Team: Elimination Final

• Thread starter Thread starter WALL-e

Well Balanced side

I can't understand people's concern with playing Moran, Tippett, Maric and Gill

Bottom line is we now go in with 2 recognise Ruckman and 2 Key talls up forward, this structure is fairly standard

Those Anti Gill posters

I can't understand your negativity, Gill is our most natural tall forward, not to mention

Gill's work rate and defensive pressure is :thumbsu:

Gill takes the #1 defender, this assist the second tall, usually Moran or Tippett, especially Moran against Carlton

Gill's always presents, he straightens up the side and the midfielders kick to him with confidence

http://www.afc.com.au/tabid/4417/Default.aspx?newsid=67070Interesting statement that his shoulder is now worse than it was previously. Considering that we've continually been told that it would not get any worse with repeated dislocations.
It sounds like a lie. His shoulder is ****ed. It was ****ed last week too. And it was ****ed against Sydney as well. Just this week it crossed the line from being manageable to unmanageable? Bullcrap.

We were almost brave, but when push came to shove... weren't.

Let's hope the players don't follow the club's lead on Saturday.

It sounds like a lie. His shoulder is ****ed. It was ****ed last week too. And it was ****ed against Sydney as well. Just this week it crossed the line from being manageable to unmanageable? Bullcrap.

We were almost brave, but when push came to shove... weren't.

Let's hope the players don't follow the club's lead on Saturday.

Carl, you must be having a moment. Normally you are lucid and use a great deal of common sense in your posts, but on this topic? Absolutely none. Nadda. Zilch. A big fat zero.

So you are saying, you'd prefer them to play a clearly incapable Porps because it shows big macho tough brave stuff???? and it will spark the other players on to bigger and tougher things???

I'm sure glad you aren't the selector!

Carl, you must be having a moment. Normally you are lucid and use a great deal of common sense in your posts, but on this topic? Absolutely none. Nadda. Zilch. A big fat zero.

So you are saying, you'd prefer them to play a clearly incapable Porps because it shows big macho tough brave stuff???? and it will spark the other players on to bigger and tougher things???

I'm sure glad you aren't the selector!
Maybe I am... but I'm not stopping yet!

1) Yes, I think open displays of courage are beneficial to the team, something which goes beyond a statistical measure. And conversely, acts of cowardice (ie a player taking a soft option) spread like cancer through the rest of the team. This is not restricted to on-field either. A safety-first approach from the coaching staff will lead to a safety-first approach from the players.

2) Whilst he is clearly below even 50% fit, his contribution last week was still good enough to warrant a place in our 22.

Maybe I am... but I'm not stopping yet!

1) Yes, I think open displays of courage are beneficial to the team, something which goes beyond a statistical measure. And conversely, acts of cowardice (ie a player taking a soft option) spread like cancer through the rest of the team. This is not restricted to on-field either. A safety-first approach from the coaching staff will lead to a safety-first approach from the players.

2) Whilst he is clearly below even 50% fit, his contribution last week was still good enough to warrant a place in our 22.

Dont know if i agree with this. He got a soft free kick for one goal, and the second goal clearly was not a goal. His tackles were soft at best and was hand balling and kicking to the opposition. On top of this, he couldn't mark the ball and looked to avoid damage to that shoulder at every possibility. I wouldnt have him in my 22 in his current condition and based on last weeks performance

Forecast for Saturday is fine. Another factor - With 4 boundary umpires being on duty, they will get to throw ins quicker hence we need more big men to contest the ruck contests, especially in the backlines and forward lines. The extra big man allows us to cater for this change in the game, probably far better than Collingwood without having ruckmen having to sprint all over the place to make a contest.

Bugger. Obviousuly not good enough. :(

Keeps D Mac in the side which is OK I guess.

Porpy will be ready for a Darren Jarman like performance in the GF.

Ummm isnt he getting it operated on as soon as Monday? I doubt he can turn around shoulder surgery in 3 weeks.

Well Balanced side

I can't understand people's concern with playing Moran, Tippett, Maric and Gill

Bottom line is we now go in with 2 recognise Ruckman and 2 Key talls up forward, this structure is fairly standard

Those Anti Gill posters

I can't understand your negativity, Gill is our most natural tall forward, not to mention

Gill's work rate and defensive pressure is :thumbsu:

Gill takes the #1 defender, this assist the second tall, usually Moran or Tippett, especially Moran against Carlton

Gill's always presents, he straightens up the side and the midfielders kick to him with confidence

A question to those who want Gill dropped. Who do we replace him with?

McGregor? Jericho? Walker who hasn't even played a game yet?

IMO the right call was made on Porps as his shoulder had deteriorated to the point where he was trying to mark one handed against the bulldogs. He is a very special player but there is very little point in continuing to play him as you will only do long term damage and anyway his contribution was getting less each weak due to the shoulder getting looser.

