Sydney Swans Draft Thread

How tall is Xavier Richards where does he play. Just watched the video and seemed to be maybe a half forward did I read it right? Jeepers he looks alot like Teddy. Dont know if I can cope with watching them both on the field my confuse them.

He seemed to use the ball well and take a great mark. Also very cool under pressure. I would be happy if the Swans grabbed him with the second pick after Mitchell.

Another KPP player we should look at is Brody Mihocek. AA in the 18s this year and from Burnie in North-West Tasmania can play at both ends. Strong mark and great kick. Cracked the seniors late in the year and was named MoM 1 and in the best 3 other times in 5 games.

Probably just a case of doesn't need to, he knows where he is being selected and impressing other clubs at testing is a waste of his time.

He could go to draft camp and be like a really hot girl in a bar knowing that a hundred guys are looking at her but only one of them will ever get to touch her. She however enjoys teasing the other 99 guys that will never get a shot with her :p

RUNVS mate you sound like you're speaking from experience :DAre you one of the 99 or 1?

#AFLdraft order (interim) has been released:

http://j.mp/ntj8mi

Our 1st live pick is now #43 (not 40, thx to compo & priority selections)

Will we trade to get back into the 1st round?

Lousy lot that Vlad and his underlings RTTF. We used to be the Pet, ask any Bigfooty blowhard. Now it's GWS! Number 43 is our 2nd round pick -FV<king outrageous!

Perhaps, someone such as Shane Kersten could slip to 43, maybe...

I saw a couple of games of the Geelong Falcons this year, and Jai Sheahan played Centre Half Forward and reminded me a lot of Reid. Strong hands, probably a more accurate kick of the footy, but very skinny. Will need to get stronger, but I haven't even heard anyone talk about him so I might have seen him on a couple of good days. Worth a look.

Someone mentioned Sam Gordon as a potential pick up at 61. I actually doubt he's coming our way now. 61 will more than likely be used to upgrade Nathan Gordon.

My bet is Tom Curran for 43

Wouldn't be surprised if the club is still at least considering using 61 as a live pick, or hasn't made up its mind about whether to promote Gordon. Otherwise we wouldn't have bothered haggling with the Crows for another pick to send to St Kilda in case they budged on Walsh. We could just have earmarked 61 to send them. Assuming Gordon is elevated, we can use just use a later pick. There is no limit on the picks available to clubs other than the spaces available on the list.

We're one player down at the moment (net) on list size. Sumner and Bevan are probable delistees. Depends on whether they find someone to shove out of the door. Another option (though maybe unlikely) is to move Jude to an outside veteran, in which case our list size can increase by one. But there probably isn't much point in doing that if it is just to promote Gordon, since he could be played in the seniors as a nominated rookie if we don't have two outside veterans.

The only reason I can think to do that would be if they want to retain McNeil as a rookie for another year. They change the rookie list rules so often nowadays that it is hard to keep track of them, but I think a club is allowed to nominate one 3rd year rookie without taking them off the list and redrafting (plus international rookie McCaigue is allowed three years as well, I think, regardless of other rookies).

Looking at Sam Gordon through the eyes of a few Phantom Drafters

-----------------Others with AFL Potential----------------
41. Brett O’Hanlon
60. Sam Gordon
65. Bradley Hill
-----------------Others worth a shot----------------
66. Brett Eddy

Round 3
#60 St Kilda - Sam Gordon (197cm forward - Geelong)

There is a lot to like with Gordon, he will likely push the 200cm mark and his attack on the ball is really good. More importantly though, is his marking and work in one-on-one situations which is improving with every game. Kicking on goal can still be hit and miss, one day will kick 5.0 then the next will kick 1.4. AFL Comparison: Kurt Tippett.
61. GEEL – Sam Gordon

Most of them rate him around the 60 mark.

And in Snoops early Phantom Draft he was picked up at 46.

# 46 GWS - Sam Gordon (Geelong Falcons / 197 / 87 / '93)

Why: Look a bit unsure where to place Sam in the draft simply because I think someone might end up with a bit of a bargain here. Was a choice between he and Tomlinson and frankly couldnt split them. Went with Gordon simply bc I think he has the attributes to become a power fwd of the comp and a few judges in the know rate him highly. Ex AIS kid who is a super height for a KPF but has been up and down this year. Plays APS so we havent seen much of him but he went reasonably well at the champs vs Tas and SA and was missed in their final game after injuring his ankle. Came back in last couple of weeks for Falcons and has been good. In fact he has done well in all his TAC games this year. Is reasonably good aerobically and good over the first few yards to create space and distance but he is an absolute competitor and in the vision I have seen just looks like he will become a player. What worried me a bit was he only got a SS invite which of all the players to date have missed a DC invite this one staggered me the most (almost as much as Charleston not getting a Metro gig:mad:). Anyway - stuff it. I rate him highly.

