Steve Johnson's performance against Essendon

Last night was probably the most frustrating performance I have seen from SJ in recent memory.

His 1st three quarters, IMO were terrible, and he was nothing short of a liabilty. But then 10 mins of magic, and next thing you he's an unstoppable superstar and almost does a Nick Davis(:o) to Essendon. His last 2 goals were brilliant.

He missed goals he should kick. His effort from the boundary on his left foot was pathetic (2 qtr?). Some of his possesions in the first half were too cute. He decided that when he had to get physical, he directed it at the man and not the ball, ie : the head high free at the top off the goal square, on what would of been a perfectly good tackle for Vardy(?) was dumb and reckless. And yes, he started to play for free kicks.

As for the free in last, Hibberd feel for it hook, line and sinker. Hibberd should not of got involved and he may of got the kick. While it doesn't look good, it's clever mind games by SJ and dumb play by Hibberd. IMO shouldn't be a free, but fwds at all clubs having been trying this for eons and sometimes it works.

I notice in the MVP voting people are have slotted him, and can sort of see why, but for me his game was 80% garbage, 20% magic.

I'm a SJ fan, love him, but last night he truly did my head him.

Re: Steve Johnson's performance vs Ess

Last night was probably the most frustrating performance I have seen from SJ in recent memory.

His 1st three quarters, IMO were terrible, and he was nothing short of a liabilty. But then 10 mins of magic, and next thing you he's an unstoppable superstar and almost does a Nick Davis(:o) to Essendon. His last 2 goals were brilliant.

He missed goals he should kick. His effort from the boundary on his left foot was pathetic (2 qtr?). Some of his possesions in the first half were too cute. He decided that when he had to get physical, he directed it at the man and not the ball, ie : the head high free at the top off the goal square, on what would of been a perfectly good tackle for Vardy(?) was dumb and reckless. And yes, he started to play for free kicks.

As for the free in last, Hibberd feel for it hook, line and sinker. Hibberd should not of got involved and he may of got the kick. While it doesn't look good, it's clever mind games by SJ and dumb play by Hibberd. IMO shouldn't be a free, but fwds at all clubs having been trying this for eons and sometimes it works.

I notice in the MVP voting people are have slotted him, and can sort of see why, but for me his game was 80% garbage, 20% magic.

I'm a SJ fan, love him, but last night he truly did my head him.

Apparently you have to 'take the good with the bad' with Stevie J. :)

I agree mate, he's as fit as he's ever been in his career this season but he looks heavy. What's he weigh? Like 90, 95kg? When he hits, he hits bloody hard and usually keeps them down on the ground. He's a pretty fierce player..but sometimes I just wish he would jump more often than he does. He has terrific hands and a good leap and is about 6ft 2 and is often double teamed whenever he lurks forward. I saw far too much of Gary snr and he was a similar shape and size to Stevie but he would always jump even if he was against 2 or 3 defenders and cause a spoil. Steve can do the same but he will often choose to stay flat footed and either run around back or look for the contact. He's still such a freakish player and capable of nearly the impossible and it's he who I rate as the most important player at our club even more so than Chappy or Scarlett. If he can stay healthy heading into September then we really could be in for something special. Sometimes he may be better having no touches for 3 quarters and the opposition relax a little believing they have him beat only to have him do what he can do like last night.
If I was Chris Scott, I'd say 3 things to him:

1. Steve please jump for the ball more often
2. We are leaving you one out inside the forward 50 if we are down at three quarter time
3. Get to the ground 2 hours earlier than the team and practise set shots infront of goal between 40-50 metres out (if he doesn't do so already)

I wasn't impressed for the most part... I thought in the 1st quarter he could have had 3 goals... Got none from being too cute.

I almost didn't want him to get the ball as the game went on as he was just so frustrating to watch...
Then he lit it up the last 10 mins

Such a frustrating player

He missed goals he should kick. His effort from the boundary on his left foot was pathetic (2 qtr?).

I get the feeling that second quarter effort will be swept under the rug and forgotten too easily. That was absolute shite. We've always taken the good with the bad with Steve Johnson, because the good usually outweighs the bad, but that left foot shot from the boundary was just absolute crap. Chris Scott would have torn strips off him for that.

There's nothing to put his set shot woes early in the game down to, other than he's not sufficiently focused. I don't have the stats to back me up, but he always seems to miss these shots early, but nails them later in the game.

And I gave him one vote, which sort of sums up the overall performance from the team. It was probably line-ball between him and Ling and on reflection, Ling was pretty unlucky.

I get the feeling that second quarter effort will be swept under the rug and forgotten too easily. That was absolute shite. We've always taken the good with the bad with Steve Johnson, because the good usually outweighs the bad, but that left foot shot from the boundary was just absolute crap. Chris Scott would have torn strips off him for that.

