The Law The 120 hours learning to drive scheme needs to be extended

In fairness theres a large contingent on big footy that don't want you to drink or vote either.

A large contingent on big footy don't have an IQ larger than their shoe size.

I would love to see how they would react if they were the 18 year olds and some ignorant morons wanted to take away their rights.

A large contingent on big footy don't have an IQ larger than their shoe size.

I would love to see how they would react if they were the 18 year olds and some ignorant morons wanted to take away their rights.
Yeah but for kids owning cars and misusing them on the roads that's more dangerous than voting. I totally agree with you on the drinking point.
The voting age of 18 should stay. However, the age of drinking should be raised to 21 like it is in America.
Everyone including Job Network agencies should realise that having a license is a privlidge rather than a given. I can imagine how many people on bigfooty will expect a car on their 18th birthday and when it comes to their birthday they don't get one. You can't expect everything to be given to you on a platter just because you think you are ready for it. Everything takes time. I am sure when you started work you would have done things that were repetitive. For example sweeping floors, vaccuuming, replacing food that has been bought, etc. Now that you are older you might of had a few promotions. Everyone starts from the bottom and has to work their way up to the top.

Yeah but for kids owning cars and misusing them on the roads that's more dangerous than voting. I totally agree with you on the drinking point.
The voting age of 18 should stay. However, the age of drinking should be raised to 21 like it is in America.
Everyone including Job Network agencies should realise that having a license is a privlidge rather than a given. I can imagine how many people on bigfooty will expect a car on their 18th birthday and when it comes to their birthday they don't get one. You can't expect everything to be given to you on a platter just because you think you are ready for it. Everything takes time. I am sure when you started work you would have done things that were repetitive. For example sweeping floors, vaccuuming, replacing food that has been bought, etc. Now that you are older you might of had a few promotions. Everyone starts from the bottom and has to work their way up to the top.

Can we get a bit of background on you for perspective please? I mean, you sound very knowledgeable and wise with the way it is that you post so to help us younguns out can you tell me at what age did you get your license abd what was the test like?
Also, do you have any more info on your working carer? And any more tips on how to rise up the ladder at work? ?

Thanks in advance umpiringfooty :)

Drinking: you can change the law all you want, teens will still drink. There are 15 y/o with drinking problems and changing the law won't do shit.

Car: you have provided no valid points at all towards this discussion that you have initiated. You have stated some people will expect everything to he handed to them on a golden platter which is completely unrelated to the topic at hand. You spoke about how work can be remedial and people have to progress through the system again completely unrelated to changing the driving age.

You do not have any points of validity and that's why you are trying to talk out of your arse. The idea of changing the driving age is one of the most ******ed things I have heard in a while.

If we can't drive a car, how are we expected to be a working citizen? How are we supposed to get to our university courses? How are we supposed to contribute to the community? What, get our parents to drive us around like we are some oversized baby?

Driving a car is a necessity for a lot of us who don't live in areas where public transport is sufficient.

As hard as it may be for you, try to think logically and rationally before you post your opinions.

Tell me, when you were under 18 did you ever drink? I'm betting if you didn't you know a lot of under 18s that drink. If anything, raising the drinking age to 21 will make alcohol more of a prize to those idiots that think it's ok to drink and drive. Making something illegal can make it a lot more attractive, so raising the age of drinking will do nothing.

I don't quite understand your other points. What does expecting a car for your 18th birthday have to do with having to drive 120 hours before getting your license? The only reason I got a car for my 18th was because I did well on my exams, and even then it was just my mum's old car, and she got a new car. I wasn't expecting anything. I knew that i'd done the hard work, i'd done my 120 hours legitimately, and there was an option there to get a car, so I took that option.

You can't tell people not to get their kids cars, or not to drink, or not to drive. The world doesn't work like that.

Drinking: you can change the law all you want, teens will still drink. There are 15 y/o with drinking problems and changing the law won't do shit.

