The 1995 Premiership

bluesforever

Suspended
I just watched the 1995 Grand Final again, not sure how many times I watched this when I was younger, but I can say it was alot. I was 9 at the time and not tuned into the footy too much. Anyway was anybody in the forum at the game? Anybody have good memories or able to explain how it felt to see our great club win the flag.

What a great side they were. I urge you to head to http://aus.sierules.com/ sign up and d/l 'Ballistic Blues' which goes through the season.

Cheers.

Parko supposedly leant back in the box halfway through the second quarter,
and said 'relax boys, we are home'.

I reckon that was about the time Earl smothered the kicked,
and Harry soldiered in for the goal.

His easiest coaching day.

We beat those hay bailers heads in that day.
Smashed them off the park.

Look behind the goals next to the Cats cheer squad. Front row Beaurepairs sign
You will see me take a few marks, give Ablett and Barnes a serve or 10 and kiss Sticks and SOS all day long
Got sunburnt in the morning and wet during the game
Best day of my life (yes wife not better than wedding day and birth of kids)

I was there, front row second tier, almost right behind the goals. I got my tickets on the morning through a connection I had at the time. I got to Melbourne about an hour before the game started.
At the time I felt pretty relaxed from about the end of the first quarter, we just looked like we were going to win it.
Great day.........

EDIT: During the dark days when we were getting our arses handed to us every other week, I would watch the video of the game when I got home after the most humilating losses, it never failed to cheer me up.

Anyone who doesn't own a copy of Ballistic Blues deserves weekly helpings (mandatory, forced viewing if necessary) of:

contemp.jpg

That's right, contemporary dance. Look, this is my interpretation of a ****ing tree! Just get the tape. :cool:

I'm getting a copy of it, just to see a 1995 version of gunslinger!

I was there, mates and I knew we had it in the bag about 15 minutes into the first quarter.

I've got Ballistic Blues, don't have a VCR that works anymore though...

I was at the game, one of the best days ever. Worst part is that I was underage and just had to go home after. This is the sole reason we need to win another flag and soon :p

Was also at the game. Sitting near the Carlton race in the Southern Stand. Remember standing at the race when the players walked into the rooms, sticking my hand down for high 5's, and I think everyone just about high fived me. A really really great day.

Like you Damo, i'll have to watch it again just to see the '95 version of Guns. I wonder if he weighs 100kgs back then as well. :)

That day was the culmination of the best year of football ever. My sister and 2 of my cousins and I had standing room tickets (I queued for 2 days at the Jam factory bass outlet for them) so we got there for gates open at 7am along with the MCC members and sat through the TAC game, reserves game and with about half an hour to go some guys tried to bully us out of our fence position (I was with 3 girls so defending our ground was important). At 3/4 time we were able to sit in the seats in front of the fence, as some Cats fans had gone as had the seat attendants. They played the Club theme tune about 10 times in a row after the anticlimatic siren, we had got to more than 80 points up at one point, and we cheered each player as they got their medals. I disagreed a little with the Norm Smith, I thought Kouta was BOG but I couldnt argue with 4 goals from the Diesel or was it 5? I agree that the Spalding smother was the moment I knew we could not lose. I think the player of the finals series was SOS, he gave White, Carey and Yablett a spanking. It seems like yesterday, the dark years almost an irrellivency when I think back to how good that win and that year was. GLORY DAYS. I hope they come again soon.

Was also at the game. Sitting near the Carlton race in the Southern Stand. Remember standing at the race when the players walked into the rooms, sticking my hand down for high 5's, and I think everyone just about high fived me. A really really great day.

Like you Damo, i'll have to watch it again just to see the '95 version of Guns. I wonder if he weighs 100kgs back then as well. :)
In training now- leaner and meaner but saying that 1995 I was but a wee lad not even shaving properly. But the nose will make me easy to spot!

I was there as well :D

I sat in the Southern Stand on the second level on the half forward flank.

One of the best days of my life too!

Went back to PP after the game and there were sooo many people! Great day and night :thumbsu:

I have the game on DVD. A friend of mine found it at a Sydney market of all places and bought it for me. Have watched it many times!

