News "State of Origin is back" - Eddie McGuire, March 2025

Representative games live and die on if they're genuinely competitive and the players have to have something to represent that they care about.

So getting rid of the allies is a start, playing any Vic games in the other states is also imperative.

Personally I'd go W.A v S.A. in year one then the winner plays the vics at home the following year. That will build it nicely, then year 3 have the break for the all stars game. I understand they might wanna start with the biggest bang though being W.A v Vic, but it kinda limits the good content to only one year initially.

I think it is definitely worth a shot and the pre season is the only time it would potentially work. I'm glad to hear the w.a government are getting involved that will help it not being a money drain on the competition.

* the other concept that could work and would make the nrl jealous, is if every third year in Perth you had a state carnival. Split Vic into metro and country (I actually think this would garner more interest in Victoria), then have w.a. v s.a, qld v nsw and tas v n.t all on the one weekend, televised nationally into each home state. Really good promotion of Australian football as the national game and all those games listed above would be a lot more competitive. Unfortunately I feel players will only wanna play if it's every 3 years coz of the novelty, unless it builds in prestige over time. The winner of metro v country plays the winner of w.a v s.a the next time around etc

Coming from NSW I think I'd be mildly chuffed if a NSW team beat any other team.
NSW could definitely put forward a formidable team in 2026 (especially the midfield) that would probably look something like this:

FB: D.Rampe (Syd), J.Buckley (GWS), Z.Williams (Car)
HB: N.Blakey (Syd), H.Himmelberg (GWS), H.Perryman (Col)
C: I.Heeney (Syd), T.Green (GWS), C.Mills (Syd)
HF: L.Breust (Haw), T.Walker (Ade), B.Campbell (Syd)
F: K.Briggs (GWS), T.Marshall (PA), L.Schultz (Col)
FOL: J.Witts (GC), E.Gulden (Syd), J.Steele (StK)
INT: J.Hopper (Ric), J.Peatling (Ade), M.Kennedy (WB), H.Cunningham (Syd)
Coach: J.Longmire

NSW could definitely put forward a formidable team in 2026 (especially the midfield) that would probably look something like this:

Could probably include Wicks as he has been very good this year.

Backline and midfield are strong, the forward line needs some work though. Them v Queensland would be very close. The only issue with both teams is, if you get some injuries depth isn't great, but really, who cares, can start using state level players to fill the gaps if worse came to worse.

Representative games live and die on if they're genuinely competitive and the players have to have something to represent that they care about.

So getting rid of the allies is a start, playing any Vic games in the other states is also imperative.

Personally I'd go W.A v S.A. in year one then the winner plays the vics at home the following year. That will build it nicely, then year 3 have the break for the all stars game. I understand they might wanna start with the biggest bang though being W.A v Vic, but it kinda limits the good content to only one year initially.

I think it is definitely worth a shot and the pre season is the only time it would potentially work. I'm glad to hear the w.a government are getting involved that will help it not being a money drain on the competition.

* the other concept that could work and would make the nrl jealous, is if every third year in Perth you had a state carnival. Split Vic into metro and country (I actually think this would garner more interest in Victoria), then have w.a. v s.a, qld v nsw and tas v n.t all on the one weekend, televised nationally into each home state. Really good promotion of Australian football as the national game and all those games listed above would be a lot more competitive. Unfortunately I feel players will only wanna play if it's every 3 years coz of the novelty, unless it builds in prestige over time. The winner of metro v country plays the winner of w.a v s.a the next time around etc
Agree, I think you are definitely on the right track. Pre season. True rep teams. You need to give it time to build.

The "blockbusters" would obviously be WA v Vic in Perth, SA v Vic in Adelaide.....you would easily get a sell out crowd which would have the same profile as NRL SOO. Curtain raisers NSW v Qld say in Perth, NT v TAS in Adelaide.

Played over 2 weekends. Victoria plays twice but pick a squad of 40 players for Victoria from which to choose a team for each match... might create a bit of FOMO for the players and can optomize to select the fittest team for each match. Let it build.... maintain NSW v Qld for several years....eventually play it in Brisbane or Sydney.

I wouldn't play round robins or make a deal about which team is the best over all....just make them challenge matches with no ulterior aim other than to see the best team each state can put on the park against a rival of similar status.

WA definitely not lacking in the key forward/ruck department. Mitch Georgiades would have to be picked with the kind of form he's in and obviously he'd play alongside reigning Coleman Medalist Jesse Hogan. Then you'd have to somehow choose who you want as a third tall/ruck out of Aaron Naughton, Oscar Allen, Jake Waterman, Luke Jackson, Tim English, Darcy Cameron, Rory Lobb & Mitch McGovern. There's going to be some very good players who miss out for that WA team in early 2026.

Geogiades is currently giving Victoria's best key defender in Weitering a bath at the Adelaide Oval.

WA definitely not lacking in the key forward/ruck department. Mitch Georgiades would have to be picked with the kind of form he's in and obviously he'd play alongside reigning Coleman Medalist Jesse Hogan. Then you'd have to somehow choose who you want as a third tall/ruck out of Aaron Naughton, Oscar Allen, Jake Waterman, Luke Jackson, Tim English, Darcy Cameron, Rory Lobb & Mitch McGovern. There's going to be some very good players who miss out for that WA team in early 2026.

