Sydney Stack Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Roksman

And how many others who have broken the law have found themselves in a 4 month saga like Stack. The law has fined hundreds of Covid breacher's an almost none have gone through this ridiculous process. Also there are degrees in law, and Stack's breach is probably the most minor a breach can get in relation to actually spreading Covid.

Funny how western Australia billionaire class don't worry about the corona laws.

One law for the rich.

One law for richmond young guns.

And how many others who have broken the law have found themselves in a 4 month saga like Stack. The law has fined hundreds of Covid breacher's an almost none have gone through this ridiculous process. Also there are degrees in law, and Stack's breach is probably the most minor a breach can get in relation to actually spreading Covid.

It's ridiculous that they locked up him over Christmas. An absolutely heartless decision. Hopefully the sentence he receives will be substantially less than the time he's already done, if it's any time at all.

What Stack did was egregious. He behaved more than once like Corona virus, that has wiped out 2 million people and counting, is some big joke.

I hope he might have learnt something from his weeks in sing-sing, I'm glad if he cops a significant fine, and I damn well hope noone pays it for him this time round. I also hope like hell there is noone in his sphere telling him he has been hard done by and 'it's not like you murdered someone', or this type of behaviour will just repeat again and again.

Time to man up and take responsibility for his actions, then come home to Tigerland.

It's ridiculous that they locked up him over Christmas. An absolutely heartless decision. Hopefully the sentence he receives will be substantially less than the time he's already done, if it's any time at all.
he was in over xmas becasue he transgressed just before xmas, in a way that made it impossible not to remand him in custody (imagine you were the Magistrate and Syd was telling you '*this time* I promise I'll go and quarantine properly where I say I'm staying'...).

It's crap for Syd and his family, but you reap what you sow. I don't think there was any malice involved, I don't think the Magistrate could responsibly have done anything different.

As a Richmond supporter, I'd love to see him sentenced to time served and on the first plane back to Melbourne in March. He can then do 3 months of pre-seasona and come into the side half-way through the year. If he keeps his head down and work his backside off then then he will earn the respect of his coaches and teammates.

As a football person, I doubt he's got it in him. The "he's a good kid at heart" / "he's had a tough upbringing" crowd might be just a little bit one-eyed. If he played for another team, most of us would be laughing at him and his team. He's acted like an immature selfish footballer and will probably throw his career away because he isn't willing to put the team first.

I trust the club will make the right call.

If he can’t get back to the club before March his season and career is pretty much over - his conditioning will be way off and you simply can’t get that back during the season as training is different at that time of the year. can’t afford to miss an AFL preseason at this stage of his career

What are you saying?

He has been treated differently to everyone else because he:
1. Is indigenous
2. Is an AFL player
3. Plays for Richmond
?

If he can’t get back to the club before March his season and career is pretty much over - his conditioning will be way off and you simply can’t get that back during the season as training is different at that time of the year. can’t afford to miss an AFL preseason at this stage of his career

He is suspended anyway. If stack gets fit by round 5 or whatever should be ok?

Richmond conditioning decisions are very smart.

In recent years they have got at least the following players up in season from longish in-season layoffs, or having missed large chunks of pre-season:

2020 - Edwards, Houli, Nankervis, Prestia, Astbury

2019 - Stack, Pickett, Castagna, Riewoldt, Cotchin, Nankervis, Short

2018 - Rioli

2017 - Vlastuin, Graham.

SO I would think it is perfectly possible for Stack to turn up not in great condition in March and 10-12 weeks later be ready for AFL footy. Given his name is on the above list of players who have done it before you might even say it is probable that Sydney will be ready to provide fresh legs and energy to our team in the second half of 2021. 😁

Richmond conditioning decisions are very smart.

In recent years they have got at least the following players up in season from longish in-season layoffs, or having missed large chunks of pre-season:

2020 - Edwards, Houli, Nankervis, Prestia, Astbury

2019 - Stack, Pickett, Castagna, Riewoldt, Cotchin, Nankervis, Short

2018 - Rioli

2017 - Vlastuin, Graham.

SO I would think it is perfectly possible for Stack to turn up not in great condition in March and 10-12 weeks later be ready for AFL footy. Given his name is on the above list of players who have done it before you might even say it is probable that Sydney will be ready to provide fresh legs and energy to our team in the second half of 2021. 😁

They almost got stack up for the 2019 afl grand final too

What Stack did was egregious. He behaved more than once like Corona virus, that has wiped out 2 million people and counting, is some big joke.