I've got Ballistic Blues, don't have a VCR that works anymore though...

I was at the game, one of the best days ever. Worst part is that I was underage and just had to go home after. This is the sole reason we need to win another flag and soon :p

YESSSSSS!!

I agree!

In training now- leaner and meaner but saying that 1995 I was but a wee lad not even shaving properly. But the nose will make me easy to spot!

Will be definitely having a look Guns. I'll keep any eye out for that nose, and I suppose you'll have a beer in your hand as well. :) :D

That day was the culmination of the best year of football ever. My sister and 2 of my cousins and I had standing room tickets (I queued for 2 days at the Jam factory bass outlet for them) so we got there for gates open at 7am along with the MCC members and sat through the TAC game, reserves game and with about half an hour to go some guys tried to bully us out of our fence position (I was with 3 girls so defending our ground was important). At 3/4 time we were able to sit in the seats in front of the fence, as some Cats fans had gone as had the seat attendants. They played the Club theme tune about 10 times in a row after the anticlimatic siren, we had got to more than 80 points up at one point, and we cheered each player as they got their medals. I disagreed a little with the Norm Smith, I thought Kouta was BOG but I couldnt argue with 4 goals from the Diesel or was it 5? I agree that the Spalding smother was the moment I knew we could not lose. I think the player of the finals series was SOS, he gave White, Carey and Yablett a spanking. It seems like yesterday, the dark years almost an irrellivency when I think back to how good that win and that year was. GLORY DAYS. I hope they come again soon.

They did give us (almost) an overdose of ou anthem but only after some wombat initially played the opening bars of the Geelong song. :o

Diesel slotted 5 that day and, although like many here it was Big Earl's 3rd Q effort that sealed the deal, i distinctly remember the serenity of Braddles' slotting that opening goal after we'd pretty much soaked up all the pussies had to throw at us in that opening 5 minutes or so. :D:thumbsu:

I was 9 as well when that game was played..and I watched t then..and to be honest, havn't watched it since...so downloading it now as we speak, and will shack up with a beer and enjoy it soon :D

I was sitting in the top deck of the Great Southern Stand on the HFF just above where Braddles cooly slotted the first goal after a tense opening couple of minutes.

I knew once that went through we were going to be tough to beat that day.

Would have broken the all time record margin if we didn't put the feet up with 10 mins to go and let Geelong kick the last 5 goals of the game.

Knew we had it when we beat West Coast by a point at the WACA. I just knew it was our year and that no one was going to beat us.

I was in London for the whole final series watching Brissie and North games at ridiculous hours, arrived back on Friday morning and myself and my Dad went on the Saturday and wasn't it an awesome day!!

I was 11 at the time, went to most games that year but missed out on a grand final ticket.

might join in on the torrent and re-live some great childhood memories.

I was there as well, bottom level in great southern stand just outside the 50 on the half forward flank. Braddles kicked the first snagger of the day right in front of me.

Awesome day and I was only 16 at the time and with my old man. Ended back at princes park that night and they were selling shirts that had 'premiers 95' on the back and "there are only two types of supporters, carlton supporters and those that wish they were' on the front. I still have it at the back of the wardrobe somewhere.

I remember the monday before we flew back to Perth, we went to Naughtons pub down the road from princes park. The whole team were drinking and loving life. Even matty richardson was there as I think he was living with brad pearce at the time.

Great times and cant wait till number 17:thumbsu:

Knew we had it when we beat West Coast by a point at the WACA. I just knew it was our year and that no one was going to beat us.

I was in London for the whole final series watching Brissie and North games at ridiculous hours, arrived back on Friday morning and myself and my Dad went on the Saturday and wasn't it an awesome day!!

Subiaco mate.
Carlton have played at the WACA since the late '80's, or very early '90's.

Originally Posted by Bosun

Subiaco mate.
Carlton have played at the WACA since the late '80's, or very early '90's.

That was the day that the duke of earl put guy mckenna to sleep with one of the best hip and shoulders I have ever seen. I reckon poor old bluey still gets headaches from that hit.