get yourself into so much trouble TFD.:mad::mad::mad:

Did you manage to miss this?

Please don't grandstand at my expense.:thumbsu:
Of course I did. But it was not in the original post. You posted that after Gokanga's had posted a defence of my motives, which you so falsely assumed were otherwise.

I think it is a bit late to come in after the event and try to "pour oil over troubled waters" so to speak.

However in the interests of preventing this thread from disintegrating further I will say no more.

Of course I did. But it was not in the original post. You posted that after Gokanga's had posted a defence of my motives, which you so falsely assumed were otherwise.

Sorry, but you're wrong.

The written word is far from an ideal form of communication and it can easily be interpreted in a manner that it was not intended.

Don't drop the mans name, in bold type, whilst taking a contrary view with a fellow North supporter and there will be no opportunity for misinterpretation to arise.

Come on Horace and The Teflon Dean - love both you guys for different reasons. Lets not brawl when we are all passionate for the same thing. I honestly think Tef's reaction was a little over the top but understand where he drew his opinion. Knowing both of you in different ways I am sure that we can move on as NMFC fanatics and respect each other. Please.

TTD has to relax, all Horace was doing was reminding us of the dark relocation days when Lidge was a constant source of inspiration on BF.
A lot people might not read The unAustralian but the fatso's articles do get commented on these forums by trolls like the Dawks and other assorted numbskulls. We have to stay vigilant and be informed.

TTD has to relax, all Horace was doing was reminding us of the dark relocation days when Lidge was a constant source of inspiration on BF.
A lot people might not read The unAustralian but the fatso's articles do get commented on these forums by trolls like the Dawks and other assorted numbskulls. We have to stay vigilant and be informed.
Sorta like keeping enemies like pickfat close to respond accordingly.

Really, just wanted to post a new nickname.

Teflon - I agree that giving the guy oxygen is stupid, but I also think one of the big strengths of BF is to give everyone who visits this board a host of arguments to use should they meet such an idiot in their day to day lives. Cause it's amazing how many people believe what they read in the papers. :rolleyes:

And if last year hasn't taught us the danger of ignoring our opponents, then we have learnt little. The AFL's strategy of belittling and discrediting North Melbourne started a good year before their relocation agenda became even remotely public. A marketing genius once told me that there is American research on exactly how many times the average person has to hear a message before they believe it to be true. Anyone who thinks that the continued use of the words 'cash strapped' is coincidence is dreaming.

For what it's worth, in my view Lidge would have posted it, and torn it to shreds.

Mercilessly.

But I'm not overjoyed at the prospect of this thread degenerating into an argument about what Lidge would or wouldn't have done - and I'm pretty sure the thread has served its original purpose of reminding us all what an idiot Smith is. Mods?

Re: Smith is a hack of a journo of the pffft.. can't be bothered

Fat is purely an attention seeker though. Aims for controversial opinions. Would be loving the attention we give him.

Exactly.. can we lock this thread N.O.W. and throw away the key??

The type of journalism (laugh) that Smith practices is best suited to chasing neighbourhood rip-off merchants down the street with a microphone demanding answers about his latest scam...oh wait, he's too fat to even move that lunar arse off of its well placed foundations. Guess the scam artists would have an easy get away!