Phantom Draft Snoops Annual Mock Draft with explanations

Very knowledgeable and enlightening on several players

Can I just comment on your picks for the Cats.
Bastinac,Hutchings,Tutt, Gawn and pass.

I have only seen Bastinac ( impressed with his GF)so i'm blind on the others but I find it interesting that you would think the first two remind you of Corey when both are smaller than him.I would have thought players who were around that 187-191 may just be more our type , they tend to be more versatile . Especially if we go so small later on with Tutt

Then going with Gawn when we have a super tall already is unlikely IMO.
I would have thought Craig might be an option just because he may end up as a key back which we are probably in the market for with Egan now gone. Sort of a bet each way. I think its more likely for us to pick another no name Rookie ruck if there is no one outstanding. After all Mumford was a Rookie.

I would be surprised if we pass on 56. Why trade for it and not use it.

Anyway
Perhaps Gysberts or Craig in place of Hutchings ?And maybe Kennedy or perhaps Roberton late?( I wouldn't mind a Drummond in our backline).

Look , getting the order right is more like picking the winning numbers in Tattslotto than a logical exercise , especially after the first round. Your efforts are not only outstanding they are benchmark. Well done

you are definately a very fair judge and its good to be pro-Tassie a little - as I am NSW. I nearly had Chaz in but I just couldnt be convinced his champs was good enough.

yeah tend to agree on groenewegen as thats what I saw. i am still hopeful he gets a rookie contract bc once he fills out there is a lot to work with.

Archer was in the mix and would be around the mark for rookie. Thought he led and contested pretty well when I saw him.

Interested in your views on Davies - I am a fan. I love the physicality in his game........so reminds me of a young Solomon. I didnt rate his skills that highly but when i checked the disposal effeciency stats he was real good.

Milne was very very close albeit I probably have the order for rucks as Hannath, Hayward, Milne and then JOnes but you could throw a blanket over them for mine. Personally I like Hayward the most but they were all in the next 15.

I think Groenewagon has potential if he fills out, but that's a big if. I'd rookie him, without a doubt though, in that there is a hell of a lot of potential if he becomes a unit.

On Archer - surprisingly quick over 20m, recorded a 2.98 second time at the State Screening (quicker than any Tassie player at either DC or Screening). He's a tall boy with pretty good hands and leads well up the field. I think his field kicking is fairly ordinary, and he sends a few floaters, but his shots at goal are pretty good. Work rate at times looks a bit suspect, but I think it's more due to his running style than any laziness.

I think he could be a good lead up CHF/FF at AFL level and I'd be snaffling him up late in the ND or in the rookie draft.

Davies, quick, physical, breaks the lines. Seems quicker on the field (3 second + time over 20 m at DC) although he's regarded as a sprinter amongst those in the athletics fraternity. I see him as a very outside winger, or a HBF'er but the skills are VERY SUSPECT. Right foot would be 60% and much worse under pressure whilst there's barely a left foot to be seen. Would have broken a few games open at senior level during the year but missed targets and shots at goal cost him dearly. 25 touches and 1 goal 3 against the Premiers Clarence was probably his best game for the year, hitting targets all day, but couldn't find the middle of the sticks.

At the Champs I thought he went missing at times, and had nowhere near the carnival Crichton, Harwood, Green or Russell (Tassie's big guns) did. At his best he can be very damaging, but as the disposal is very hit and miss, at his worst he's dreadful.

As for Milne, big physical ruckman who is good in the contest. Doesn't offer much athletically, and thought Harwood to be much better IMO - I've also seen Milne dominated by stronger ruckmen, when his strength is his build, his ready made size.

Think someone will take a punt on Boof in the rookie draft though as the ruck depth is fairly shallow this year.

any reasons why you have lucas slipping to 14?

ive heard that he's either going to eagles at 7 or essendon at 10...essendon are pretty keen especially after the draft camp and good late form for east freo!

Very knowledgeable and enlightening on several players

Can I just comment on your picks for the Cats.
Bastinac,Hutchings,Tutt, Gawn and pass.

I have only seen Bastinac ( impressed with his GF)so i'm blind on the others but I find it interesting that you would think the first two remind you of Corey when both are smaller than him.I would have thought players who were around that 187-191 may just be more our type , they tend to be more versatile . Especially if we go so small later on with Tutt

Then going with Gawn when we have a super tall already is unlikely IMO.
I would have thought Craig might be an option just because he may end up as a key back which we are probably in the market for with Egan now gone. Sort of a bet each way. I think its more likely for us to pick another no name Rookie ruck if there is no one outstanding. After all Mumford was a Rookie.

I would be surprised if we pass on 56. Why trade for it and not use it.

Anyway
Perhaps Gysberts or Craig in place of Hutchings ?And maybe Kennedy or perhaps Roberton late?( I wouldn't mind a Drummond in our backline).

Look , getting the order right is more like picking the winning numbers in Tattslotto than a logical exercise , especially after the first round. Your efforts are not only outstanding they are benchmark. Well done

appreciate the comments
Comments around COrey really relate to how they play moreso than their height. Both are just good midfield players with good endurance and an ability to play in and out. I am a massive fan of Corey and think he doesnt get the plaudits he should and I just think these two will be as well.

Good point on Gysberts.

Gawn - he is an exciting talent and I think he might be one the Cats try and land but in saying that I take your point around Blake, West, Simpson on the senior list already.

Its interesting you mentioned ROberton - I had him going to the Cats at one stage with a later pick. I also think Dare might be one you guys look at.

any reasons why you have lucas slipping to 14?

ive heard that he's either going to eagles at 7 or essendon at 10...essendon are pretty keen especially after the draft camp and good late form for east freo!

No real reason. As a I wrote am a big fan as he has dominated the juniors for 2 years but I just thought maybe Jetta over Lucas bc its something the WCE really lack. I agree though if it aint Jetta its probably Lucas.

Hi Snoop, interesting read. Do you think clubs will place less importance on athletic ability this year than they did last year?

I know i am Ranges bias, but I can't see Kennedy dropping that far. I did a bit of research and based on draft camp results from last year he should go higher. From last year there were 5 players that scored in the top 10 of 3 or more of the following tests, Agility, 20m Sprint, Verticle, Beep & 3km, Watts (#1), Hill (#3), Shuey (#18), Swift (#20) and Hannebery (#30). This year those that were in the top 10 for 3 or more are Lucas, Reid, Colyer, Hooper, Shaw & Kennedy.

Your thoughts?

Thats a decent stat you have there but nah its more a reflection that in my mocks over the years I tend to rate athletic ability a tad lower bc I like real footballers (if thats a term). An example would be Winmar - he aint going to win any athletic award but has real football nous.

cheers snoop dog, agree with ya can't understand why he did get picked would have thought too that he would have at least got rookied, may not be as quick as some, but has great in close hand skills, tough, strong and great vision and awareness. Pace is important but more importantly is winning the footy i would have thought! and this kid can! do just that

Love your Work....Interesting you say you can't split guys, re defensive options, like Luff, Donaldson, Busher, Dare, Robertson & Thompson. Busher has always played CHF, only played CHB in U18 Champs. Maybe useful as a tall forward option.

Snoop,

A question I'm asking of the modk drafters who have watched the kids. On Talia, what is his scope to play as a midfielder? There have been numerous mentions of his versatility, playing CHF mostly, CHB at the Champs and spending some time in the midfield at the champs. A number of "midfield like" references have been made by a number of commentators - clean hands, did some good clearance work, runs all day, smart footy user. There are also some nice to haves such as marking ability and could be ready soon.

It sounds to me he could play a Mark Bolton/C. Cornes/Hird/Goodes style role (obviously hopefully better than the Bolton end!).

So, to ask it again, does Talia have scope to play and be picked as a midfielder primarily, who could also play KP if you really need him to?

Love your Work....Interesting you say you can't split guys, re defensive options, like Luff, Donaldson, Busher, Dare, Robertson & Thompson. Busher has always played CHF, only played CHB in U18 Champs. Maybe useful as a tall forward option.

i think the will be a CHB for sure. nathan brown also played a bit fwd for NBR but always going to be a backmen

Now that DJ has retired , you might want to reconsider us passing at 56.