Others: As I said nearly went with Tomlinson but the height (192cm) worries me a bit for KP but look he is a terrific swingman and was impressive in his game vs NSW on Hartley after Patton had been towelled by him - he should go soon! Also thought about Sheahan, Mihocek, Hill, OBrien, Charleston, Newness at this pick. Very even at this point.

I wouldn't object entirely if we were to target him with 43, and if still available at 61 would pounce in an instant.

Xavier Richards for mine, don't know where he's rated but think he could fill the role Lewis Johnston was to play. We still need those tall, lead up forwards imo as cover is very important.

They change the rookie list rules so often nowadays that it is hard to keep track of them
Ain't that the truth.

International rookie McCaigue is allowed three years as well, I think, regardless of other rookies).
McKaigue might have been drafted before the International rules were changed, but AFAIK Irish/GAA players can not be listed as International Rookies anymore, they are subject to standard rules and are included on the regular Rookie list.

Gordon, McNeil & Kruger are Zone/NSW Scholarship selections (we can have up to 3?) which AFAIK sit outside the regular Rookie list and are classified as Additional Rookies. They can be retained for up to 3yrs.

Competition for Rookie spots next year is going to be intense, but I think the biggest issue is not going to be choosing who deserves a spot, it's what the club can afford.

The Academy establishment & ongoing costs are not inconsiderable and the club now has to spend 100% of TPP. They can't dip into that well any more to fund/subsidise other activities.

On the plus side, now that the Academy has been established, the club can "hold" on to local players until they are 21 (and play them in the Reserves) with first option to list, so there's not as much pressure or inclination to Rookie them.

McKaigue might have been drafted before the International rules were changed, but AFAIK Irish/GAA players can not be listed as International Rookies anymore, they are subject to standard rules and are included on the regular Rookie list.

My understanding is that Irish players count as International Rookies from the perspective of being able to be retained for three years but non-International Rookies from the perspective of they count towards the normal rookie list quota, rather than sitting outside for their first year, which applies to rookies from all other overseas countries.

I was under the impression that Irish rookies where not allowed to be retained separately as a third year rookie with another on the list. Therefore not allowing us to maintain both McNeill and McKaigue on the list as a third year. But Liz I hate to argue obscure afl laws with you as all who try tend to lose.

Had a look at the stats for Mitchell's last 5 games for the year.

He averaged 31 disposals (14 kicks 17 handballs), 5 marks, 9 tackles and a goal a game.

Not bad for a pick 21 :)

Anyone going to attend the draft? I've already got hold of some tickets. Really excited to go and see it all happen live.

It seems unlikely we will go after Setanta as we now have Walsh but its confirmed now that we were interested in him, GWS are loking for mature bodies and have now expressed interest in him, Bevan, Baker from the Saints, and Rick Ladson from the Hawks..

Just quietly Im hoping we re draft Bevan as a mature age but I wouldnt know how it works..

It seems unlikely we will go after Setanta as we now have Walsh but its confirmed now that we were interested in him, GWS are loking for mature bodies and have now expressed interest in him, Bevan, Baker from the Saints, and Rick Ladson from the Hawks..

Just quietly Im hoping we re draft Bevan as a mature age but I wouldnt know how it works..

I also dont understand the intricacies of how it works, but would love to have Bevan back on our list. I know his skill level is limited, but there is no one who tries harder or goes harder (maybe apart from Bolton and Kennedy) at the ball than Bevan.

There is close to zero chance of Bevan being re-drafted. What would be the point of delisting him in the first place? And why would we want to draft a 28 year old that wasn't played in the seniors in 2011 despite being uninjured the whole season.

Bevan needs a change of scenery and a chance to play a couple more years of senior footy before his career is over. GWS is a much better option for him than the Swans.

There is close to zero chance of Bevan being re-drafted. What would be the point of delisting him in the first place?

I thought it was in the rules that we had to let a certain number go?

If he is a better option when we have a pick than some unproven spud kid and we believe he will offer more next year so be it.

I said before that I heard Bevan was going to GWS and good on him as he will probably get more game time and more money, on a personal level I would love to see him retained as depth as I love the way he goes about it and he is a premiership player, great to have around the club.

We delisted two more than the minimum we had to.

And even if the club thought he offered better depth than other options, it would be a very selfish thing to do to redraft him ahead of another club that thinks it can offer him significant senior team opportunities.

I thought it was in the rules that we had to let a certain number go?

If he is a better option when we have a pick than some unproven spud kid and we believe he will offer more next year so be it.

I said before that I heard Bevan was going to GWS and good on him as he will probably get more game time and more money, on a personal level I would love to see him retained as depth as I love the way he goes about it and he is a premiership player, great to have around the club.

Bolton, Bradshaw and Sumner would have gotten us to bare minimum without needing to delist Bevan.

On the topic of drafting though, lots of Phantom drafts seem to have us picking up Gordon in the 3rd round. I'm not sure he'll make it that far in a draft with slim pickings for talls but would be very keen to get him at that price, reckon its a steal.

Just wondering what others thoughts are on what sort of player we should be targetting with our 2nd rounder, another mid, or project KPD?