Dunno about the selection of Moran though. With his inexperience, he doesn't seem the kind of player that you wanna hang your hopes on in finals. If Collingwood send Josh Fraser (or Bryan) forward, then he could play on him. He could be very handy, but then he could bomb out miserably with the pressure of finals.

Reilly is very stiff to miss out and unless he is still carrying an injury, he surely would be a better option than Mackay. Johncock and Douglas are not playing great footy but both are the type who can explode into form. If Johncock plays well, we win.

Cold hard fact is last week Porps was a liability.

When he came back on against the Swans and when he was playing right upto Carlton, his tackling was still softer than usual, but he could raise his arm up at least a little.

You may as well have cut if off against the doggies because he couldn't move it.

In our best 5 when up and running but he wasn't in our best 25 going by last week.

Get right for 09 mate, your a gun.

When he came back on against the Swans and when he was playing right upto Carlton, his tackling was still softer than usual, but he could raise his arm up at least a little.

You may as well have cut if off against the doggies because he couldn't move it.

In our best 5 when up and running but he wasn't in our best 25 going by last week.

If he is more a liability this week than he was last week then the club were wrong about it not getting worse

he should hav been operatd on 6 weeks ago. The Club should now have the guts to come out and say that they got it wrong................or they have bottled out at the last moment.

A question to those who want Gill dropped. Who do we replace him with?

McGregor? Jericho? Walker who hasn't even played a game yet?

Bock replaces Gill. Stevens goes back. Moran/Maric/Tippett rotate between ruck/F50/interchange, keeping all three on the ground as often as possible (i.e. one in ruck, two forward).

But Bock will be AA CHB, why would we take him out of that position?
There’s no doubting that Bock is an excellent CHB, but CHF is a much harder position to hold down. While it may be hard for some to appreciate, Bock’s output last year at CHF (which, averaged out, eclipses Gill’s output this year) is more valuable to the team than his output at CHB this year. Admittedly I had trouble seeing this point of view myself, but having had it pointed out to me, time and perspective have changed my views dramatically.

Stevens in defence? You’re having a laugh!
Nope. Stevens held down a key defensive role for most of last year and did a fine job of it, particularly when you consider that Bassett was missing from the team from round 13 onwards. From round 16 to 18, we scraped through with two close losses and a win against the Power with both Bassett and Rutten out.

All things considered (players missing/form/change in experience from 2007-2008 etc.), our defence was basically no better or worse last year with Bock forward/Stevens back compared to this year (points against in 2007=1712, points against in 2008=1838).

It’s a bit unrealistic to expect so much from Gill, he’s only played 15 games.
Yeah…as a 26 year old. He’s had a golden opportunity to claim a spot in the team this year but hasn’t been able to get anywhere near the form, output, or consistency that made him a shining light at the end of last year. Not only that, because of a high susceptibility to injury, he’s only played 15 out of a possible 45 games, and he was supposed to be out fallback for Hentschel!

The club didn't get it wrong in any way.

They said that he could do no more long term damage by playing with the shoulder, and thats true. They did however say that the more the shoulder pops out the easier it will pop out next time, which is also true, now it obviously got to the point where it was popping out too easily to be manageable. Anyone with a brain knew that might happen eventually.

The club didn't get anything wrong and all this whinging is just whinging for whinging sake. Some people here need to get over it, Porps preseason was going to be impacted regardless of whether he stopped playing in round 15 or now. Its a 6 month recovery. And in all likelihood we would not be in the position we are now if Porps wasn't in the team this year. There are a few posters that have been sooking like spoilt children about this over the last couple of days.

They said that he could do no more long term damage by playing with the shoulder, and thats true. They did however say that the more the shoulder pops out the easier it will pop out next time, which is also true, now it obviously got to the point where it was popping out too easily to be manageable. Anyone with a brain knew that might happen eventually.

The club didn't get anything wrong and all this whinging is just whinging for whinging sake. Some people here need to get over it, Porps preseason was going to be impacted regardless of whether he stopped playing in round 15 or now. Its a 6 month recovery. And in all likelihood we would not be in the position we are now if Porps wasn't in the team this year. There are a few posters that have been sooking like spoilt children about this over the last couple of days.

Thanks Bill Sanders.

Yeah, pretty much this.

Yeah all the best to little Porps.

Just have a question. If he got the reco the 1st/2nd time it popped out, he would of been ready for finals.. wouldnt of he?

The short answer is no. Fitness aside (as you can obviously still run with a bad shoulder) it’d be like bringing somebody back from a full knee reconstruction three or four months after they’ve done it.

As seemingly reckless as we’ve been in the management of the injury, there’s no way they would’ve rushed him back from the recovery process, that’s just asking for trouble. It’s a genuine season ending operation and rushing him back after investing time in his surgery and recovery would be beyond the most stupid things a footy club could do with an injured player.

nope; and what's the point really...some of those games might not have been won if Porpz hadn't played...and then he wouldn't have a finals to come back to.