• Heineken

Votes: 2 5.3%
  • Other domestic beer

Votes: 6 15.8%
  • Other imported beer

Votes: 4 10.5%

The Tasmanian beers are best. Cascade Pale Ale is my absolute favorite beer.

Does anyone get headaches from particular beers? If i have just one of those American beers - Miller, i end up with a painful migraine. It is the only beer that does it to me. I have a mate that had the same thing, but it was Tooheys Red for him.

Plugged one in for VB because it is my staple diet!

Prefer Coopers Sparkling, Boags, Becks and the almighty Guiness!!!

Worst beers that require a peg for the nose are Carlton Cold, West End and the Grandaddy of all bad full-strength beers, XXXX!

Originally posted by xBinny
Anything home brew. Especially German/Australian wheat beer! Wash it down with a steak sandwich and then we're talking. :D

Have you had Schofferhofer wheat beer from Germany? I love German beer, and there are four or five brands I drink in vast quantities (nominated Guinness though because I couldn't pick which German beer to nominate), but that wheat beer is not one of them.

It was recently voted the world's best beer at some festival thingy, but I reckon it's feral. Can't get into the wheat beers, not even the German ones.

You can not go past Coopers beer.

Pale Ale is by far the best!! You can down that at 100 miles an hour as it tastes so nice.

Dark Ale is great as well...more like a Guiness type beer. Sparkling is pretty damn good as well!!!

VB tastes like what i imagine cat p!ss to taste like. West End Draught is ok...but gets boring after a while and is too gassy.

Heineken is ok...its a bit too much like VB tho.

But you cant beat Coopers - anywhere in the world!

Re: crownies by a mile

Originally posted by Westy Boy
Crown lager- Pity it's so steep.

Cascade (premium), Heineken, Corona, Coldies and Boags (any) are right up there too.

Ptw,
Ever had Stella Artoise? Hoping that's not an example of the good quality Belgian beer you're talking about ;) ... honestly, I reckon I would choose kangaroo piss over that crap.

westy

no that is exactly NOT the Belgian beer I was talking about. Just another example of mass produced corportate "product" that we get dished up in oz !!!!

I was thinking more Leffe. Leffe Blonde or Brown (?). Still mass produced but Yum ! A Meal in itself basically !!!!

Still, the old coopers stacks up pretty well though !

ptw

Imported - can't go past Lowenbrau (or better known as Laughing Brew :D )

Locally I reckon you can't beat a Carlton Draught leaning against a bar!

Stubby favourite would probably be Boags Premium

Cheers

Gonzo

Originally posted by Gonzo
Imported - can't go past Lowenbrau (or better known as Laughing Brew :D )

The stuff is very difficult to get, obviously not imported in the same quantities as Beck's and DAB - therefore also a tad expensive. It's not even on tap at the Oktoberfest! :mad:

Any idea which retailers have a constant supply, preferably at a reasonable price?

Carlton Draught on tap

best beer by far, is a VB can thats been sitting in an esky full of ice for an hour or two, ice forms at the top of the beer and..........its just to good to talk about

coopers is top stuff and the good old homebrew does the job

Has anybody ever had James Boags Classic Bitter? It is a pretty good drop, but the best thing is it is cheaper than VB (relatively speaking) and it comes in 500ml cans which means fewer trips to the fridge!

Originally posted by Darky

The stuff is very difficult to get, obviously not imported in the same quantities as Beck's and DAB - therefore also a tad expensive. It's not even on tap at the Oktoberfest! :mad:

Any idea which retailers have a constant supply, preferably at a reasonable price?

Darky

Dan Murphy's in Prahran seem to always have a supply and they usually have the cheapest (still pretty exy though :()

I managed to find Lowenbrau on tap at the Lowenbrau tent (funny that!) but it was full of Germans (funny that!) - but the campground that I stayed at had a beer machine that was dodgy and would give three cans for the price of 1 :D

Cheers

Gonzo

Originally posted by Gonzo

Darky

Dan Murphy's in Prahran seem to always have a supply and they usually have the cheapest (still pretty exy though :()

I managed to find Lowenbrau on tap at the Lowenbrau tent (funny that!) but it was full of Germans (funny that!) - but the campground that I stayed at had a beer machine that was dodgy and would give three cans for the price of 1 :D

Cheers

Gonzo

Thanks Gonzo, I will check out the different Dan Murphy's locations when I get a chance.

re:Lowenbrau at Oktoberfest - I meant the Melbourne Oktoberfest at the Showgrounds.

