Rumour Speculation, Rumours, Lies Thread 2025

Which rumours will come true?

Rumour Summary October 1st

• Adelaide expects a decision from Christian Petracca by Saturday, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca's decision between Adelaide and Gold Coast is a 50/50, according to Tom Morris (link)
  • Taylor Walker will sign a one-year contract extension, according to Josh Money (link)
  • Adelaide have been working on the Petracca trade for months, compared to Gold Coast who have joined the race more recently, according to a poster (link)
  • Christian Petracca is meeting with Gold Coast in person (link)

Rumour Summary October 2nd

• Melbourne are open to trading Clayton Oliver, according to Sam Edmund (link)
  • Clayton Oliver expects to be told to explore his trade options, according to Tom Morris (link)

As a few has said, there is no "Tex Replacement ". He is irreplaceable.

Also wonder if we even go with the 3 forward set up

We have it now because we have Tex/Rt/Fog.

Might revert back to two keys when Tex retires.

Play another SF/Mid ie Zac Bailey (or Nas)

With Dawson playing where needed depending on match situation. As he does now.
Yep that makes total sense.

The structure works because of the players in it. Thats one of the reasons we fell down last year, trying to replace Filthy with EH and Burgess just doesnt work.

Note I have no personal knowledge and this is at best second hand hot gossip such that nothing should be seriously wagered on it.

The rate it’s getting around Adelaide everyone will hear it soon though
Didn't break his hand playing Footy?

As a few has said, there is no "Tex Replacement ". He is irreplaceable.

Also wonder if we even go with the 3 forward set up

We have it now because we have Tex/Rt/Fog.

Might revert back to two keys when Tex retires.

Play another SF/Mid ie Zac Bailey (or Nas)

With Dawson playing where needed depending on match situation. As he does now.

This is what I would do, yes. Use Thilthorpe and Fogarty as our two key forwards, and then find someone in the Tom Lynch mould who connects between the midfield and the forward line.

Yep that makes total sense.

The structure works because of the players in it. Thats one of the reasons we fell down last year, trying to replace Filthy with EH and Burgess just doesnt work.
I see they named Burgess to maintain the structure/method this late in the season.

But yeah, once Tex retires it could be different.

I see they named Burgess to maintain the structure/method this late in the season.

But yeah, once Tex retires it could be different.
I think its more the replacement of Thilthorpe thats the issue.

He's such a freak that we have nothing else like, most of the league doesnt. Replacing Tex with Burgess for a week essentially to do the same thing will work alright. Especially given the WAFL-like standard of our opponents.

Butters is staying for 2026 and then leaving. Best for him personally as a FA. From horses mouth
Yep who cares what’s best for port Zac! Good on you son! 👍🏻

Is there another ROB clip than the one I've seen from Channel 10? I reckon 10 have dudded him by framing his comments as him being unhappy with us pursuing Draper and unaware of it, it doesn't sound to me like that's what he said at all.

From what I can tell, he's not even commenting on our pursuit or possible recruitment of Draper. He's just saying that he would prefer to play as the sole ruck, and that the club indicated to him that they weren't planning on a two ruck model.
clearly this

Isn't it now pretty much settled that he is Power bound? There's probably not much 'news' to come that concerns us.

Next step is he makes a statement of his intent to seek a trade with the Power as his destination. This may not be until after the Brownlow/BnF. Then all the trade talk.

View attachment 2389547
Yeah, joining the hyphen club.

Jason Horne-Francis
Darcy Byrne-Jones
Jase Burgoyne-Hueskes

Isn't it now pretty much settled that he is Power bound? There's probably not much 'news' to come that concerns us.

Next step is he makes a statement of his intent to seek a trade with the Power as his destination. This may not be until after the Brownlow/BnF. Then all the trade talk.

View attachment 2389547
Yeah Chris Davies has pretty much announced he is going there.

Our club and supporters need to move on.

Yeah Chris Davies has pretty much announced he is going there.

Our club and supporters need to move on.

I hope he does. Cant wait to see how Port pay for him. Hopefully they try and seek permission to use both their upcoming future firsts for him. Then they can try and rebuild that shit list with second rounders lol. They can then run around do the PR and act like they are the true destination club. Which will give solace to the supporters when they yet again miss finals next year.

It's funny how Tealsters want him to be captain.

He is either going this year, or holding their club to ransom next year.

Great candidate for Captain.

He is not a leader and has had to be pulled up several times for abusing team mates mid games. Only a tealster happy clapper would ignore that and claim captain material.

In terms of a juicy rumour, don't rule out Port shipping off the captain to Melbourne to try and get some NWM capital.

Apparently has good reason to get out of town.
I don't think they have a captain do they? At least not one that leads from the front

Imagine the Victorian backlash towards Port if they take two young guns from struggling Victorian clubs in a few years and don’t give up a gun player.

In terms of a juicy rumour, don't rule out Port shipping off the captain to Melbourne to try and get some NWM capital.

Apparently has good reason to get out of town.
You’ve left us hanging Jo!

Imagine the Victorian backlash towards Port if they take two young guns from struggling Victorian clubs in a few years and don’t give up a gun player.
even if he doesn't come to our club we still win because it makes clubs in other states more wary about taking SA players in the draft. Maybe not a lot, but at least a little

Is there another ROB clip than the one I've seen from Channel 10? I reckon 10 have dudded him by framing his comments as him being unhappy with us pursuing Draper and unaware of it, it doesn't sound to me like that's what he said at all.

From what I can tell, he's not even commenting on our pursuit or possible recruitment of Draper. He's just saying that he would prefer to play as the sole ruck, and that the club indicated to him that they weren't planning on a two ruck model.

If Draper gets brought in, he wouldn't be coming here to be a ruckman. He'd be coming as a forward who goes into the ruck occasionally as needed. He would basically be taking Thilthorpe's current role, with Thilthorpe becoming a permanent forward.

None of that is inconsistent with the comments we see from O'Brien in that Channel 10 clip. It sounds like he was just asked "how would you like to share the ruck duties with Draper?" and he's responded to that saying that he'd prefer not to and the club indicated to him that wasn't their plan.
Yeah, I mean we are dangerously thin in Ruck list depth. Of course we are looking to add to that depth. I thought OBrien was meant to be smart. Given Obrien is about to turn 30 the plan might be Draper as a stop gap cover until we find a longer term replacement and only play in case of injury, maybe we think he can play mostly forward and just relieve in Ruck, maybe we plan to rest OBrien at times for some games or maybe we think he will be genuine competition for no1 ruck spot or maybe it's a combination. Who knows, no point sooking about it, if he plays well OBrien will stay no1 Ruck if he doesn't he can't complain about being replaced in the team. It's exactly the same pressure to perform every other player on the ground is under. I'm not convinced Draper is the best option but given he is a FA and not subject to a trade I understand our interest.