hazzap

Draftee
G'day folks just wondering who you guys thought would be a better asset to your team. Matthew Stokes or Cyril Rioli?
i think Stokes but there is a few who disagree.

Despite similar positions, they do play different roles. Tough to say. I'd have Rioli in the Varcoe/Byrnes role in a heartbeat, but I'm not sure I'd swap him for Stokesy.

Rilo is probably more skilful in general terms, but Stokes is hard and tough and always gives his best. Cant ask for more then that.

Simple answer is Stokes!!!!!!

I think it now has got to a point were people really underestimate how good some of our lessen known players are.

Stokes is a f#cking ripper!!!!!

I would take Stokes but agree that right now in the team it might not make a whole lot of difference. Stokes is very good above his head, what is Rioli like?

He's the complete package.

Brilliant left foot, strong overhead (like Stokes), ****en fast and his agility is unmatched in the AFL IMO.

The way he flies for a mark, lands, gets up again in 0.06 seconds is freakish.

Hard to compare because they play different roles.

Right now stokes is obviously better. Longer term rioli will be a gun.

Stokes is better in contested situations and is very good overhead in contested marks.

Rioli has more tricks, and watch out when gets a bigger tank, more consistency and a run in the midfield.

Both seem to gel very well with their team mates.

Dont forget at Hawthorn we have cuz Cameron and he looks to be almost as good.

I'll take Stokes thanks.

Rioli i think we forever stay a small forward. Stokes can match it with the big boys in the middle.

More versatile and will proove to be more consistent over his career.

Right now Stokes is better.

But watch out for Rioli, he will be a genuine superstar of the competition in a few years' time. I'm predicting GAJ-like career progression - starting off as a brilliant small forward and developing into a brilliant midfielder.

I'll take Stokes thanks.

Rioli i think we forever stay a small forward. Stokes can match it with the big boys in the middle.

More versatile and will proove to be more consistent over his career.

Rioli has already had midfield rotations this season. Once he develops his aerobic stamina, he'll be given even greater responsibility in the midfield.

Stokes!!!!!!!

Rioli has had a great first year but i'd like to see him back it up for a year or 2 before saying he's going to be a gun. Theres been plenty of flashy little aboriginal players come in for a year or 2 of great footy and then they just vanish. I know Stokes hasnt been around all that long, but he was a mature age recruit and knows the importance of consistency and hard work and will remain in Geelongs team for many years getting his 15-20 touches and 2 goals every game. Time will tell with Rioli, but right now i'll take little Stokesy:thumbsu: