So who is the most underrated player in the AFL?

I think Buddy Franklin (Lance for those of you who don't know.) Plays for Sydney. Hasn't been on the radar for years now but a mate who's an inside man for me at the Swans told me he has heaps of talent and is rated very highly internally. Unfair that nobody would recognise him if he passed them in the street, I think Nic Naitanui and Gary Ablett Senior's son (the actual name escapes me but I'm pretty sure he's played a few good games for Geelong) would also fall into the same category.

Your first mistake was mentioning Franklin in the same breath as ablett. But throwing Nic nats name in amongst them was the biggest joke u managed.

1. The comma before "I think Nic..." actually indicates that I am likely to take a breath there when I pause so being "in the same breath" isn't really the case.
2. The lack of seriousness of my post didn't warrant a serious comparison of these three highly identifiable players.
3. You're right though, Nic is a class above the other two.

Clearly have not watched much footy the last 4 years
He's had patches in previous years but has looked much more consistent this year. Less niggling injuries has helped.

Alipate Carlile. Not exactly an unknown player, but has never really been given his due. He has kept Waite, Roughead, and Walker to 0,0, and 2 goals all in high scoring high i50 games in the last 3 weeks. If he was playing for a Melbourne based team he would already been touted as a probable AA. Would have been nice if he got to play on Kennedy this week as a true test, but that doesn't look like it will happen.

Broadbent from port for mine. Plays well almost everytime I watch Port and has a good kick on him but I never hear his name mentioned anywhere. I suspect those as Port rate him very highly

Got to love it when somebody tries to be sarcastically funny and fails...:D

I'll detail my non-exhaustive list!

ADEL: Brown, Douglas, Sloane
BRIS: Clarke
CARL: White
COLL: Elliott, Sidebottom
ESS: ZMerrett, Baguley, Hooker (only in that some don't rate him),
FREO: Ibbotson (mostly through injury), Mundy (ace), Neale (being rectified)
GEEL: Caddy, Duncan
GCFC: Lynch
GWS: Ward, Treloar, Haynes, Patfull was underrated at Brissy, Smith
HAW: Stratton, Shiels
MELB: Viney, Tyson, Dunn, McDonald
NM: Hansen, Cunnington, Wright, Turner, Gibson by North fans
PORT: Broadbent, Ebert, Trengove, Carlile, Hombsch, Pittard
RICH: Edwards, Miles
STK: Armitage, Steven, Longer, Delaney, Dempster
SYD: McGlynn, Parker, Lloyd
WCE: Yeo, Cripps
WB: Murphy, Wallis, Wood, Johannisen

So who is the most underrated player in the AFL?