Geogiades is currently giving Victoria's best key defender in Weitering a bath at the Adelaide Oval.

Yeah their key positions are good it's really their midfield that lacks a bit of depth. However, Martin and Luke Jackson playing inside recently has potentially strengthened the options there, to go along with Cripps and Warner.

Powell pepper would be interesting in a state game, I hope they make it like the r.l where in state of origin you only get match pay docked and not suspended for in season games as that would be a deterrent to the best players. Some spite in the game would obviously add to the occasion too.

Backline and midfield are strong, the forward line needs some work though. Them v Queensland would be very close. The only issue with both teams is, if you get some injuries depth isn't great, but really, who cares, can start using state level players to fill the gaps if worse came to worse.
I reckon Patrick Voss gets in the NSW forward line. Not sure if it's ahead of tall or a small. Could be a three prong key forward attack with Tex, Marshall and Voss.

Darcy Moore said a few interesting things about it on SEN on Saturday morning.
Basically said it's not the players that are standing in the way of it, but they want it to be a serious thing and they need it to scheduled correctly

Reads to me like the afl wants to add more games rather than adjust the schedule/reduce to accommodate.

Tying it in with the new proposed in season tournament when Tassie arrives might be an option. You could play it mid week during that tournament so teams are only disadvantaged in a Mickey Mouse comp and players aren’t missing out on a rest.

But personally I feel mid season is the best option over pre season.

WA v Victoria in February in Perth is a guaranteed way to kill it off in one attempt.

I mean, play it at night and you can guarantee at the very least that there will be a decent crowd in Perth.

Would allow the TV to be at prime time for the East too (which let's face it, is all that really matters to the league).

I have absolutely zero interest and wouldn't be going but I think it works as a location, it'll make WA feel 'important' too - something that seems to matter now when handing out 'events' in this comp.

I mean, play it at night and you can guarantee at the very least that there will be a decent crowd in Perth.

Would allow the TV to be at prime time for the East too (which let's face it, is all that really matters to the league).

I have absolutely zero interest and wouldn't be going but I think it works as a location, it'll make WA feel 'important' too - something that seems to matter now when handing out 'events' in this comp.

Nothing wrong with holding it in WA, just February is a shit time slot and Perth is probably the last place anyone would want to play in February as well.

I don’t see it capturing much attention outside of the season, even opening round in early March doesn’t for a lot of people.

The season is already starting too early, if they put SOO in place of exhibition or pre season games it’ll get as much attention as them for most of the country.

Nothing wrong with holding it in WA, just February is a shit time slot and Perth is probably the last place anyone would want to play in February as well.

I don’t see it capturing much attention outside of the season, even opening round in early March doesn’t for a lot of people.

The season is already starting too early, if they put SOO in place of exhibition or pre season games it’ll get as much attention as them for most of the country.

I agree in principle too - Pre-Season sucks but I doubt the clubs are getting on board for anything that eats into the 'real' season.

The players can claim they are not standing in the way of it happening also but when push comes to shove, club priorities will win out - thats what killed it off in the first place after all.

I think it interests the league because they are desperate for that 'Opening Round' style eyes on the league - or what they thought that would bring - that has quickly failed and they saw the AAS game last year garner some fleeting interest and figure 'Lets go all in on that!'

Honestly though, they'd be better off feeding WA/SA to the Vics at the G and filling the stadium with cheap tickets. The media would froth for it and call it a success.

Nuh it can only work if played in s.a or w.a, every time, never in Melbourne, would be a blood bath and kill it off in one year like that game in I think 95 I went to.

Baker Taylor Ginbey
N Martin Barrass Clark
Curtin Cripps Jackson
Pickett Georgiades C Cameron
Hill Hogan Naughton

English Warner Bolton

Cameron Mitchell Jones Humphries

My WA side to play tomorrow.

Baker Taylor Ginbey
N Martin Barrass Clark
Curtin Cripps Jackson
Pickett Georgiades C Cameron
Hill Hogan Naughton

English Warner Bolton

Cameron Mitchell Jones Humphries

My WA side to play tomorrow.
Would Charlie Cameron even be eligible for WA? Born in Queensland and played all his junior footy in Queensland until age of 17 when he started playing in WA.

Touk Miller and Toby Greene both said on AFL 360 tonight that they would absolutely play for the Big V if State of Origin returns next year.

I think those guys from smaller interstate clubs in particular would love the opportunity to front up with a whole state behind them, in front of a massive (likely interstate) crowd.

If you play for Vic, you know you'll never play SOO in front of a home crowd.

Usual refrain from the players.

"We want to be paid a lot more, but don't want to have to play any more games."

Do you think players like Nick Daicos and Zach Merrett would play for Victoria next year?

If you play for Vic, you know you'll never play SOO in front of a home crowd.
If it's a success then there will eventually be demand to play a game in Melbourne, but the first/first few iterations will definitely be played outside of Victoria.

News "State of Origin is back" - Eddie McGuire, March 2025