Sometimes I'm ashamed to be an Essendon fan

I rate todays performance with our loss to West Coast in 1986 at Windy Hill.

I don't mean to nitpick, but West Coast and Brisbane didn't join the competition until 1987. :)

But I agree with your post. The thing you have to remember is that 90% of people who post on BigFooty these days are 18yo bogan morons who, despite what they all like to think, wouldn't know the first thing about football, and probably most other things in life too.

EDIT - Just on that West Coast game, are you thinking of the Round 2 game @ Windy Hill, 1987? Cos I'm pretty sure we won that by 2 points...?

Think it was 1991. Only time I've seen the players clapped off after a loss there.

why be proud with loss to Richmond. appalling they are bottom 4 material and beat US all the time. not good enough. embarrassing in fact. Laycock and Dyson should be sacked immediately. they are not part of our future.

i made the comparison to a mate of our 2 point win over hawthorn around 3-4 years ago due to a goal that shouldnt have been

that day hawthorn took a massive step forward, and you could tell one team was on the way up despite the loss and the other was struggling

yesterday we played our hearts out, despite the result i think we are set up beautifully for the future when the kids have hearts like that

I came home from the footy today after watching one of our greatest and most heroic performances in the last 25 years.

My radar was up after listening to some clowns bag some of our players on SEN on the way home but maybe I thought our fans on Big Footy would have a bit more class.

Unfortunately I was wrong.

We played with 19 men today....It is almost impossible to win a game of footy with that amount of players. Every single one of our players gave their all and I couldn't be prouder of them.

Instead I have to read idiots blaming Laycock exclusively for our loss. The poor kid tried his heart out. Normally rucks get a good rest during the game but Hille and Chook didn't have that luxury today. He took some great pack marks in our forward 50 and IMO his form in the last 3 weeks is looking really promising. Some of you need to think about the effect of lactic acid on a players kicking when they are tired. Nearly all our players were showing signs of stress in the last 10 minutes.

And to the clown about 10 rows behind me who was bagging Dyson the whole game. If some players upset you, just p**s off and don't go to the game.

Ricky was reasonable today and yet he still copped a pasting from this idiot.

I rate todays performance with our loss to West Coast in 1986 at Windy Hill. One of finest ever efforts and the boys should be applauded, not caned.

Wake up to yourselves and acknowledge their efforts FFS.

While I agree with most of your post I can't really walk away from that game thinking we gave our all. Far Far Far too many times we had players simply standing still & not even presenting a lead. You can say we ran out of puff but that doesn't excuse the second rate performance we saw for most of the 1st half. There were moments of pure lazyness from many players (our more senior players in particular). In the end my read on the game as a whole was that we were a much better side but they wanted it more.

I also can't agree with your defence of Dyson. I watched him time & time again spectating. Yes he got 20 touches but that was because he went out of his way to avoid any contests. If you are going to do that you had want to be damaging with your disposal but he simply isn't. Now I'm not the type of supporter who openly bags him at games but I just don't think he provides any value to the side at all. He's the softest player I reckon I've ever seen playing for Essendon & IMHO we should have retainind MJ & ditched Dyson. We would have had a player capable of playing on the small forwards who have r*ped us all year & not abandoned a GF, B&F favourite son. MJ's worst game last year was better than anythying Dyson has produced in the last 4 years! Hell I'd rather still have Bolton on the list because at least I never questioned his commitment.

Well Done DayTripper for yet another quality OP:thumbsu:

I also thought of that day against West Coast at windy hill while watching the game yesterday.

I was so extremely proud of our young group yesterday , sure mistakes were made but the passion for the contest they displayed (and have been displaying since the crows match) is something all Bombers Supporters should be swelling with pride about..

May I invite you to take a look at the ladder my dear boy. You will find Richmond ahead of you. I further invite you to peruse the list. Richmond are younger an less experienced than you.

The objective truth is obvious.

If Andrew Lovett manages to get home a little earlier on a Sunday night and we're ahead of you on the ladder.

Your six Premiership point advantage over us was decided by four points against a team with an injury list of 16, a player suspended and three cripples on the bench.

Go Richmond, you guys are grouse.

bagging of players aside ..

I agree they gave their all in the second half.

However if they had of given their all in the first half
A they wouldn't have had to do as much in the second half
B wouldn't have had 11 goals kicked on them by that rabble
C could of and should of easily won

Proud in one sense, but dissappointed in another as we more or less lost that game.
No Mcveigh in the middle to steer the ship and have an onfield presence with leadership, and alot of our players esp the midfield reverted back into old lazy habits.

Oh PS

on the richmond guy, your list will never be good, as it requires you to look both left and right :rolleyes:

If Andrew Lovett manages to get home a little earlier on a Sunday night and we're ahead of you on the ladder.

Your six Premiership point advantage over us was decided by four points against a team with an injury list of 16, a player suspended and three cripples on the bench.

Go Richmond, you guys are grouse.
Could have, would have, didn't. At the end of the day people can say what they want, Richmond won the game.

