Food, Drink & Dining Out Smorgy's Restaurants: Anybody else a bit nostalgic?

Santé closed down a while ago I'm pretty sure. Ive been to the Kitchen Workshop that seems to have taken it's place as the cheaper buffet at crown, not bad at all for $25.

Love me some Sizzler too, whenever I make the trip back up to QLD to see family & friends, my Brother and I always go. It's the best hangover cure. I always tell the waiter to keep the cheesy bread coming.

Has anyone been out to Cuckoo Restaurant in Olinda? Oh man, effing awesome! Last time I was there about 2 months ago I'd been for a 20km run through the mountains and then gorged myself on German meats and sweets. And beers! The dude working the pancake grill was making 8 high stacks for me. So good!:thumbsu:
That's a shame about Santé, I really liked that place. Might have to check out Kitchen Workshop though, although the price includes seafood (which makes it more expensive) and I don't really like that sort of seafood.

I've heard of the Cookoo Restaurant, but didn't realise it was buffet. How is the pricing there? I didn't see any prices on the website. Might have to go there sometime, as I also love going up into the hills. Love the sound of the pancakes there too! :thumbsu: :)

It's not the cheapest, I think the buffet was a bit under $40 but it is definitely worth it. Can highly recommend it. Plus some dude comes out and rocks the cow bells for a solid 15 minutes.

We used to go to Sizzler once every school holidays back when it was in adelaide. The potato skins are pretty much the only thing I remember from the salad bar. Awesome things. The choc mousse was awesome as well.

Mate and I were chatting about Smorgy's the other day (after they appeared on a Kath and Kim DVD we were watching), which brought me back to this thread.

Anyway, for those talking about Kitchen Workshop, I've been there a couple of times, and it's one of the best buffet restaurants going around. The teppanki bar is fantastic - mix of vegetables, chef asks what meat you want and in a few minutes you have an amazing dish. Also, not a Bain Marie in sight, with all the hot food served up on gas cookers.

Pricing is good during the week, but goes up to about $45 on Friday/Saturday night as they throw in seafood (which would be a waste for me).

Apparently there's another more upmarket buffet at Crown too, but as it's in their upmarket area its quite expensive.

I've also been to the Brighton Charlie's recently. Good value for money there - around the $20 mark and a pretty decent variety of food there.

There's also the Buckingham Arms, the less said about that place the better. Price is on par with the weeknight prices at Kitchen Workshop, but that's where the similarities end. The buffet has not been updated since the late 80's, and I reckon most of the food's been left there from the late 80's too! The less said about their hot food area the better - I'm convinced their onion rings are straight from Hungry Jacks. For its location, I'm surprised they haven't upgraded the hotel to something better.

It has only recently come to my attention that there are no more Smorgy's still operating in Melbourne. I'm not sure if there are any left in the country, or the world for that matter.

As a young tacker growing up in the city of Whittlesea, some of the greatest news I or any mates I had staying over (or whose place I was staying at) could possibly hear was that we were going to Smorgy's. Not only did this mean unlimited calamari rings followed by unlimited ice cream, it also meant we got to check out the cool adornments outside the restaurant. In fact, maybe my memory is a bit off the mark, but I even seem to recall blasts of fire not unlike what used to happen (still does?) outisde Crown in Southbank.

ipad-art-wide-bundoora-420x0.jpg

Apparently Smorgy's Bundoora is now likely to be redeveloped into a massive apartment and amenities complex. Shame.

Anybody else have fond memories of Smorgy's?

[There was one thread on Smorgy's but it wasn't that good.]
I loved this place. Those fire blasts used to scare shit out of me as a little kid though.

like everyone i too have enjoyed the delights of the swagman, smorgys, sizzler, and to add another to the mix, Billabong bistro (now the mountain view in glen waverley). culinary delights to the young tongue. great for the growing male.

however, with great hunger comes great responsibility. once i delighted my senses at a distinguished hotel in taipei, taiwan. buffet started at 11.30. we ate a lot of sashimi, roast meats, desserts etc. later one of the female co-eaters and i were in my room whereupon the urge to vacate bowels was omnipresent. luckily i got onto the dunny first. nerves disapated as i deflated like a balloon. less than 60 seconds later i heard something that will stay with me forever.....hairs on my neck stood up and i went pale..... air pierced by a shrill shreak "YEWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!! IM GONNA FAINT!!!!!!1!!!". i panicked and looked around from the safety of the toilet for an intruder or something. i yelled "WHAT? what's wrong???!". she replied "IT STINKS!!!"

i looked up and saw that the bathroom had a large gap in the wall. my buffet had escaped.