Phantom Draft Snoops Annual Mock Draft..

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

Fantastic read Snoop!

A quick note, Carlton have also elevated rookie Simon White onto the senior list.

Not sure on Barden though... Hoping Seb Tape falls to us in this region.

:thumbsu:

and hey may well do. What would you be hoping for at Rd 1 then?

Hey mate just wanted your thoughts on Nicholson from the Uni Blues.

yeah he is the one they are all talking about as the 'ammo smokey'. havent actually seen him but was in Melbourne today and as fete had it was talking to some former Uni Blues players and I asked them. They are very big wraps. He is a HB flanker they reckon stands about 180cm, is quick and uses it very well. I think he is 19 or 20yo and Collingwood have spoken to him and one of his teammates. I personally think he might be more a rookie but it will come down to how many clubs are speaking to him and whether or not a club pulls the trigger early to assure themselves they get him. Will be interesting.

Brabazon - test results awesome

His test results should be awesome compared with teenage draftees. He's already spent 4 years in an AFL environment, and his endurance was always a relative strength.

His pace surprises me, though it is not new. A couple of years ago he was apparently the quickest player on the Swans' list (over what distance, I am not sure - probably 100m rather than 30m). But having watched him play with the Swans reserves for 4 years, he doesn't exhibit that pace in the way he plays.

His biggest issue, though, is whether he's learned to kick or handpass the ball to a team mate over the past 12 months in the WAFL.

Snoop, I see you obviously rate Lycett quite highly - does his kicking not worry you?
I think it is ordinary at best, from the limited viewing I've had of him.

I think the Dees will want to take Darling, but will err on the side of caution due to his troublesome nature. We've had a recent history of taking young blokes with the highest character. Pretty sure the club has a strong "no d&@kheads" policy in place.

I must admit I thought it was ok.....cant expect much from rucks pal;)

Dont be worried about Darling albeit he could be a big slider if those interviews didnt go well. Apparently he was really focussed on them and keen to make sure recruiters were comfortable......you would hope he has got the message!

yeah Guthrie is someone I know a certain Mock Draft whose I rate as one of the benchmarks will have him in the 10-15 range. I saw a number of his games but I just didnt see what others did so have him definitely going but not quite as high.

I think your placement of Guthrie and Jacobs caused me the most interest. Basically they were the two players which I rated higher than you and was wondering why you dropped them so low.

I was also interested in the placement of Young and Litherland. I think they also made me take notice at their placements.

Other people that we have rated slightly different are McCarthey and Heppell, but I can see why people have them rated higher than myself.

Well done Snoop Dog.Once again another great effort:thumbsu:
On our pick 6 "shock.".If Heppell isn,t there at pick 6 i have a gut feeling we will take Harper.
To me a Morton/Harper tag team from the HFF to the Mid fits our needs.

His interviews will have been important. Want to make sure he has the 'desire' to play elite footy and do all he can to make it.;) But look he fits the type of player that is a bolter bc of his game changing ability.

Just wondering, what are your thoughts on Peter Bormolini from East Perth? Was in the U16's in 2008 but it seems his slipped of the radar a bit. Do you reckon he'll get picked up as rookie?

nah mate not on the radar for me.
will look into though

Re 3rd selection.. Dont rate Delaney & i think we need pace. An Andreoli as 2nd pick if Tape gone may be a better option imo.

yeah Delaney is a project player but has reasonable athletic ability, big reach and has good closing speed if memory serves of test results. Bit like Fletcher in some ways. Could well go in rookie

Great detailed draft Snoop :) What are your thoughts on Ahmed Saad of Northern Bullants. Any chance of getting picked up in the ND or Rookied? From what I've seen of him he's got great pace, jumping abilities and that xfactor that can turn a match.

yes he has but the height is the issue. I hope he gets rookied but I doubt a National Draft. I think he had a State Screen so must be on the radar and good crumbing fwds who can apply defensive pressure are valued. Gold Coast and GWS would have to be chances.

I think your placement of Guthrie and Jacobs caused me the most interest. Basically they were the two players which I rated higher than you and was wondering why you dropped them so low.

I was also interested in the placement of Young and Litherland. I think they also made me take notice at their placements.

Other people that we have rated slightly different are McCarthey and Heppell, but I can see why people have them rated higher than myself.

yeah I knew Jacobs and Guthrie would cause discussion....which is good. Guthrie bc I took him on the games I had seen at TAC and Champs. Jacobs I like but I had him bracketed with a whole bunch of mids like Parker, Hallahan, Conca, Green etc and I just had him lower. I know he plays slightly different to them but I just rate them higher (each for different reasons obviously) on what I have seen but it wont surprise to see them both 10-20

Young am a massive fan and probably not reflected in his spot but again I rate the top 30 very highly and whoever gets him gets a bargain.

Litherland results and testing were v good. Almost argue he was the standout KPD with Watson, Tape and McCarthy.

Litherland, I'm just unsure about his kicking, that is the main thing that may keep him down. In saying that his testing results were very impressive, so it did bump him up a little in my eyes. Just wish Claremont would let their kids play in the WAFL, so you can see their ability against the bigger boys.

Jacobs, I remember talking to someone I rate as a recruiter and they said it is very hard to teach a player to increase their possession counts. Jacobs just has the ability to find the ball and with his marking and kicking, he just has a few weapons to his skill set. Maybe I've been slightly brain washed by another blues poster who has been on this kid for a few years, but I like his potential. More so than some of the mids you've talked about.

Guthrie - This is what I love about mock drafts at times, the different views. Someone I know has likened this kid to Travis Boak, with a more defensive angle. He could complement a midfield set nicely, I actually like the sound of this kid for Carlton. He would be the perfect addition to the likes of Judd and Murphy.

