Media Swans Talk in the Media 2022

Our club in the Media

i know king has been quite bullish about the swans the past month or so, but i reckon that wrap of friday night's game delivered us a bunch of back-handed compliments ... the reference to callum mills just "doing the basics over and over" was one example
i shouldn't grumble ... but it seemed he was trying as hard as he could not to give us due credit, praising through gritted teeth
Sorry but that's just paranoia creeping in...

There were no back-handed compliments, King has been lauding us from the Essendon game.

He noted the things we improved, issues we faced, and overall effort.

And btw, that is exactly what Mills does. He performs the basics at the highest possible level, over and over again. It takes skill, commitment and grit, and he has all three in spades!

There were no back-handed compliments, King has been lauding us from the Essendon game.

And btw, that is exactly what Mills does. He performs the basics at the highest possible level, over and over again. It takes skill, commitment and grit, and he has all three in spades!
If anything he talked more about Melbourne than us in general

AFL Exchange had an interesting chat about who our most important player is in our flag tilt. Though they all agreed on Papley, it was nice to see some different names thrown up beyond the generic responses. And some Hickey love too. From the 15:20 mark.

How I took it too. He seemed to me to be kinda suggesting why Millsy had been flying under the radar a bit. He's on the bus.

AFL Exchange had an interesting chat about who our most important player is in our flag tilt. Though they all agreed on Papley, it was nice to see some different names thrown up beyond the generic responses. And some Hickey love too. From the 15:20 mark.

3rd one they highlighted was Tom McCartin. Said we don't have anyone else who can fill that role, and you have to agree. Rampe could play as a lock down defender again and would probably do it in a pinch but we're much better placed with T McCartin as our linchpin

Yep I thought it was a very astute call, and unsurprisingly it came from Sarah Olle who is a Swans fan and knows our team better beyond the Buddy/Heeney/Mills extent.

yeah, i get that, but you could use that argument for every great player ... "they do the basics well" ...
to me, that describes someone like george hewett ... i just think mills (like other great players) is more than that
leigh montagna the other night praised angus brayshaw as "the best two-way runner in the league"
a month or so ago someone else put that label on mills, which i agree with, and which indicates he's more than just doing the basics well

i wasn't really having a hard go at king's comments, they just seemed to be underplaying the swans' efforts generally the other night, and more talking about what melbourne didn't do ... just expecting more enthusiastic praise for a team who stormed into the final four by comprehensively beating the defending premiers

Three swans mentioned in Heroes

I don't wanna continue the "woe is us" fest, but geez I didn't like Slobbo's comments in that segment about how we didn't have many brilliant players but that we played as a team.

THEY ARE THE SAME ******* THING!

I honestly can't wait for the day when footy media heads realise that the best players are the ones that create wins, not the ones that look the most exciting or have the most highlights or get the biggest stats. I doubt this dawn will happen in my lifetime though.

So, NRL free hit on Saturdays.

Gonna be great for the growth up North. Absolutely brain dead deal from AFL on that front.
San Diego Lol GIF by San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance
James Van Der Beek Applause GIF
orson welles applause GIF

I don't get why the AFL just doesn't go:

7: Friday Night, Saturday Arvo, Sunday twilight
9: Saturday Arvo, Saturday Night, Sunday arvo
10: Saturday twilight, Saturday Night, Sunday arvo
Foxtel: Everything, own commentators on each game

That way every game is FTA, Foxtel still get exclusive commentary and every game with no ads

Oh right, short term money.