Car: you have provided no valid points at all towards this discussion that you have initiated. You have stated some people will expect everything to he handed to them on a golden platter which is completely unrelated to the topic at hand. You spoke about how work can be remedial and people have to progress through the system again completely unrelated to changing the driving age.

You do not have any points of validity and that's why you are trying to talk out of your arse. The idea of changing the driving age is one of the most ******ed things I have heard in a while.

If we can't drive a car, how are we expected to be a working citizen? How are we supposed to get to our university courses? How are we supposed to contribute to the community? What, get our parents to drive us around like we are some oversized baby?

Driving a car is a necessity for a lot of us who don't live in areas where public transport is sufficient.

As hard as it may be for you, try to think logically and rationally before you post your opinions.
Driving a car isn't a necessity. You have buses everywhere and trains everywhere you go.
Losses of lives is what I am on about so maybe instead of attacking me take a look at what I am on about and pull your head in.
I have lost friends at an early age all because they stuffed around in a car. By stuffing around I mean speeding in their cars and crashing into trees.
So maybe just for you go and research how many young people's lives have been lost due to them hooning.

A bit of advice be so damn strict on your kids so that they don't drink early. Allow them to drink their favourite softdrinks instead. School aged kids shouldn't be drinking alcohol.
Take the same action when your kids want to learn how to drive. Be strict with them. Because Safety is everything.
I am sure you don't want anyone in your family to lose their lives in a car accident caused by them misusing the roads.

Tell me, when you were under 18 did you ever drink? I'm betting if you didn't you know a lot of under 18s that drink. If anything, raising the drinking age to 21 will make alcohol more of a prize to those idiots that think it's ok to drink and drive. Making something illegal can make it a lot more attractive, so raising the age of drinking will do nothing.

I don't quite understand your other points. What does expecting a car for your 18th birthday have to do with having to drive 120 hours before getting your license? The only reason I got a car for my 18th was because I did well on my exams, and even then it was just my mum's old car, and she got a new car. I wasn't expecting anything. I knew that i'd done the hard work, i'd done my 120 hours legitimately, and there was an option there to get a car, so I took that option.

You can't tell people not to get their kids cars, or not to drink, or not to drive. The world doesn't work like that.
Nope never drank. Still don't drink. Not because of my parents its all about choice. I choose not to drink.
Maybe go and see what my natural mother is like who drinks, smokes and gambles her money away. That has a lot to do with it. In fact being adopted due to what she did to me has put me off drinking.
I also choose not to have a car and I use public transport. I'm unemployed. I know that having a car isn't a given it's a privilidge.
I also know that I can't afford to have a car. Being unemployed I don't have the funds to own one.
If I had a job I would then be able to own a car and then I would be able to drive it around.
Also having strict adoptive parents has a lot to do with it. And no I don't live with them either.
So put yourself in my shoes here mate before taking your frustrations out on me.

Nope never drank. Still don't drink. Not because of my parents its all about choice. I choose not to drink.
Maybe go and see what my natural mother is like who drinks, smokes and gambles her money away. That has a lot to do with it. In fact being adopted due to what she did to me has put me off drinking.
I also choose not to have a car and I use public transport. I'm unemployed. I know that having a car isn't a given it's a privilidge.
I also know that I can't afford to have a car. Being unemployed I don't have the funds to own one.
If I had a job I would then be able to own a car and then I would be able to drive it around.
Also having strict adoptive parents has a lot to do with it. And no I don't live with them either.
So put yourself in my shoes here mate before taking your frustrations out on me.

I don't drink either by choice. I feel like I can help a little bit because I can always be the designated driver, so that eliminates a couple of possible drunk drivers from the road.

That is a smart choice by you. But that doesn't mean that other people shouldn't have one. If someone doesn't have the funds to own one, but they choose to have one anyway and so they end up being broke, well that's their choice, but nothing to do with the topic you've brought up.

You initiated the discussion, not me. I'm not taking any frustrations out on you, just expressing my view.