Hey Snoop, what can you tell me about Callum Currie?

Have heard he is ready to go with North Ballarat (Roosters that is) if he is not drafted.

Decent kid, nice size about him, good inside and outside but not much love on here. Why's that?

What weakness' does he have?

He is an Essendon supporter to I am told :D

yes he has but the height is the issue. I hope he gets rookied but I doubt a National Draft. I think he had a State Screen so must be on the radar and good crumbing fwds who can apply defensive pressure are valued. Gold Coast and GWS would have to be chances.
especially at brisbane who have none :thumbsd:(banfield is more suited to the wing imo)

there seem to be quite a few good small forwards around which im desperately hoping brisbane get 1 or 2

i really like ben duscher from bendigo as hff has said he would be a really good pickup have you seen much of him???

yeah he is the one they are all talking about as the 'ammo smokey'. havent actually seen him but was in Melbourne today and as fete had it was talking to some former Uni Blues players and I asked them. They are very big wraps. He is a HB flanker they reckon stands about 180cm, is quick and uses it very well. I think he is 19 or 20yo and Collingwood have spoken to him and one of his teammates. I personally think he might be more a rookie but it will come down to how many clubs are speaking to him and whether or not a club pulls the trigger early to assure themselves they get him. Will be interesting.

I think you will find ther are several clubs interested in him(hence his invite to state screening).

His testing results were super-2.92 20 metre sprint, 14.6 beep and 7.69 for the agility test. These are clearly AFL figures.

He actually broke Stpehen hills agility record until Dahalus then broke his record.

He will go in the main draft before 60-you can bet on it!

Yeah as you know from earlier in year v keen on him. I just thought he might be more rookie.

Interested in your thoughts on a few other WA players;

Derrickx - seems like could be a rookie given lack of depth for his position
Ninnyette - half way thru year had him as high as #39 to the Swans
Butcher - showed plenty at u18 level but is he AFL worthy
Jones - I like him but doesn't rate a mention
Richardson - any chance
Sweet - had a good year but like Richardson always overlooked
Brabazon - test results awesome
Odriscoll - I really like the kid but appear on my own

Derrickx - huge fan athletically as good as you will see and is a lovely kick of the footy.Tap work is good and loves the body on body hard stuff.
Would be the perfect ruckman rookie type could flourish in a AFL environment.

Ninnyette - disappointed with his final series but I know he was pretty sore.
Had some amazing form mid season, and has alot of tricks, would of thought he would go top 40 mid year now think he will slide.
Butcher - east perth boy similar to freo's chris mayne in playing style I dont think he will get drafted.
Sweet - another east perth boy not really a fan dont think his game will translate that well to afl level. Dean Cadawaller if he hadn't been done for drugs would of said he would have been a great prospect.

Jones - tap work is really poor, so dont rate him that highly, watch for myles bolger next year if his foot problems come good, he's a real talent.

Brabazon - not the best decision maker at times, and doesn't use his pace enough .

O'Driscoll - lovely left foot, no right side though is damaging if he gets space.

Richardson - is a rookie chance brisbane where very keen earlier in the year dont know if they still are though.

i do.....what would you like to know?
Would he address our needs for a quick small foward type? We already have a pretty decent one in Jaensch, who I rate highly, but it'd be nice to have a genuine crumber down there.

Royal Eagle

What are your thoughts on young Aaron Elari?

Short? yes.

Good? yes.

What can you tell me about him.

Pace wise? skills wise? team oriented? tackles well?

He's small but strong has low centre of gravity, gets heaps of the footy goes to the right spots and uses it well.

Was surprised by his testing results didn't think he was that quick, is mid though not a foward.

Very team oriented and is a leader on the field, he and Munzga had amazing seasons in a shit perth side.

He's small but strong has low centre of gravity, gets heaps of the footy goes to the right spots and uses it well.

Was surprised by his testing results didn't think he was that quick, is mid though not a foward.

Very team oriented and is a leader on the field, he and Munzga had amazing seasons in a shit perth side.

Do you see him developing physically (75kg)?

Could he potentially play round 1?

Great mock, great read :thumbsu:

Just wanting to know the chances of getting picked up for David Mirra, Kyle Hartigan and Dan Noonan. Thanks

Hey Snoop, what can you tell me about Callum Currie?

Have heard he is ready to go with North Ballarat (Roosters that is) if he is not drafted.

Decent kid, nice size about him, good inside and outside but not much love on here. Why's that?

What weakness' does he have?

He is an Essendon supporter to I am told :D

yeah seen him a few times and reminds me a bit of Tommy Hunter. Mid that sort of plays in and under and tends to rack up a few possessions. Certainly has a good defensive side to his game, tackles well but its his ability to hurt the other way that may have him more rookie. I think the issue with him is there isnt a standout feature. Going to Roosters for a year or two wouldnt be the worst thing for him.....as long as the Roosters stay in the VFL...............shameful AFL!

especially at brisbane who have none :thumbsd:(banfield is more suited to the wing imo)

there seem to be quite a few good small forwards around which im desperately hoping brisbane get 1 or 2

i really like ben duscher from bendigo as hff has said he would be a really good pickup have you seen much of him???

nah mate I couldnt comment on him.

agree with you re Banfield and if you wanted some smaller fwds look for;

Isiah Stevens - WA
Tim Milera - SA
Keifer Yu - WA
Kirk Ugle - WA
Luke Dahlaus - Geelong Falcons
Ben Reid - NSW
Hayden Yarran - WA
Rowan Gartlett - WA
Cameron Johnston - Geelong
Tim Northe - Gippy