I hope he might have learnt something from his weeks in sing-sing, I'm glad if he cops a significant fine, and I damn well hope noone pays it for him this time round. I also hope like hell there is noone in his sphere telling him he has been hard done by and 'it's not like you murdered someone', or this type of behaviour will just repeat again and again.

Time to man up and take responsibility for his actions, then come home to Tigerland.
Stack's first outing was stupid, typical of a young bloke with a few beers under his belt thinking he could get away with it. Bit him big time. His second outing was also stupid because he put himself in the situation he has found himself in. Just like thousands of others have done during Covid, 99% more serious than Stack's. Stack had been living a 'normal' life in WA. No restrictions because the borders were closed. His mistake when flying from Vic to WA which required no quarantine was for his plane to stop over in Adelaide, another state that hadn't had a case in 23 odd days. Some days later the border was opened to WA. Pretty stiff luck when you think about it. Hardly egregious behaviour. Hardly putting people in danger. But rules are rules, and he has copped a way over the top penalty for it. I'm am quite sure he has 'manned up', whatever that means. I'm sure in his 19 days in prison he has had ample time to think about it.

What are you saying?

He has been treated differently to everyone else because he:
1. Is indigenous
2. Is an AFL player
3. Plays for Richmond
?
Reckon no.1 for sure. Shock horror, WA law wouldn't do that! 40% jail, 77% juvenile detention speaks for itself.
And they are making an example of him.

I’d very much doubt it , best case would be if he trains with a local side , I’m fuming about this as it looks to be a waste of a very precious list spot to me
I can't believe how long its taking or that he can't use Zoom for his police visits and live and train in Melb. but the only way a precious list spot opens up is if Stack quits. He's wasn't going to be playing before mid way through the 2021. We don't need his rookie list spot, Couroupis, Mansell and Green probably won't play senior footy. I have low expectation that Stack'll get a senior game, but if everything works out we might have Stack playing for RFC in 2019 form

Last edited by a moderator:
Reckon no.1 for sure. Shock horror, WA law wouldn't do that! 40% jail, 77% juvenile detention speaks for itself.
And they are making an example of him.

I hope that’s not the case ... BUT he should never have put himself at risk of this happening

Hopefully there is a happy ending to this saga

Ridiculous that his bail conditions require him to remain in the state when a custodial sentence in addition to what he has already served seems way over the top. **** WA and their sanctimonious mindset. Time to levy some mining taxes.

Ridiculous that his bail conditions require him to remain in the state when a custodial sentence in addition to what he has already served seems way over the top. fu** WA and their sanctimonious mindset. Time to levy some mining taxes.

A lot of misinformed assumptions on here. Sounds like a Trump rally.

The delay in sentencing to March is almost certainly at his legal teams request and in the meantime he is probably very happy to stay in WA.

Ridiculous that his bail conditions require him to remain in the state when a custodial sentence in addition to what he has already served seems way over the top. fu** WA and their sanctimonious mindset. Time to levy some mining taxes.

Imprison blacks at about 10 times the rate as south africa in its hey day.

Classy joint, WA.

A lot of misinformed assumptions on here. Sounds like a Trump rally.

The delay in sentencing to March is almost certainly at his legal teams request and in the meantime he is probably very happy to stay in WA.

Sounds like BLM rally more like..

Stack probably wants to return to his football club and train. Quite naughty if you to say otherwise

Sounds like BLM rally more like..

Stack probably wants to return to his football club and train. Quite naughty if you to say otherwise

With his mates and GF in Perth and the hard slog of pre-season awaiting in Melb I highly doubt it.

Because heaps of senior players and coaches and ex coaches have said so, Hardwick included.
Ever heard the coaches hammer a Richmond player? Absolutely they'd say he's a good guy. They have to pump him up. Every player on the list is spoken about in glowing terms. It's all hear say. Rose coloured glasses. Still think he's a selfish prick with no regard for others.

Honestly, I cannot for the life of me understand how someone that has never met the kid can say something about him. You've read Konrad's piece on him? You've got people on this board, on this thread that have met him and speak highly of him.

The troubles he had growing up, don't just go away when you enter an AFL system. You don't cast someone aside my minor hiccups. You've got plenty of people on AFL lists that have done much worse than Sydney Stack.