I'd say several of the ones who missed out would be alright like Shaw or Dare ( rather than a total reorder) or perhaps a bit of bolter , like Daw. I think Jester thinks we will grab Smith so thats another option.

yeah i will update once i know which afl delistees are in for the ND. few clubs need some more choices

Snoop,

A question I'm asking of the modk drafters who have watched the kids. On Talia, what is his scope to play as a midfielder? There have been numerous mentions of his versatility, playing CHF mostly, CHB at the Champs and spending some time in the midfield at the champs. A number of "midfield like" references have been made by a number of commentators - clean hands, did some good clearance work, runs all day, smart footy user. There are also some nice to haves such as marking ability and could be ready soon.

It sounds to me he could play a Mark Bolton/C. Cornes/Hird/Goodes style role (obviously hopefully better than the Bolton end!).

So, to ask it again, does Talia have scope to play and be picked as a midfielder primarily, who could also play KP if you really need him to?

good question - has a massive tank and will be able to run his man off their feet for sure. as times goes on he may be similar to pav and brown where they can do stints in the middle but i think ultimately he will be a chb or chf.

Great stuff Snoops... such thorough analysis. Very impressive.

I saw a few games featuring Jordan Williams this year and was impressed.
He was very composed with his kicking - what do you see as being his main drawbacks?

and his main strengths?

cheers.

cheers snoop dog, agree with ya can't understand why he did get picked would have thought too that he would have at least got rookied, may not be as quick as some, but has great in close hand skills, tough, strong and great vision and awareness. Pace is important but more importantly is winning the footy i would have thought! and this kid can! do just that

where do you think matty wrights formline puts him against some of these blokes.

Great stuff Snoops... such thorough analysis. Very impressive.

I saw a few games featuring Jordan Williams this year and was impressed.
He was very composed with his kicking - what do you see as being his main drawbacks?

and his main strengths?

cheers.

yeah he goes alright doesnt he. i think the only issue that holds him back is how much of it he gets. when he gets it the output is very good but he just needs more of it. certainly has a few tricks so clubs may take a punt that if he gets a bigger engine or learns to run to the right spots may mean he gets more.

No offence but Cngtn @ 13 is a joke and makes this phantom a bit unrealistic.

always interesting when someone pretends to 'know' what will happen. I dont think anyone 'knows' what is going to happen a month out from the draft. also love it when there is no alternative offered.

Thanks for your work :thumbsu:

I am just interested in whether you think Vardy's clearly the best ruckman in the draft, or whether he's equal with Gawn. And are there any equal to these two or does it drop off after them?

If Vardy's clearly the best and Melb will go at 18, I wonder if we might consider swooping at 17.

Normally I'd say we wouldn't pay 'overs' but we do really need a quality ruckman this year much more than a good mid, which could be nice, but we can live without for a while.

Fantastic effort as always mate, great to see that much effort. Have to say I'd be really surprised if Geelong went for another giant ruckman with Simpson still on the list; everything I've heard suggests we'd go for Jesse Smith at #42.

Why do you say that?

I think we may well look at Smith, but why not at 56 instead?

Unless Hawthorn is keen on him, I'd be surprised if he goes between 42 and 56.

Btw, I think looking at another ruckman is logical. Yes we still have Simpson but he's a ways off....West is likely to move on at the end of next year and Otto's retirement is near. So I certainly think the list needs a ruckman over a mid, if that's what it comes down to with a particular pick.

Btw is there any chance you could do an update to reflect us not passing 56?
(we will definitely use it now DJ has retired, so I'd be interested to see who you think might go there. We will also use 65 if Wojo goes).

And don't worry, I think you are right about us taking a ruckman (despite what some supporters say about us already having enough). Time will tell.

Btw is there any chance you could do an update to reflect us not passing 56?
(we will definitely use it now DJ has retired, so I'd be interested to see who you think might go there. We will also use 65 if Wojo goes).

And don't worry, I think you are right about us taking a ruckman (despite what some supporters say about us already having enough). Time will tell.

yeah i will be updating post november 10th when all delistees are known.