The Duck wants to help The Hawk

No don't need that grub anywhere near the club,the idea's good the person is the problem,

Scott should know how old fashion forward lines work anyway, he played with one of the best combo's in the business Lynch,Bradshaw and brown.

Reckon Bradshaw would make a good forward coach.

Bradshaw? Good player, last seen at Geelong getting annihilated by Matthew Scarlett.

Carey would be the perfect forward coach if you wanted to go down that path. Don't really care what he's like off the field, it's a football club after all, he's far from the only one.

Carey in particular had the main attributes Hawkins lacks - swaggering self-belief and massive physical presence (on top of enormous ability). If there was any way he could impart that to Hawkins it would be worth it.

Ablett senior, really? And people think Carey would be a bad influence! I'd take Carey's influence over Ablett's.

Carey would make a fine coach, this is definitely worth considering.

Not only that, but I dont think Ablett would make a good coach anyway.
Sure, he has his stories about taking speckies and kicking bags full, but when it comes down to working and training hard to get those things do you really think that he could tell you how he did those freakish things he did?

Highly doubt it, usually the naturally gifted freakish players dont make good coaches becuase they dont know themselves how they did what they did, it just happened!!

Carey was everything that Tom is not. I say he needs more arrogance , Carey had that much that he infected others in his team with it. But is he a good teacher?

No one doubts Tom has some ability , if WC could help him become a quality tall forward he would be worth it , but not all champs are great teachers. Certainly would put it to CS.

It could work. But Hawkins has been playing next to Cam Mooney all his career and has not picked up Cam's aggression and smarts.

It could work. But Hawkins has been playing next to Cam Mooney all his career and has not picked up Cam's aggression and smarts.[/quote]

Spot on, If the shit's not in the kid you can bring in who ever you like it won't make any difference in that area of his game.

A bit like Ben Graham people were hoping he would become more aggressive but in the end he remained a ball player to the end.

Tom will be the same IMO so he needs to work on all the skills,in particular reading the flight of the ball,marking out in front of the face and develop a fierce desire to win the contest.
Nothing more than Pod's is doing now.

Well there seems to be almost unanimous agreement but I'm not so sure. I'm sure Carey has plenty to teach but I actually wonder if Tom's problem is that he has had so much advice that on game day that he's not sure what to do. I wonder how he would go if you told him to stop thinking and just play? Just a thought.

No don't need that grub anywhere near the club,the idea's good the person is the problem,

What he said.

Don't think you need to have been a great player to impart wisdom, so if the club thinks Hawkins could benefit from some one on one tutoring I'm sure there would be any number of people who could do the job without bringing in that drop kick.

Well there seems to be almost unanimous agreement but I'm not so sure. I'm sure Carey has plenty to teach but I actually wonder if Tom's problem is that he has had so much advice that on game day that he's not sure what to do. I wonder how he would go if you told him to stop thinking and just play? Just a thought.

Pretty much. This may be what Wayne's advice is in the end. Couldn't hurt I guess. To be honest I don't care much any more. Don't mean to sound awful but Vardy come straight in and looked good so if Tom struggles I'm not that fussed.

What he said.

Don't think you need to have been a great player to impart wisdom, so if the club thinks Hawkins could benefit from some one on one tutoring I'm sure there would be any number of people who could do the job without bringing in that drop kick.

Care to name a few? There aren't that many that's why that drop kick Brian Taylor keeps getting recycled. Maybe Lloyd, but I doubt he'd be interested.

The thing about Carey is that Tomahawk is of similar stature but lacks the skill of using his frame to advantage. Something Carey was very adept at doing. Carey also read the game well, had great awareness and knew where to run to place himself in the most dangerous positions. All areas where improvement is possible. The one thing Tomahawk doesn't have and which Carey had in truck loads and which can't be taught is mongrel.

Can't see there's much downside in seeing what he can do for Tom.

Tom has been in the system for 5 years now and still seem's lost at times when playing surely bringing in one of the very best players of all time to teach Tom how to play the game can only be a good thing.

As to the people who think Carey would be a bad off field influence on our players have a look at our leadership both on and off the field there is no way known that Carey would be able to lead our players astray.

Bring in the Duck

Tom has been in the system for 5 years now and still seem's lost at times when playing surely bringing in one of the very best players of all time to teach Tom how to play the game can only be a good thing.

As to the people who think Carey would be a bad off field influence on our players have a look at our leadership both on and off the field there is no way known that Carey would be able to lead our players astray.

Bring in the Duck

That may just be why he won't get his beak in the door.:D

one of the greatest players ever:eek: wow! I hope it's fair dinkum because Wayne Carey would definitely be the perfect bloke to help Tomahawk sort out some of his footy issues. Tom would no doubt look upto him too so could be exactly what he needs;)

hire stevie baker to follow him around 24/7

that might put a bit of **** in him

hire stevie baker to follow him around 24/7

that might put a bit of **** in him

A bloke 6ft 6 being intimidated by a bloke 5ft 9:D dunno if that would have the effect you'd wanna get. I mean what if Hawkins literally had enough and just gave him a slight swipe...could put little Baker head first into a bin.

Probably Mooney's our best chance to get him fired up:thumbsu:

Scott should know how old fashion forward lines work anyway, he played with one of the best combo's in the business Lynch,Bradshaw and brown.

Reckon Bradshaw would make a good forward coach.
Interesting comments

I heard BRAD Scott interviewed by the LO team 2 weeks ago, and he succinctly said there was no role at all for Carey at NM while he was coach.

Agree with you about Bradshaw.

It could work. But Hawkins has been playing next to Cam Mooney all his career and has not picked up Cam's aggression and smarts.[/quote]

Spot on, If the shit's not in the kid you can bring in who ever you like it won't make any difference in that area of his game.

A bit like Ben Graham people were hoping he would become more aggressive but in the end he remained a ball player to the end.

Tom will be the same IMO so he needs to work on all the skills,in particular reading the flight of the ball,marking out in front of the face and develop a fierce desire to win the contest.
Nothing more than Pod's is doing now.
Yes, and Pods came good at 28?? Plenty of time for Tom. PATIENCE.

Bring it on. Wayne may be an absolute prick, but the greatest CHF of them all could probably teach our boy a few handy things about the footy.
maybe being the greatest prick in AFL helped him be the greatest player