Heineken - its the world beer for very good reason

... and I love those nice big bottles you can get them in too !

Cascade Pale Ale, Coopers Sparkling Ale and Cascade Premium Lager are other favourites.

Best tap beer - Carlton Draught and VB, in fact anything that is not Tooheys

cheers

Originally posted by Shinboners
Best way to irritate an American jock? Tell them that Budwieser was originally an Czech beer.

LOL. I had Budwieser in the States and it was like shagging in a canoe - f*cking close to water.

Originally posted by Macca19

Pale Ale is by far the best!! You can down that at 100 miles an hour as it tastes so nice.

Dark Ale is great as well...more like a Guiness type beer. Sparkling is pretty damn good as well!!!

VB tastes like what i imagine cat p!ss to taste like. West End Draught is ok...but gets boring after a while and is too gassy.

Macca - we finally agree on something

Coopers is just brilliant - South Australian made and OWNED

Coopers Stout is also very very good. I think that's what my Avatar is drinking.

VB and West End Draught are both shi t but Draught is by far the worst beer ever, other than XXXX.

I love Boags Strongarm and most Cascade beers.

Coopers Stout is a very nice drop. Tennent's Stout from Scotland is superb. I should have nominated that instead of Guinness, but I can rarely get hold of a stubby so it slipped my mind. :(

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
Best tap beer - Carlton Draught.........in fact anything that is not Tooheys

Nothing beats a Carlton Draught :cool:, and at the other end of the spectrum lies Tooheys, where it belongs.

Can't wait to try out Walshys iced VB though :)

West End Draught is the standard beer (at least for us Croweaters). It is the benchmark; the beer to which all others must be compared. Furthermore it's all you can buy at SANFL grounds except Norwood & Adelaide Oval so one gets forced to drink a lot of it.

Lately I've been guzzling homebrew but my stash is about to run out. Time to get another brew underway methinks.

Best Aussie beer is the Matilda Bay Pils. This is God's gift to beer drinkers. Available in Adelaide on draught at the Ramsgate Hotel (Henley Beach), or in bottles (expensive) at the Seacliff.

Best foreign beer: I like the pilsener style, and there are plenty of them in Europe. Bitburger & Jupiler spring to mind as some of the better ones.

I rate the Heineken very highly too - but not the pisswater you get on draught in Australia. I mean the imported bottles brewed in Holland. Incidentally the old Heineken factory/museum in Amsterdam is the best value-for-money tourist attraction in Europe. 2 measly guilders gets you a tour of the place and all the Heinies you can pour down your throat in 3/4 of an hour.

Worst Aussie beer: a lot of the commercial mass-produced swill, but especially the Victorian brews (with a couple of notable exceptions). VB is common muckwater. I can only boggle at the power of advertising when you consider that VB is the nation's most prominent brew. I don't go for the tasteless "ice" beers or light beers either, and Fosters Special Light holds a place in my memory as being especially undrinkable.

Worst foreign beer: No argument here. Bloody Hoegaarden. I do not understand the fascination with these pooncey white/wheat beers, yet these drops appear to be all the rage in Europe. Very few of them are drinkable. The most popular of them - Hoegaarden - is especially nasty. It doesn't just smell, it STINKS, and the palate is an overpowering sickly taste of cloves. VB tastes better coming up, than does Hoegaarden going down.

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Fosters Special Light holds a place in my memory as being especially undrinkable.

I had some of that once - it was at a work function for a bloke who was retiring, and because most people had to drive home, this stuff was all that was available.

About half a can later, I was back on the lemonade. Fosters Special is filthy.

Originally posted by Darky
Have you had Schofferhofer wheat beer from Germany? I love German beer, and there are four or five brands I drink in vast quantities (nominated Guinness though because I couldn't pick which German beer to nominate), but that wheat beer is not one of them.

It was recently voted the world's best beer at some festival thingy, but I reckon it's feral. Can't get into the wheat beers, not even the German ones.
Darky,

You are a man (? I assume) of distinguished taste.

German beer is superb. None is better. Furthermore it's hard to get a hangover out of the stuff, since it's all brewed according to strict purity laws which prohibit the addition of nasty preservatives.

But as for those vile wheat "beers"... see my description of the Hoegaarden in a previous post.

Originally posted by Macca19

I think we have found our beer king!