Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025

Our club in the Media

Jun 2, 2014
The Rebel Alliance
This content is brought to you by Chief and the Mods of Big Footy.
PLEASE READ:

A reminder to all on the rules of copywritten content.

You will be held responsible for the articles you post that infringe copyright.

Mods will issue warnings when posters reproduce full articles on Big Footy.

You will receive something like this and an initial 1-point infraction. Contued posting of articles will incur a Serious Infraction of 5 points.

So please remember, when using material that may be the copyright of another party, you must:
  • Use only that portion you are directly commenting on. A reasonable guide might be a paragraph or two.
  • Always link to the source.

It was bullshit at the beginning of the year and it's bullshit now. The notion that we need to play like polite choirboys because we've had the nerve to make 2 grand finals in 3 years but not win them is absolute crap.

If we had won either of them it would all be ok would it? How about if we'd had honourable losses in the prelims instead, would there be this much scrutiny on a couple of players playing a physical game and returning serve?

It's revisionist nonsense.

Just play football its embarrassing to do the faux tough stuff when we collapse in big games so often.

We dont have the reputation to back it up like a Hodge lead Hawthorn or Zorko lead Brisbane.

Article is spot on

Just play football its embarrassing to do the faux tough stuff when we collapse in big games so often.

We dont have the reputation to back it up like a Hodge lead Hawthorn or Zorko lead Brisbane.

Article is spot on
The revisionism is complete. Zorko sledged a Demons player and was left in tears. He does the faux tough stuff and talks it all up.

You only hold Zorko up as an example because he won a flag.

The revisionism is complete. Zorko sledged a Demons player and was left in tears. He does the faux tough stuff and talks it all up.

Zorko is a shit human being but yes on the football field he backs it up.

I was cringing hard and hoped Papley did not have a go at that first Vietnamese player on his debut.

I think that is the point. If it gives you an edge and is working to its intended purpose, then go for it...
It is hardly intimidating when you are losing.
I love Papley and I think it does get under opposition skin..and helps get them off their game.
It's not that tough to bump and carry on ..from any team. When it is the top team I think it does affect opposition.
Like the aussie test team when they were all conquering it affected opposition.
Current day team has just wound up the other teams at stages.. and backfires.
Like today's Swans.. it isn't helping our cause

I think that is the point. If it gives you an edge and is working to its intended purpose, then go for it...
It is hardly intimidating when you are losing.
I love Papley and I think it does get under opposition skin..and helps get them off their game.
It's not that tough to bump and carry on ..from any team. When it is the top team I think it does affect opposition.
Like the aussie test team when they were all conquering it affected opposition.
Current day team has just wound up the other teams at stages.. and backfires.
Like today's Swans.. it isn't helping our cause

Opposition dgaf about Papley carrying on imo. I mean the kid just stepped over him yesterday he didn't give a toss

Article is spot on
You're ignoring the fact that Zorko was ordinary in the GF loss to the Pies and awful in both their prelims against Geelong. Plus he has a horrific tribunal record and abused Petty regarding his sick mum.

So, is your assertion that Zorko "backs it up" as a leader entirely down to 1 game last September?

If we had won instead, is Papley suddenly a tremendous leader?

It's less about the opposition and more about him and the team. Certainly worked against the Giants in the QF last year.

Nah i disagree sorry, what worked was he his head over the ball and he kicked crucial goals, made key plays , looked for team mates and made some exceptional handballs and spacing in our last few goals including setting Amartey up.

Each to their own but to me charging after Greenon the siren at 1/4 time while Luke darcy creamed his jeans for instance. I mean it hardly fired the side up in the second quarter .

He is great when he just plays footy to me.

I didn't think Luke Hodge was great kissing buddy in 2014 either , the getting into the face shot doesn't do much for me that's all.

You might tell me it fires him up and got him engaged , maybe that's true , but it seems to not be working lately, I reckon it's more when he attacks the ball he gets going and the carry on is more because he is struggling.

Opposition dgaf about Papley carrying on imo. I mean the kid just stepped over him yesterday he didn't give a toss
I'm not meaning they are intimidated by him.
I think he has energy and he can get under their skin.
Either way it seems like quite a few don't like what papley brings.. I get that too
I didn't mind either when we first started going after an opposition player because it seemed to work a bit.
Now it is overused and having no affect.
Almost the opposite.. shining the light on when we fail rather than them.

I'm not meaning they are intimidated by him.
I think he has energy and he can get under their skin.
Either way it seems like quite a few don't like what papley brings.. I get that too
I didn't mind either when we first started going after an opposition player because it seemed to work a bit.
Now it is overused and having no affect.
Almost the opposite.. shining the light on when we fail rather than them.

I think when he runs through packs bumps and celebrates with his team etc he is an energiser bunny and can run in a clearance, kick a goal that ignites and he can involve team mates etc. I think when he is struggling he moves more to ohh i'll get under the skin and i think opposition aren't that bothered.

But that's just me .

I think when he runs through packs bumps and celebrates with his team etc he is an energiser bunny and can run in a clearance, kick a goal that ignites and he can involve team mates etc. I think when he is struggling he moves more to ohh i'll get under the skin and i think opposition aren't that bothered.

But that's just me .
What in the media was said about this , i presume it's Papley ?

Almost at 400 , you are the bradman of this thread

There's a big article on Papley being a flog written by Jay Clark

You're ignoring the fact that Zorko was ordinary in the GF loss to the Pies and awful in both their prelims against Geelong. Plus he has a horrific tribunal record and abused Petty regarding his sick mum.

So, is your assertion that Zorko "backs it up" as a leader entirely down to 1 game last September?

If we had won instead, is Papley suddenly a tremendous leader?
Yeah, apparently our players are the only ones who can't stand up in big moments (despite all the times that they have) & our club is the only one that falls apart or has consecutive goals kicked against them.

You can't just completely ignore all the failings of other players and teams and cherry pick the good to compare against us.

But that's just me .
I love what Paps brings to the team, he has had a tough run of injury and is not at his best this year, due to a lack of any continuity or consistency, but he usually backs up his talk with walking the walk too.

He naturally brings energy to the team and crowd when he just goes about and plays I agree. Winning a clearance, taking diving one handed marks, kicking goals.

He also gets white line fever and enjoys having a yap, can be guilty of over celebrating and is generally at the heart of most of the niggle.

I wouldn’t change him, as it has worked more often than not, adds a bit of spice and excitement to a game. A lot of the time he is just responding to a sledge or yap from the opposition too, so there is that.

In a way he is like a Ballantyne for Freo or Milne from Saints, opposition fans hate them but as a supporter I love having Paps on our team!

I love what Paps brings to the team, he has had a tough run of injury and is not at his best this year, due to a lack of any continuity or consistency, but he usually backs up his talk with walking the walk too.

He naturally brings energy to the team and crowd when he just goes about and plays I agree. Winning a clearance, taking diving one handed marks, kicking goals.

He also gets white line fever and enjoys having a yap, can be guilty of over celebrating and is generally at the heart of most of the niggle.

I wouldn’t change him, as it has worked more often than not, adds a bit of spice and excitement to a game. A lot of the time he is just responding to a sledge or yap from the opposition too, so there is that.

In a way he is like a Ballantyne for Freo or Milne from Saints, opposition fans hate them but as a supporter I love having Paps on our team!
I think all this was bullshit and didn't happen

Yep and neither of them won a flag either I guess

Media Swans Talk in the Media 2025