Prediction Tall timber down back a massive worry.

• Thread starter Thread starter THATSGOLD

Reid will play every game this year at CHB. He is not gone, he wasn't even injured recently. There are other players in history that have wrecked two seasons with injury and been fine after. Just that some of our supporters are not happy if the sky isn't falling.

Marsh will be a gun too.

Sitting out a ban.
Can't see what the fuss is. We are all saying our backline has the future but lacks experience. Now we are going to give them that experience in a year where we know we are not contenders and the sky is falling?
We threw Pendles back last year. Worked out fine. We do it again. Midfield has more class with Treloar and Aish this season. Will be alright I reckon. Not ideal but it is what it is.
And get a grip, it is becoming embarrassing.
I think TG is perhaps not the most reliable source of all things Collingwood.
If in doubt, just go opposite to TG and you will be pretty right

Actually we have an usual group of depth players particularly the defensive types.

Everyone that's available I'm thinking (note I'm just listing defence types in groups of 6, obviously some of the second group would play in rotation etc)

First 6
Williams ~ Brown ~ Ramsay
Langdon ~ Reid ~ Maynard

Second 6
Macaffer ~ Frost ~ Toovey
Goldsack ~ Marsh ~ Sinclair

Others that can support or play those roles:
Crisp, Varcoe, Greenwood, Broomhead, Oxley.

Injured: Scharenberg who for me is Solid senior player)
Not to mention if we felt inclined, Fasolo could play there, Keefe and Thomas (both suspended)

Actually we have an usual group of depth players particularly the defensive types.

Everyone that's available I'm thinking (note I'm just listing defence types in groups of 6, obviously some of the second group would play in rotation etc)

First 6
Williams ~ Brown ~ Ramsay
Langdon ~ Reid ~ Maynard

Second 6
Macaffer ~ Frost ~ Toovey
Goldsack ~ Marsh ~ Sinclair

Others that can support or play those roles:
Crisp, Varcoe, Greenwood, Broomhead, Oxley.

Injured: Scharenberg who for me is Solid senior player)
Not to mention if we felt inclined, Fasolo could play there, Keefe and Thomas (both suspended)
And still you forgot Moore who was tried in defense . Pendles went back too last season. Defense we have reasonable depth except for covering the opposition gorilla fwd's and a bit of polish coming out.

Worked for Tarrant. Whether Buckley has the tactical mind reinvent a player is yet to be seen under his coaching regime.

I always fall for you TG. Bucks has 'reinvented' some players. Examples include moving Reid up forward in 2013 (year TBC) and Heritier to the wing, IIRC.

And still you forgot Moore who was tried in defense . Pendles went back too last season. Defense we have reasonable depth except for covering the opposition gorilla fwd's and a bit of polish coming out.
Yes I left off Moore, even Adams, Pendlebury, Sidebehind could do roles there.

I always fall for you TG. Bucks has 'reinvented' some players. Examples include moving Reid up forward in 2013 (year TBC) and Heritier to the wing, IIRC.
Just go opposite to TG, can't be far wrong.
The Col Klink of Big footy

Yes I left off Moore, even Adams, Pendlebury, Sidebehind could do roles there.
Sidey , Adams??? Soz but that is really far fetched. Rather have a certain J.White in the mix providing a 4 months apprentice ship.( as depth once sh*ts has hit the fan )

One the best scenes in all of television.
And perfect for TG

Sidey , Adams??? Soz but that is really far fetched. Rather have a certain J.White in the mix providing a 4 months apprentice ship.( as depth once sh*ts has hit the fan )
Then the literal would hit yes, around these threads

And we both forgot Howe, he has been playing back half too. ( was mentioned earlier in the thread :( )

Yes he is another one.
Wow, we have heaps and heaps of possibilities
And the newbies?
Sier so fat he could block the goals
Phillips, Smith, at a pinch?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Worked for Tarrant. Whether Buckley has the tactical mind reinvent a player is yet to be seen under his coaching regime.
love your fishing technic, so l will bite. Tarrant athletic as they come, quick on his feet recovery from the ground to his feet very good ect.
could play on people like buddy then switch to a Hawkins type because of his strength
cloke good has strength. good contested mark what else. turning circle of a whale. cloke is a centre half forward and only that

Reid is fine? No.
Brown needs to play every game.
Frost number 2 tall doesn't make me thrilled.
Marsh number 3 tall. Alarm bells.
Crisp as a tall defender?
Toovey just no. Gault kicked 5 on him ffs.
Moore?.. yeh Cloke will be fine by himself with 5 men hanging off him up front.

Come on man, That's a shitty mismatch anyway. On top of that, i watched that game and most of Gaults goals were gimmes.

Moore?.. yeh Cloke will be fine by himself with 5 men hanging off him up front.

Moore to defence and Cox up forward. They can hang players off Cloke all day if they want to leave Cox one out. The world will not come to and end if Reid is injured. It will provide opportunities for others.

Stop being such a sook and just enjoy the ride wherever it takes us. This year will not be all smooth sailing, just accept the reality of football and enjoy the show.

Doesnt have a particularly good turning circle
Not particularly great at ground level.
Will not be able to take contested marks which is his greatest strength
No run and carry
Not known as a handballer
No right foot
Not a reliable enough kick to clear the ball to a teammate
Nobody to replace him in the forward line

If he doesnt mark the ball in defence and spot up a teammate with the kick he'll be close to useless

Not to mention that Cloke has trained and his body is conditioned to forward work.
While it's quite normal for players to switch forward to back, it's not something that happens overnight (Ben Reid had a season in the VFL learning how to play CHB). And playing as a backman, Cloke would have to build a good understanding with others in the defensive back unit, with players he's never played closely with

I'll put them in correct order for you. Bearing in mind we only need two and can always invent a third tall defender if required eg Crisp White Moore Toovey etc etc etc. Reid officially not injured seriously. Frost and Marsh are as ready as Reid and Brown were at the start of 2010 (and Dawes at the other end for that matter)

Reid Brown Frost Marsh

Now wheres that bullet
Are they in still in order?

Yep. Add White to the list, looking forward to him and Frost doing the job this weekend. He may have reinvented himself, his versatility will be handy.

Reid's latest minor setback is not a soft tissue injury and Browns injury shoudlnt keep him out long...should never have been dropped in the first place but that didnt cause him to get injured. Been really good for the past year and half apart from that trip to Perth.

Marsh has been disappointing so far, minor injuries havent helped but hopefully he gets some form up in the seconds.

The entire team has been shit and that puts extra pressure on the backline

Now that we have some mids back there should be a better defensive mindset in the middle of the ground