Driving a car isn't a necessity. You have buses everywhere and trains everywhere you go.
Losses of lives is what I am on about so maybe instead of attacking me take a look at what I am on about and pull your head in.
I have lost friends at an early age all because they stuffed around in a car. By stuffing around I mean speeding in their cars and crashing into trees.
So maybe just for you go and research how many young people's lives have been lost due to them hooning.

A bit of advice be so damn strict on your kids so that they don't drink early. Allow them to drink their favourite softdrinks instead. School aged kids shouldn't be drinking alcohol.
Take the same action when your kids want to learn how to drive. Be strict with them. Because Safety is everything.
I am sure you don't want anyone in your family to lose their lives in a car accident caused by them misusing the roads.

Driving is a necessity. I do not have buses and trains everywhere i go. Unless you haven't already realised, Australia isn't leading the world in public transportation. some of us who live in suburbs far from the CBD NEED a car to get from point A to B. you may have access to public transport which you choose to use, but others such as myself do not. We need a car to be able to get to our job, to get to school and next year, to get to university. Try be in my shoes and tell me that i'm going t have to rely on my parents who are full time workers to take me places, even when i am legally an adult.

I have lost family members in car accidents, and i still wholeheartedly disagree with every point you have raised as they are illogical and irrational.

Hooning is something the minority is involved with, so why should the majority be disadvantaged? We aren't in primary school where the stupid actions of a few will negatively impact the rest.

Oh, and studies have shown that hooning is more prevalent in people in their early twenties than those who are 18-20. So, your argument completely falls to shit.

(lets not turn this into an alcohol age debate, there is already a thread for it)

Can't work out if op is trolling.

Entire argument seems to be that young people are hoons, no definition of hoon given. Also I wish someone told me I could get a car for my birthday, would have saved 18yo Dr Krieger a few grand!

I see op refers to hooning as speeding a fair few times, that would make about 80% of the drivers I see "hoons." In my mind a hoon is a dickhead who power slides around corners in a residential estate with his/her mates in the car, not just going a few km over a frankly arbitrary speed (yes it is the law, no it has no relationship to a safe speed on the road, and the act of complying with this law does not inherently make you a good driver)

Being a hoon is not age related imho. I never did it, but there are a few middle aged guys near me with ss commies I always see doing burnouts and stuff.

While hoons (real hoons, not just people who speed) do crash every now and then, the biggest danger on our roads is the driver who considers themselves a "safe driver" despite the only evidence being that they never speed. These are the same people who:

- Don't know what to do if they lose traction
- Tailgate
- Don't check over their shoulder in blind spots before merging
- Sit in the right lane when the left one is free
- Pull out/change lanes in front of trucks then slow down

I could go on.

Australia doesn't need more hours with mum and dad (who quite often are terrible drivers, or teachers or both) to make safer drivers.

We need to actually train drivers. As I said, if you can get a pilot licence (i.e. fly a f##king AIRPLANE) with 40 hours of training, there is NO reason why you would need more than that to drive a car, provided you have a competency based course run by trained professionals.

Do you actually know anything about the topic? What did you have to do when you got your licence? Is it anything near what kids need to do now days?

I recently got my licence (3 months ago). I got it the day i turned 18 (which is the only time someone is eligible to get their licence, not 3 months after they get their l's at 16 if they get the 120 hours like you seem to believe) and i had well over 120 hours. i was in the 160's and had been for a couple of months until i stopped filling in the book. I consider myself as someone who drives a lot and even then, it took me a year and a couple of months to get the 120 hours, so i have no clue where you plucked the 3 months from.
Doesn't have a clue about the topic of driving or what's required to be able to get a drivers license seeing as she doesn't have her license and is middle aged. A mandatory 120 hours is a ridiculous thing to enforce for people to get a license, you simply don't need that much time, after 25-40 hours is plenty enough experience and you won't learn anything in the next 80 hours they expect you to do.
I wouldn't have done anymore then 30 hours I reckon and I haven't caused any accidents or lost my license for being a dickhead on the road which is a bigger issue then however many hours people logged on L plates.
Can guarantee I learnt more and gained better experience on the road in the first few weeks driving alone then the 80 odd hours I didn't need to put in on my learners.

