Opinion The Baton

From personal observation the two greatest I have seen to pull on the stripes - and have completed careers - were Bobby Rose and Peter Daicos.

Both could make the ball do a song and dance number whenever they felt like it.

I feel sure JG would have been even better but it was not to be, Macca the best FF I have personally seen in the stripes and Thommo the best ruck.

Carman could have been anything but his elevator never reached his penthouse at the best of times.

Those '70's teams I grew to maturity watching were pretty star studded but never had the juice to make it through the big dance.

The only 2 teams that did evoked the spirit of '58 in that they never gave their opponents a pico second of peace.

Both captained by much maligned individuals who put the club, their team mates and the fans needs before their own.

We all love the shooting stars but it's the Gavin Browns and Tony Shaws of the football world that drive team and club spirit which gets teams over the hump.

Alas, you are too late. Once a player has been framed by the Truth Teller, they are forevermore thusly framed.

From now until the end of time, Dids shall only be known as Not a Boot Wiper.

That's how someone ended up as Two Dogs Trucking.

Might be a compliment. Probably better than being known as: A Boot Wiper.

Wasn't a pun

For all Didak's preening and histrionics he wasn't fit to wipe Peter's boots.

LOL.
I thought you playing on his getting a lift with some Bikies rather than walking home...

Still, agree not Daicos but hardly pedestrian.

Doppelgänger has done an excellent job with his Occam’s Razor version of who was “The Man” over eras. He’s right in that Buckley was indeed The Man until his retirement, even if his stats and availability tailed off toward the end. Then for an indefinite period Dane Swan was that guy, followed by Pendlebury.

I would be keen to hear who people think held the mantle immediately prior to Bucks, and whether Grundy actually took over from Pendlebury in the last few years.
Before Bucks is interesting and just as I was getting really into footy.

You have Daicos and Pants late 80s, very early 90s not sure who you would pick if wanting one baton carrier then??

But with Pants passing and Daics quick taper, almost as if baton waited for Bucks.

Mighty Mick McGuane, Rowdy did either take it for 92-94 period until Bucks came in and went bang with a BnF in his first year and became the main man for the next decade.

LOL.
I thought you playing on his getting a lift with some Bikies rather than walking home...

Still, agree not Daicos but hardly pedestrian.
All good PE agree Dids was well above average - brilliant at times - but my point was compared to Daics . . well he wasn't anywhere near his level.

Daics was a generational player - if he had worn any other guernsey than ours the VFL would have made a demi-god out of him.

I watched young Peter from day one live and believe me only Bobby Rose, John Greening and Phil Carman came anywhere near.

Before Bucks is interesting and just as I was getting really into footy.

You have Daicos and Pants late 80s, very early 90s not sure who you would pick if wanting one baton carrier then??

But with Pants passing and Daics quick taper, almost as if baton waited for Bucks.

Mighty Mick McGuane, Rowdy did either take it for 92-94 period until Bucks came in and went bang with a BnF in his first year and became the main man for the next decade.

I think Rowdy was perceived to be our best player as early as 89. I think he held the baton from then until Bucks. But the Daicos 1990 was so incredible that he may have taken it off Brown for a bit of that time.

The baton change between Pendles and Swan would be hard to pick - I think they carried it unison for a few years.

I think Rowdy was perceived to be our best player as early as 89. I think he held the baton from then until Bucks. But the Daicos 1990 was so incredible that he may have taken it off Brown for a bit of that time.
A few stars back then, perhaps some baton juggling occurred for a while.

The baton change between Pendles and Swan would be hard to pick - I think they carried it unison for a few years.

Pendles to Grundy, hopefully Grundy now ready to roll.

A few stars back then, perhaps some baton juggling occurred for a while.

Pendles to Grundy, hopefully Grundy now ready to roll.

I don't think think Pendles would have been involved in that relay. I suspect that was footage of Grundy and JDG with Darcy watching on from the stands. Although there was a bit of Adam Treloar panicked passing involved too. Sidey was also picked to run in that relay but was too pissed and naked.

Sidey would drop the baton in front of his teammate hoping it would get to him on the first bounce.

Brodie drops the baton at his own feet. Treloar picks it up and flings it wildly forward. Sidey runs onto it, picks it up and drops in front of Moore's feet, who does his hammy bending over to pick it up.

Daicos in 90 was beyond anything we have seen since. Almost 100 goals from a small forward is insane.

Check out the names on the 1990 AFL goal kicking list.
Golden era of footy and we won!

For those of you who dont know how good john Greening was, here is an article I wrote some time ago which I republished today on The Footy Almanac.

Greening Round 9 1972

Thanks for the read Greg. You mentioned in the prolog that people don't reckon that JG was good enough for the Tassie all time team or in fact was "that good".....

It's pretty simple...THEY didn't see him play. Those that did, just knew we were witnessing greatness.

Thorold Meritt
Murray Weideman
Barry Price
Len Thompson (dominated for a decade from 67 to 77)
Des Tuddenham
Wayne Richardson (tends to get forgotten)
Billy Picken
Peter Moore (till he left for a million dollars)
Choco Williams (briefly)
Mick McGaune (for a couple of brilliant seasons there)

Wayne Richardson is foremost in my mind when I think of champion Collingwood players. He was like a machine in consistency. He could take a great grab and kicked some brilliant goals while getting his 30 possessions a week. used the pill beautifully on both sides of the body. In the 66 grand final he kicked a left foot banana from the boundary line. It was astonishing.

For those of you who dont know how good john Greening was, here is an article I wrote some time ago which I republished today on The Footy Almanac.

Greening Round 9 1972
He would have been one of the legends of our club. He could do it all. I could weep when I think of the damage that king hit did to Greening and the joy it robbed all Collingwood fans of experiencing for years.

Too true. He was 21. He would have won the Brownlow that year.

And he would have become ever better.

The most exciting player I ever say play - I was at his first game, this game, the Moorabbin game, his comeback game and his last game.

He would have played in 77 79 80 81.

The most exciting player I ever say play - I was at his first game, this game, the Moorabbin game, his comeback game and his last game.

I was at his comeback game…. It was against Richmond. An all in brawl broke out….. Greening was on the other wing and he and his opponent were the only two that didn’t get involved. In fact I recall that he sat down and waited for the fighr to finish …. But I suspect that didn’t happen and I’m just imag8ning/romanticising

John was decades ahead of his time, had it all and then some.

How often did us old timers stand in the outer and watch him take a screamer around the center or just behind, hit the ground running, dodge one, lay off a give and get, straighten up at the 50 and launch an Exocet from 45?:sparklingheart::sparklingheart::sparklingheart:

Greening was ahead in the Brownlow when he was knocked out. Carman was too much of a hothead and a selfish player to ever achieve anything in a team environment.

Yes he could have been anything but he was a powerhouse,
Carman missed out on a Brownlow by three votes in a season where he missed eight games with a broken foot… playing in a state game.

Opinion The Baton