Analysis Speculation best team in 2016: List & depth analysis

and thats the rub really. We need another like him or of similar ilk.
maybe him and Fyfe as our CHB/CHF.

I can see that happening through necessity.

As long as Bennell fires, Balla regains form and Son Son continues, we will be ok.

However, I've said it before, it's our delivery into the F50 which is the primary issue.

Not sure it's related to this thread, but does anyone know why we did not go after Aaron Black this year? I would have thought it would be worth having him on the list at the expense of a second round pick. At the very least, he would give us bit more depth in the KPF stakes. Having to rely on young unproven players such as Tabs and Apeness is not ideal in what could be a premiership window.

Natural backmen like A Pearce are extremely rare.

Look what Hird did to Carlisle.

Then look how easily Pearce reads the ball coming to him, his positioning and his vision.

He's a CHB guys.
Yeah, but he played most of his junior footy as a key forward. We're playing him out of position in defence. Credit to him that he's been able to adapt.

Not sure it's related to this thread, but does anyone know why we did not go after Aaron Black this year? I would have thought it would be worth having him on the list at the expense of a second round pick. At the very least, he would give us bit more depth in the KPF stakes. Having to rely on young unproven players such as Tabs and Apeness is not ideal in what could be a premiership window.

He has two years to go on his contract after knocking us back two years ago and signing a lucrative four year contract with North. Since then he has been either injured or languishing in the twos with pretty poor form.

I think his stocks have gone down quite a lot. To get him Freo would have had to pay overs to North for both draft picks and to relieve north of its salary obligations.
North probably still see a chance for him to get back to where he was, particularly with Petrie probably in his last year. We don't actually know if he was ever shopped around.

If you can, hunt up the threads that popped up when Nathan Fyfe was selected. Lots of melts because Black was passed over. We (posters on this board) were chasing a replacement for Pav even back then.

Hey jonesy233, don't take this as an attack on you, but I am heartily sick of hearing about our "premiership window". It is one of those terms the experts trot out and everyone picks up on - but what does it mean?

People talk as if we have to pick up this player or that or our window will suddenly slam shut. Hawthorn have been in contention since 2007 - so their window has been 8 years so far and I challenge anyone to claim it is shut. Geelong were in contention from 2007 until probably last year as well.

If we try too hard to stop our "window" closing all that will happen is we will jam our fingers!

We have a brilliant midfield, which is the main pre-requisite for premiership success, and the majority of the drivers in that midfield are young. We have some quality kids being developed at Peel who will come in and bolster the team in the next couple of years. We will draft more young talent this year and hopefully some of them turn out to be part of our future as well.

Sure, we are short of quality KPF and KPD depth, but bringing in bodies to fill these holes just because they are there is not the answer.

Let's continue to develop Alex Pearce, Matt Taberner and Michael Apeness. Let's keep putting work into Jon Griffin and Jack Hannath as ruckmen / forwards. At the same time we can keep working on trading for quality KPFs and KPDs if and when they become available.

Our "window" is not going to slam shut because we did not draft a particular player - it will slowly close over time if we make poor short-term decisions instead of continuing to build a deep and versatile list.

Hey jonesy233, don't take this as an attack on you, but I am heartily sick of hearing about our "premiership window". It is one of those terms the experts trot out and everyone picks up on - but what does it mean?

People talk as if we have to pick up this player or that or our window will suddenly slam shut. Hawthorn have been in contention since 2007 - so their window has been 8 years so far and I challenge anyone to claim it is shut. Geelong were in contention from 2007 until probably last year as well.

If we try too hard to stop our "window" closing all that will happen is we will jam our fingers!

We have a brilliant midfield, which is the main pre-requisite for premiership success, and the majority of the drivers in that midfield are young. We have some quality kids being developed at Peel who will come in and bolster the team in the next couple of years. We will draft more young talent this year and hopefully some of them turn out to be part of our future as well.

Sure, we are short of quality KPF and KPD depth, but bringing in bodies to fill these holes just because they are there is not the answer.

Let's continue to develop Alex Pearce, Matt Taberner and Michael Apeness. Let's keep putting work into Jon Griffin and Jack Hannath as ruckmen / forwards. At the same time we can keep working on trading for quality KPFs and KPDs if and when they become available.

Our "window" is not going to slam shut because we did not draft a particular player - it will slowly close over time if we make poor short-term decisions instead of continuing to build a deep and versatile list.
No probs mate "premiership window" is a bit of a buzz concept and the points you make are valid as to why we could have a period of sustained success. I hope you are right!! I guess I'm just not used to seeing our boys experience sustained success and fear we will drop off or a new coach might take it upon himself to revamp the list.

Elvis has been giving him guitar and singing lessons as well as teaching him how to mark other people's riffs.
Tuna poled off Tassie coast with a long neck in one hand and crocheting with the other while landing 40kg thrashers.
All rounder.