Catnip

Suspended
GEELONG
5 Interstate matches. We play Freo, The Bullies and the Cows twice. Two trips to AAMI, one to the Gabba, Putriaco and to Hawthmania. Home game against the Pie$ in Round 15. Only get to play Essendon and Carlton once yet again. Only one match against the reigning premier..two cracks at Richmond.

Not a bad draw but it looks slightly tougher than one we botched last season.

:cool:

Catnip said:
5 Interstate matches. We play Freo, The Bullies and the Cows twice. Two trips to AAMI, one to the Gabba, Putriaco and to Hawthmania. Home game against the Pie$ in Round 15. Only get to play Essendon and Carlton once yet again. Only one match against the reigning premier..two cracks at Richmond.

Not a bad draw but it looks slightly tougher than one we botched last season.

:cool:

This is a bonus and we don't have to play Hawthorn twice, or go to Manuka

We always lose to Hawthorn and we always lose when going to bull**** grounds, so we've killed 2 birds with 1 stone.

GEELONG:

Football:
A dream start to the year with seven of its first eight games in Victoria. Also plays only three of last year's top eight twice and only has to go to Perth once but it does have two trips to Adelaide and also goes to Tasmania for the first time, where it faces Hawthorn in round four.

Financial:
The Cats have also done well here with a huge MCG home game against Collingwood in round 15 as well as big early season home game against Carlton at Telstra Dome in round two. Also has a home game against the large drawing Tigers amongst its eight games at Geelong.

I think we had it slightly better this year I agree. But not too bad for us. Only 1 friday night game reflects our poor season this year.

we play Richmond in the first round of the NAB cup Feb 25th

I noticed Collingwood got a dream draw yet again

The run home to the finals isn't too bad for us:
Richmond (SS)
Adelaide (SS)
Kangaroos (TD)
Power (SS)
Lions (Gabba)

Get the full draw here

I don't like that 5 week patch where we play Freo, Eagles, Saints and the two Adelaide teams (in Adelaide too).

Glassjaw said:
I don't like that 5 week patch where we play Freo, Eagles, Saints and the two Adelaide teams (in Adelaide too).

I think this is a great patch for us, we tend to lose focus when easy games are end on end, this way we should stay focused, we could easily win all these games.

Average draw. 5 Interstate trips (2 x SA, 1 x WA, 1x Qld & Tas) and play Dogs, Dockers, Tigers, Crows, Roos, Power & Lions twice.

Blockbusters (so called) against Blues & Dogs at Telstra and Pies at the G.

A home game (MCG preferably) against the Tigers or Bombers would have been a nice crowd puller where as you'd expect 40-45,000 against the dogs & blues.

we have 13 games on a sunday which i am personally shattered about, and only 3 night matches in victoria. the night games at telstra dome are my favourite and to have only 3 of them pisses me off. i know its not entirely the clubs fault but i will not be renewing my membership because for me there is no value in it next year sadly :mad:

I'll definitely go to the Rnd 22 match at the Gabba, but that's a while off. Who knows, hopefully a trip to Geelong can be arranged to see some games down there..........oh and see the rellies.:o

Really it shouldn't matter too much who we play, the team has to be on the ball whoever they're playing, unlike 2006.............:(

Cattas_21 said:
we have 13 games on a sunday which i am personally shattered about, and only 3 night matches in victoria. the night games at telstra dome are my favourite and to have only 3 of them pisses me off. i know its not entirely the clubs fault but i will not be renewing my membership because for me there is no value in it next year sadly :mad:

What about supporting the club?

I'm happy with the draw. Good spread of games. We'll be playing finals.

Cattas_21 said:

I'm very happy with that many Sunday games because I will be playing footy myself on the Saturday. I think its a pretty good draw. I'm happy.

Can't really complain too much, a couple of Sunday twilight matches are a pain.

Four night matches against essendon's seven is a bit of a rip, but what can you expect?

As far as quality of the opposition and where we play then it seems pretty good with only the AAMI - TD - AAMI spread representing anything like a road trip. Crucially almost almost all our interstate trips have a minimum 7 day gap either side, the only exception b eing our trip to the Gabba.

This last thing could be tricky. I can just see come finals time next year us being scheduled to play the Friday night in the first week, which would represent two six day breaks in a row.

Cattas_21 said:

I'm shattered on the Sunday factor too, Cattas_21. I will only be able to go to seven out of 22 games next season compared with about 14 this season. I know the draw doesn't suit everyone, but the proportion of Sunday games seems somewhat ridiculous.

flogged this post from CC..apologies krisco if you post here.....