Doesn't have a clue about the topic of driving or what's required to be able to get a drivers license seeing as she doesn't have her license and is middle aged. A mandatory 120 hours is a ridiculous thing to enforce for people to get a license, you simply don't need that much time, after 25-40 hours is plenty enough experience and you won't learn anything in the next 80 hours they expect you to do.
I wouldn't have done anymore then 30 hours I reckon and I haven't caused any accidents or lost my license for being a dickhead on the road which is a bigger issue then however many hours people logged on L plates.
Can guarantee I learnt more and gained better experience on the road in the first few weeks driving alone then the 80 odd hours I didn't need to put in on my learners.

Exactly the same for me. The only reason i got so much time is because i had the option to drive everywhere i needed to go, so i took it up. But i didn't progress after the first cuople of months, i was only more confident in my abilities which solo driving would bring up even more.

we live in nanny state and people like OP are only going to make it worse.
Scared old people.

Last year in SA, 58 of the 94 deaths on SA roads, 31 were people over 60, 42 over 50, 58 over 40, 67 of them over 30.

Only 7 were aged between 16 and 19.

Only once in SA since 2009 have people aged under 25 got anywhere near the fatalities of people over 50.

120 hours before getting your license? Holy ****. I might have had about 7 hours (max) behind the wheel when I went for my license. 120? That's just a cruel joke.

What a load of tripe, clearly you live somewhere where there's good public transport.

Good for you, my first job once I left highschool had me coming home at early hours in the morning.

There's zero public transport at that hour zero no Trains no buses....oh wait I could have paid for a taxi and grew up in South Sydney!

Let alone people in the outer suburbs and rural areas, such a ludicrous argument.

Next you bleat about safety, yet safety is drummed into kids now way more then it ever was, there's more education, more training, more tests, more restrictions on kids getting there licence and supervised hours are higher then they have ever been.

Fact is EVERYONE who had ever held a driver's licence has sped or ran an Orange light.

An 18 year old is no different then any other driver, I've seen hoons in their 50's FFS revving the shit out of some old piece of shit V8 that needs fuel additives just to run.

Its so cliche that you also carry on about the drinking age, let me guess you spend your afternoon commute listening to talk back radio and then watch on of those current affair shows after dinner?

So I have/had the problem where my mother experienced chronic panic attacks and wasn't able to drive me around. As I am an only child and it was just me and my Mum, how exactly am I meant to get 120 hours, not to mention any additional hours beyond that?

As you can imagine, I currently don't have my licence and don't have a an alternative way of getting one at this point.

OP is a known serial pest (as said on SEN1116) who doesn't have her license and knows f*** all about the area.

I got roughly 40 hours done and got in just before the shift to 120 hours, in the 5 years since have had no accidents, and no demerits. It's all about the mentality of the driver, no amount of practice will stop an idiot from being an idiot.

So I have/had the problem where my mother experienced chronic panic attacks and wasn't able to drive me around. As I am an only child and it was just me and my Mum, how exactly am I meant to get 120 hours, not to mention any additional hours beyond that?

As you can imagine, I currently don't have my licence and don't have a an alternative way of getting one at this point.
Have you considered a motorcycle? You do a couple days of training for each stage, no need for anyone else to be on the bike with you so you can transport yourself as soon as you're comfortable on it.

later on you can get mates/partner to sign off on car hours for your logbook

Hoons are hoons, making it harder for everyone else isnt going to make a difference

Btw if people sensibly work near thier home, helping the environment, what chance do they have of giving their kids 120 hours experience, let alone more ?

120 hours before getting your license? Holy ****. I might have had about 7 hours (max) behind the wheel when I went for my license. 120? That's just a cruel joke.
Not at all. It is, however, some seriously good lobbying by the RAC and others. While it doesn't make anyone significantly safer or lower the insurance risk, that particular group also runs driving classes and makes a packet off them.

The Law The 120 hours learning to drive scheme needs to be extended