I walked out of the MCG with a big smile on my face. :D
To keep up with Richmond and almost lose just by a small margain was incredible! We had heaps of players injured and only 1 guy to interchange on and off! Mal Michael played a great game too I thought. I am loving Jetta and Stanton more with every match I watch them play, Dyson played a blinder and I could also hear some tool complaining about him all game when he played so well, did you see his kick off the ground when he fell over? really good it was. I was sitting right behind Lucas when he snapped the goal of the year too :p

Interesting post.

Whilst I agree with some of what you say, you also must acknowledge the following

NLM was ordinary, his only kicks were in junk time and on at least 2 occasions he should have tried to spoil the ball and was caught watching

Dyson is not up to it flat out. His only touches were again in junk time and how he got a 3 year deal when lucas can only get one is beyond me, he should be delisted at season end.

Laycock and Lucas were good and whilst they made mistakes just about every player did.

I found the start of the game quite commical that we were trying to handball and goal assist (jetta) rather than kicking it ourself.

Considering we only had 19 men and 12 of our best 22 not playing (welsh, monfries, neagle, fletcher, dempsey, gumby, davey, mcveigh, hislop, houli, winderlich and lovett) I am really happy with our fighting spirit.

The thing that made me the happiest was Knights and him not being happy, he is starting to really grow on me and think he is the right man for the job.

Interesting post.
NLM was ordinary, his only kicks were in junk time and on at least 2 occasions he should have tried to spoil the ball and was caught watching
Considering we only had 19 men and 12 of our best 22 not playing (welsh, monfries, neagle, fletcher, dempsey, gumby, davey, mcveigh, hislop, houli, winderlich and lovett) I am really happy with our fighting spirit.
Our best 22 must have about 26-28 in it.

Out of the 22 out there, I'd have Watson, Stanton, Jetta, Lloyd, Hille, Slattery, Lucas, Ryder, McPhee, Lonergan, Reimers and probably Nash and add Myers.

NLM is a really low-skilled player. Makes a lot of fundamental skill and concentration errors.

Unfortunately Rama exposes us in games like Saturday's. His stamina doesn't allow him to do the selfless running, and usually when you see him, it's out the back somewhere. I wonder whether he'll want to continue on next year.

Our best 22 must have about 26-28 in it.

Out of the 22 out there, I'd have Watson, Stanton, Jetta, Lloyd, Hille, Slattery, Lucas, Ryder, McPhee, Lonergan, Reimers and probably Nash and add Myers.

NLM is a really low-skilled player. Makes a lot of fundamental skill and concentration errors.

Unfortunately Rama exposes us in games like Saturday's. His stamina doesn't allow him to do the selfless running, and usually when you see him, it's out the back somewhere. I wonder whether he'll want to continue on next year.

Slattery's not in my best side and have question marks over a few others there.

Even adding your 13 there that is only 25, thats including nash, myers who were probable. Dont know where you get 26-28 from. Laycock might be lucky when you have gumby, paddy and other 200cm players that can ruck aswell.

Sorry that my ideal side isn't yours. The way of the future is 3 talls at each end and everyone else should be able to rotate through the midfield and win their own ball.

i was ashamed because we had heeps of chances. leroy jetta in the first term didnt kick those goals from about 20-15 metres out and then laycock and stanton missing sitters in the last term. laycock can kick goals from outside fifty but then when the goals are within 20-30 metres he shanks it. we played well in the second half considering we only had 19 players. if we had played a little better in the first half it would have gone a long way to winning

Doesn't mean we can't pay him out and send him to Freo - ala Zantuck to us via the PSD.

Huh :confused:

I was letting Bombs Away know it was only 2 years as he quoted Dyson signing a 3 year contract last year.

Dyson is not up to it flat out. His only touches were again in junk time and how he got a 3 year deal when lucas can only get one is beyond me, he should be delisted at season end.

Mate anyone that gives a player a pasting without actually seeing the game lacks credibility. While he wasn't fantastic, Laycock wasn't that bad. He could have put us in front but so could have stanton and anyone else who missed a shot at goal. Give the guy a break!

Can you blame me? This is pretty close to what Alves,McClure and whats-his-name were saying as young Jason lined up.

"He can't miss surely from there?"

"This to put the Dons in front....."

A chorus of groans.

Silence.

"He's missed..can you beleive that?"

"He has big problems with the pressure of set shots"

One dosn't have to watch the game mate to know that Laycock,once again, missed another set shot from less than 40 out. He does it all the time.

Some of you blokes are too much in love with ALL the players. Anyone who dares scream abuse at a fumbling Laycock -his marking skills are supreme one minute,under 14 level the next- or condemn is set shot efforts are branded as scum of the earth. Same goes with Dyson.

We are at a crucial time atm. We need to weed out players who arn't going to improve or develope an aggressive,focused attitude on match day.

Can you imagine how Jason would fare if he was to play a match as a
member of the Geelong side?

He wouldn't be able to keep up with their speed of play and his ball-handling skills would not be able to match the precise passes they all deliver.

Sometimes I'm ashamed to be an Essendon fan