Looks like there will be 13 games on Foxtel next year!

Whos getting Foxtel now?

With the deal apparently already done, just not announced here is our likely TV Schedule.

Times are game starting times, not necessarily when the games starts on TV.

1 Sunday Day - Western Bulldogs - Telstra Dome - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
2 Saturday Night - Carlton - Telstra Dome - 7:10 PM - Foxtel
3 Sunday Day - Melbourne - MCG - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
4 Sunday Day - Hawthorn - Aurora Stadium - Away - 1:10 PM - Channel 7
5 Sunday Day - Kangaroos - Skilled Stadium - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
6 Sunday Twilight - Richmond - Telstra Dome - 5:10 PM - Foxtel
7 Sunday Day - West Coast- Skilled Stadium - 1:10 PM - Channel 7
8 Saturday Day - Fremantle - Skilled Stadium - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
9 Sunday Twilight - Port Adelaide - AAMI Stadium - 4:10 PM - Foxtel
10 Sunday Twilight - St. Kilda - Telstra Dome - 5:10 PM - Foxtel
11 Sunday Day - Adelaide - AAMI Stadium - 12:40 PM - Channel 7
12 Sunday Day - Brisbane Lions - Skilled Stadium - 1:10 PM - Channel 7
13 Saturday Day - Sydney - Skilled Stadium - 2:10 PM - Channel 10
14 Friday Night - Essendon - Telstra Dome - 7:40 PM - Channel 7
15 Saturday Day - Collingwood - MCG - 2:10 PM - Channel 10
16 Friday Night - Western Bulldogs - Telstra Dome - 7:40 PM - Channel 7
17 Saturday Day - Fremantle - Subiaco - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
18 Saturday Day - Richmond - Skilled Stadium - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
19 Sunday Day - Adelaide - Skilled Stadium - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
20 Sunday Day - Kangaroos - Telstra Dome - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
21 Sunday Day - Port Adelaide - Skilled Stadium - 2:10 PM - Foxtel
22 Saturday Night - Brisbane Lions - Gabba - 7:10 PM - Channel 10

Break Down
Foxtel - 13
Channel 7 - 6
Channel 10 - 3

Foxtel/Austar will be a must next year if this turns out to be accurate

It's not surprising we have had a good run the last 2-3 years with only really the Perth games that I've missed on Foxtel. Back to the days of mediocrity, back to the days of no FTA :(

What a terrible draw, i LOTH Sunday matches and it will make it even worse because i have to work nearly every Sunday :mad:

Why so many cruddy Sunday games, Sat arvo is the best timeslot, especially for games in Geelong.

The two Sunday twilight games are a bonus (in Vic)....cause i finish at 3pm.....it would have been nice to play Richmond at the MCG as a home match...but i guess Foots, Carl and Coll are good home matches for Melbourne...i have a bad feeling the Carlton match mightn't get over 35k.

i'm gutted that there are 13 fracking sunday games... i usually have to work part time on sundays (uni student) so i'm not sure how i'm gonna get to games... though hopefully by next april i'll have a full time job so it'll be alright... but still saturday is the best day for footy!!

For me on the other hand - I have to work every third Saturday - so don't mind Suindays. My nephew works every Saturday so he can only go to Sunday games.

Cattas_21 said:

You Soft KOK

How about the value of keeping your team alive or would you prefer to wait till they are relocated and crack up then. Membership isnt about value its about your CLUB!

As for the Draw Its OK nothing too bad. Dont like the twilight games I personally dont think they are good for Geelong supporters esp if they are Melb games. (the Port game over there is fine)

As I've already said, I'm disappointed at the number of Sunday games, but I will still be getting a membership. I can't imagine not being a member. I probably won't get a full Victorian membership like I did this year, but there are all sorts of different packages for a reason - to financially support the club, to involve people in the clubs, and to ensure we have a viable future. And on the positive side, I won't have to worry about whether or not to buy a permanent seat at Kardinia... ;0)

Not real sure why they're going for twilight games again - it's a crap time for footy and it didn't work the last time they tried it. I hope it flops, frankly.

Four true interstate games and one Tassie game isn't too bad - better than usual, really. The Collingwood game will be massive.

I recall that a poll by the club a couple of years ago indicated an overwhelming preference for Saturday games, then Friday night and last - Sunday games - and now we have 13!!!
Is our input to the AFL now regarded as irrelevant? I resent the references on SEN to us a one of the second tier Melbourne ( I think they meant Victorian) - based clubs, implying that our requests would be overlooked in favour of others. Look at the waffle on the AFL site about new software and the 2007 fixture - all a diversion!