Coach The Coach

• Thread starter Thread starter ibd77

Could be a good chance to get back into coaching and learn a thing or two from Scott for a couple of years before joining us? Although I was assuming the coach would be appointed 2027. Bucks doesn't seem like the type who's turn down a head coach role to be an assistant though.

That seems to be the consensus.

Nathan Buckley going to Geelong as an assistant coach. Interesting development in light of his interest in Tassie job.
Didn't see this coming.
It would be better for him to re-enter the coaching ranks rather than take a time-out since his last coaching stint. Smart decision before getting to tassie

unusual to congratulate an assistant coaching position 😆 … would appear a fait accompli for the Tas head role. In all seriousness, smart move by Bucks embedding himself into the what makes the Geelong program successful for a year

View attachment 2456371
It seems they're just waiting on the unconditional licence being granted once the stadium goes through.

After this Bucks will probably be offered the role to commence after the 2026 season.

Would be so interesting to know the behind the scenes discussions Buckley has had with Gale. Was he actually told get back into coaching and it’s yours in a year? Wouldn’t make sense to promise anything unless it’s on paper.

Benny Gale said in an interview that he didn't know about the Geelong role until just before it was announced.

Given Buckley suddenly pulled out of the Dees gig, I'd guess he's been told the Devils job is his, and the Geelong role was his own decision to get back into clubland in preparation for taking the Devils role next year.

From what I'm reliably told, it was Buckley's idea.

I'm with you Hodgey 15 but I've mates in the AFL "system" that still say Longmire is our man.

I'm very sure it'll be Buckley.
Longmire would be an interesting pick.
Intrigued to see how this plays out.

Would still prefer Buckley to Longmire… he seems genuinely motivated to return to the top role, whilst John appeared genuinely broken after the recent Swans G/F failures and is enjoying a step back from the top job. Would be mistake to pursue anyone who isn’t fully invested

I'm with you Hodgey 15 but I've mates in the AFL "system" that still say Longmire is our man.

I'm very sure it'll be Buckley.
Both would bring something different to the position, that’s for sure. Buckley meant to be good in regards to development and Longmire’s experience

I reckon unless Chris Scott wants a fresh challenge, the job is gonna go to Buckley.

Wouldn't be surprised if Ken Hinkley is announced as footy manager either.
100% it's bucks. the time at geelong is to re-familiarise himself with the locker room, update himself on any strategy changes since he last coached, and gather some i.p. he spoke to benny before accepting the gig.

I don’t get the negativity towards Buckley. He is meant to be a good development coach as long as they put the right people with him.
I don't get it either. He's super smart guy with a great footy brain.
Will be fantastic for Tassie.

The feeling needs to be mutual. Does Tassie want Bucks as coach? Or are they looking elsewhere?
Devils sounded like they were pretty keen also.
Things may have changed but I'd be surprised if Bucks didn't get the job.