There's nothing to put his set shot woes early in the game down to, other than he's not sufficiently focused. I don't have the stats to back me up, but he always seems to miss these shots early, but nails them later in the game.

And I gave him one vote, which sort of sums up the overall performance from the team. It was probably line-ball between him and Ling and on reflection, Ling was pretty unlucky.

I think it very much sums up the overall performance..... When i left a mate and I were discussing the result and he said 'name our 5 best players' and we both struggled - which said the most about last night

I wasn't impressed for the most part... I thought in the 1st quarter he could have had 3 goals... Got none from being too cute.

I almost didn't want him to get the ball as the game went on as he was just so frustrating to watch...
Then he lit it up the last 10 mins

Such a frustrating player

I don't care if he doesn't kick miracle goals from the boundary line, but those set shots in the first quarter that he missed were unforgivable. They would have put us 4-5 goals up. Who knows what may have happened.

Having said that, at least he lifted. There were plenty who didn't.

I cringe when he gets the ball anywhere but the forward line... its pretty funny that someone so highly rated can make me do that!

But, I'm hoping SJ and Chapman bring their efforts from the last quarter into the rest of the season... both for me have been down in recent weeks, and our forward line has suffered.

In form SJ, Chapman and Varcoe will go a long way in improving the side I reckon!

I cringe when he gets the ball anywhere but the forward line... its pretty funny that someone so highly rated can make me do that!

But, I'm hoping SJ and Chapman bring their efforts from the last quarter into the rest of the season... both for me have been down in recent weeks, and our forward line has suffered.

In form SJ, Chapman and Varcoe will go a long way in improving the side I reckon!

We've said it many times, Johnson simply has to revert to doing the basics. If he can discipline himself to doing just that, watch his best form return.

He also needs to be put in the forward line much more. He has been the quiet achiever this season, I think he's been very consistent and playing a midfield role not getting a lot of praise for it. But he is so much more dangerous up forward. Has to spend more time there.

We've said it many times, Johnson simply has to revert to doing the basics. If he can discipline himself to doing just that, watch his best form return.

He also needs to be put in the forward line much more. He has been the quiet achiever this season, I think he's been very consistent and playing a midfield role not getting a lot of praise for it. But he is so much more dangerous up forward. Has to spend more time there.

It's a no brainer for mine. We are a much better side when he is up forward creating havoc.

The delivery to him was also appalling.

and his delivery to team mates was equally appalling.

he also should not cross the centre line into the back half, i cringe whenever he has the ball there.

partridge, you make a good point, he kicks that gimme from 40m and we are 4 goals up which could have really knocked the wind out of em.

and his delivery to team mates was equally appalling.

Not sure how many times a decent pass was directed at a leading Pods/Vardy/Ottens inside 50 last night, but I'd wager there weren't many of them. The delivery inside 50 was in general, abysmal and gave our leading forwards no chance.

It's easy to look at the two easy set shots he missed in the first and think about how we only lost by 4 points...

And Vardy's, and Pods' x 2 and Duncan's and Brown's.

While there is absolutely no question that Essendon deserved to win the game and it would have been a heist if we had have won, it's also true that we shot ourselves in the foot by inaccuracy. I'm still trying to work out how we had significantly more scoring shots than they did, to be honest.

Not sure how many times a decent pass was directed at a leading Pods/Vardy/Ottens inside 50 last night, but I'd wager there weren't many of them. The delivery inside 50 was in general, abysmal and gave our leading forwards no chance.

i agree, i guess he is such a smart player and he sometimes seems to choose the toughest option (and admitted on of the footy shows as much).

Johnno used to be one of our best set shot for goals, but lately his straight set shots aren't that crash hot. He kicks those 2 in the first and we're up over 30 points. Totally differnet psychology for the game. Might be because he's buggered from all that running up the field. Another reason to keep him in the F50!

Stevie actually surprised me a bit. I think he showed more tackling intensity than i have seen him show in a long time. Yes it did get sloppy at some times but i like seeing him add that extra forward pressure.

I agree with most though in saying he should be left in the forward where he is the most dangerous.

Leave him in the forward 50, let him wave his magic running at goal, that is what he does best. Give him another role and too much time to think and he is not at his best. He is an instinctive player so play to his strengths. Manage his talent.

Stevie actually surprised me a bit. I think he showed more tackling intensity than i have seen him show in a long time. Yes it did get sloppy at some times but i like seeing him add that extra forward pressure.

This.

Yes, he missed two easy goals. Yes it is frustrating, but if he had kicked them he would have kicked 5 and we would be in here talking about how Stevie J single handedly dragged Geelong over the line.

As it is, he missed a couple of easy ones, kicked a couple of hard ones. Basically the usual for Stevie.

What impressed me though was his intensity and forward pressure. I don't think I've seen him tackle like that before and hope he can replicate that for the rest of the season.